We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
west yorkshire
1 review
“Winter Wedding”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Me and my husband got married at the craiglands hotel in november 2008, and it was the best day of our lives. The help and performance of the staff was faultless. Our wedding co-ordinator was there for us at any time, she made sure every last little detail was exactly how i wanted and the rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was absolutly lovely there were no mishaps and we couldn't have been a better day. However when we first booked the hotel i must say the main restaurant where we had the wedding was much more an attraction than the bedrooms, but when we went to check last minute plans we were shown the bridal suite which has been fully refurbished as have the other rooms i am led to believe by guests from the wedding so ignore any reviews saying this!! I would definatly recommend the craiglands wether it be for a wedding or just a weekend away, it is just down the road from the cow and calf, Ilkley town itself is beautiful, bolton abbey is just round the corner and the historical market town of skipton is not far. Overall i definatly would reccomend this hotel is was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank xwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    247
    182
    161
    146
See reviews for
149
487
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We got married at The Craiglands Hotel on Saturday 27th December 2008. It was fantastic. The hotel was decorated beautifully and had a lovely Christmas tree in the entrance which was used as a backdrop for our photographs.
The wedding coordinator Jodie was so very helpful, and did her best to help us out by organising us a menu tasting and wedding rehearsal so we could get our music and timings just right. She even recommended us a hairdresser in Ilkley who was brilliant!
On the day Jodie and the staff were faultless, they helped the day run smoothly and we just had the best day. The honeymoon suite was huge!! Really lovely and newly refurbished with a fab spa bath.
This hotel is just simply stunning and is the perfect place for a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chardonnay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Hotel room was well decorated and food was good. We were kept awake with loud music from a wedding party until after one in the morning. Bed not very comfy and no toilet paper in the room. Not good for relaxation

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireScotslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

UK
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2009

On arrival at the hotel we thought it was a posh, grand affair. Period building with long driveways...we thought (for the price) that we were getting a good room. Instead, it had really creaky floors, a rotten window frame, peeling paint, smelly wardrobe. The smell of drains was quite heavy. Very disappointing. At the bar downstairs, we must have waited for about 10mins (approx 7pm) for someone to come out to the bar to serve us. The dinner service etc was fine, food was nice and fairly prompt.
The next morning, we had breakfast which was nice enough. On checkout, we were almost charged an extra 15 pounds for a non-existent bar tab! It turns out that a number of guests had also been asked for bar tabs which were disputed.
On this experience, I wouldn't go back, nor would I recommend an overnight stay, unfortunately.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We had our wedding here in August 2008 and had a wonderful day. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much ask of the wedding co-ordinator. We were in regular contact and were able to decorate the rooms personally, have several ceremony trials and a meal tasting in the run up. On the day when we over run it was no problem and the staff were curtious and very helpful.
It was a lovely experience, thank you!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lksrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2008

We had our wedding reception at Craiglands in June 2008 and I have to say that it is an excellent venue. We found the staff to be most helpful both in the run up to the wedding and also on the day. Nothing seemed to be any trouble even when things overan a little bit. The food was excellent. The hotel is in a great location for Ilkley town centre and also for a walk on the Ilkley moors. It is also set in beautiful grounds. We couldn't fault it at all and would highly recommend the hotel whether for a wedding or just for a getaway break.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank ednalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Our wedding in May this year at Craiglands Hotel was fabulous. Having been let down by our previous venue only 8 weeks before our wedding, the staff at Craiglands could not have been better. They helped make our special day. The wedding facilities are excellent and our food was delicious. The Manager, Sean, was very accomodating to our requirements and made sure everything went well on the day. We overran on time, which posed no problems to the chef at all. I feel sad that the hotel has had so many negative reviews and would definitely recommend it for either a wedding or just a weekend away. Please feel free to contact me should you need any more information.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenn0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,133 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
168 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Property: The Craiglands Hotel
Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing