We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for a stay in ilkley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for a wedding at Denton hall. Perfectly adequate for a two night stay, large room, slightly dated bathroom. Breakfast wasn't great, poor selection, things had either ran out or sat there too long. Shouldn't have to beg for coffee!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank youngtraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for The Craiglands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nice staff and a great location; its a sort of shame really about the rest of it. Very very out of date rooms as is the rest of the hotel. Lupe warm shower this morning rather than a hot one. Looks lovely on the website and with an upgrade would no doubt be amazing. Overall however run into the ground and a wee bit depressing.

Room Tip: Gosh I saw a few of them and they were all fairy much the much I am afraid.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DivinginFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had the misfortune to stay when there was a wedding reception on. The car park we were directed to is a rough piece of land in front of the hotel. Cars and minibuses for the reception were just abandoned anywhere wasting valuable space. As we had a long journey to get there not best pleased. We pointed it out on checking in and were assured something would be done..... It wasn't. We had to park on a steep slope with tree stumps sticking up. We had to struggle to get up to reception with our bags from there. It was bedlam whilst the reception was ongoing, children running about with ice creams from the van parked outside making a mess, slamming doors & running up & down the stairs. The red carpet outside was loose and a serious trip hazard. If you have an mobility or disability issues I cannot recommend this hotel. I think they're too concerned with weddings and the hotel part takes second place. I was very disappointed as we had afternoon tea there a few years ago and it was lovely.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank whiterose307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This beautiful hotel overlooks Ilkley and although its in need of some tlc its still a beautiful looking hotel. It has the largest ballroom in Yorkshire and can cater for weddings and parties of upto 1000 people. The room we stopped in had been recently refurbished with new bathroom fittings and tastefully decorated, with a fold up sofa bed for additional family. We ate dinner in the hotel and our only complaint was that there was too much food, my partner had a gallon of soup and I had a full terrine of gorgeous ham hock. We both had rib eye steaks, cooked to perfection, but too many chips, too many mushrooms, and a half a tomato too much too. Breakfast was a buffet style with the usual, eggs how you like, local sausage, bacon, black pudding, beans etc.The staff were friendly and attentive and would we stop here again, you bet. Too much ambiance and character to miss.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Malcybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

14 of us stayed here for my stag doo!
Rooms were spotless
very comfy beds. lovely breakfast. Beautiful views from our room. Staff excellent an friendly throughout.
Made a great stay that bit better.
Definitely be back.
Thank you "Craiglands"

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sburnikell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My daughters wedding took place here last week. The staff could not have been more helpful. The service was excellent, the food was amazing. The rooms were lovely and clean and very spacious bathrooms made wedding preparations very easy. We were able to come and go as we pleased when preparing the reception room. My husband managed to lose his tie but within 10 minutes the staff had found it and handed it to reception!
This is a very charming hotel with a lot of character. We had a wonderful day and the staff at the hotel definitely helped. The manager was efficient and friendly and was available throughout the event as well as being present for breakfast service the following day! Huge thanks from all of us.

Room Tip: We had family with room all over the hotel and no one had any complaints
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JaneFBSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding, and the everything was very nice. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The wedding was beautiful and went off without a hitch thanks to the hotel staff. Neat grounds, free parking, good breakfast buffet, and close to both the moors and the village center.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: £66 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing