We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Craiglands for 1 night after a car rally which started from there. We were welcomed on arrival by friendly staff and after the car rally we sat down for Sunday dinner for 200 people. The food was excellent, freshly cooked, hot and served very quickly and efficiently. Our room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was lovely. All the staff we met were friendly, polite and efficient. All in all a really nice stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieliz1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the first time that the leeds mg car club has used this hotel as the base/ accomidation/ and catering for this annual car run. It will not be the last time of using of the hotel. They were fantastic in accommodating over 150 cars and the occupants. Some of us stayed over night on theSaturday thro to the Monday morning. The rooms where exellent, but the food was exceptional. We all dined on the Saturday and I must say what we ate was very good nothing left on the plates!! It was nice just to kick back and be looked after( very well).
On the Sunday the day of the run, those that had stayed we greeted by an exellent breakfast. Everyone was cater for, all dietary aspects! We had a lovely car run the organisation was fantastic, thanks mainly to our chairman Charles and Gilly. Paul and Sue where a great help in getting thing sorted early doors. Infact everyone that helped in the organising of the run where brilliant, well done!! The staff then had the unenviable job of serving late afternoon a dinner for over 200 people. This was done without a hitch, the guys and girls that served us did so in a very professional manner. The dinner of roast beef and for afters sticky toffee pudding was exellent. Well done the catering staff the food was delicious, service flawless. Well done to the staff of the Graiglands you all deserve a medal. The dinning room was decorated beautifully. Ok the drinks a little expensive but you are in a lovely old hotel which is catering for your needs! Everything about our w/e stay was catered for, staff very friendly, nothing too much trouble. We will return!!! Xxx

Room Tip: As for an superior room they are larger, view not so good but rooms are super. You only need it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We got married at the hotel Saturday 26th July, ourselves and many guests having arrived on Friday. Nicky and Clare did a great job checking all the information and arranging seating and table plans in advance. The wedding room was set up absolutely beautifully for us in line with our colour theme. Chris was outstanding in orchestrating the whole wedding day from beginning to end. The wedding breakfast was served promptly and effectively and was of high quality. Nothing was too much trouble and the day went brilliantly. Well done to the craiglands for making our day so special. Paula and Chris

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

There were 7 of us travelled some distance to attend The Boogie Nights function 19th July. Whilst the music, food and actual night was very good as a whole the group found the bar prices extortionate. We were all prepared to come to a couple of other functions ie Hollywood night and Dirty Dancing. However, charging 3.50 for a lemonade is disgusting. We couldn't afford a decent night's drink as a result of your pricing. Very disappointing. The service with the food could have been better but for the number of staff that was on for the night it was acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Blackwells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old building and well presented reception and brasserie areas are let down by old, shabby rooms that are filled with cheap, decrepit furniture and very old bathrooms. Such a disappointment. The 1960s function room addition needs pulling down 20 years ago! However the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Recently stayed here on a weekend break with my partner and loved it. The room we were given was clean and bright, I was a bit worried as I had read reviews saying the beds were not comfy but ours was perfect. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel . We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful . Would definitely stay again.





Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the craiglands on a Tuesday evening. When we arrived we spent 15 minutes stood at reception whilst the receptionist was having a telephone conversation over a wrong booking with a group of guests that were also at the reception. Eventually we were given out room card and told to clear the balance on the room there and then with no offer of having the chance to put drinks to our room, we were asked if we were dining at the brassiere as we were unsure of the menus we had to decline and sign a piece of paper and quickly told done directions to the room! Not very good first impressions with customer service!!!!
The room was small and tatty, crumbling paint on the walls n flaky radiators, TV kept losing signal and not worth the money we paid! Staff missing from the bar area and having to wait for a drink just isn't good enough.
Checking out was a wait again for a receptionist who once again was on the phone and had very little interest in customer service. I was told I would have to wait for a receipt even though I had paid the previous day!
Needless to say we will be avoiding this hotel and would advise others to do the same!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ellibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing