We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location and property”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in the Coach House Cottage and it was beautifully appointed. A welcoming homemade cake and tea tray on our arrival with an informative and personal friendly greeting from the owner. Cottage very well equipped - everything thought of. Location on the edge of Ilkley Moor but only a 15min steep downhill walk to the lovely town with many excellent restaurants to choose from - although booking recommended or a £3 ride back in one of the many taxis. Station in town with direct trains from Leeds so a car not necessary - what a wonderful change.

Room Tip: Cottages more self contained with gardens, apartments up stairs which might be a problem with heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Paula will be particularly pleased that you enjoyed her homemade cake!

You're right that a car is not necessary to enjoy a stay here. Ilkley has four trains every hour and theire are great subsidised bus links across the county and into The Dales.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
22
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We could not have asked for more!! Westwood lodge provided us with the perfect place to stay with family for my mothers 70th. Everyone from the 3 year olds to the 80 year olds absolutely loved it!! The gardens were wonderful, games for adults and kids to enjoy, on the edge of Ilkley moor so even the dog was happy! the pigs, hens and rabbits where a big hit and the accommodation was just fabulous. Thankyou for such a wonderful place to stay, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCallumHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks for your review. We are getting a lot of bookings for extended family celebrations. It's lovely to see all ages enjoying themselves, from toddlers in The Wendy House, teenagers on the trampoline, grown-ups in the jacuzzi and proud grand (or great grand) parents enjoying Yorkshire Tea and the views from the comfort of an an armchair!

Tim & Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

this review is based on us staying in the moor view and wells unit
stayed here for 3 weeks visiting relatives. good facilities at the lodge and a handy place to enjoy the moors and areas around Ilkley. owners need to be more on hand around the premises. we could never contact them on the house number given and did not like to ring their mobile number. having said that the couple of issues that came up were promptly dealt with when we saw the owner going past and were able to draw his attention to the issues needing fixing..
a lot of notices around the premises about green waste and environmental issues so this would be a place to stay for all those types of social conscious people visiting Ilkley.
the beds are great, a nice welcoming package left for us in the unit. overall an ok experience, but the place needs an overhaul re maintenance. the high roll top baths might be an issue for older visitors and though they are in keeping with the Victorian theme are not very practical with plastic wrap round curtains.
we enjoyed using the cellar spa and thought this a great feature along with the gym. so overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: the wells and moor view units are up a flight of 4 stairs so older people might consider this and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although, we 're in or around Westwood Lodge, eveach day, we now ask guests to contact us by mobile phone - day or night - for any issues that arise. We've moved next door (into the the new grass-roofed house), but always have our phones with us.

We have Listed Building Consent to replace the 1950's windows in The Moorview and hope to carry out this work next winter. In the meantime, we are replacing furniture and carrying out redecoration work.

Tim Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My family and my parents spent a wonderful week in the Applebarn Cottage at Westwood Lodge and my in-laws were in the Wells Apartment for 4 days. It was wonderful to have our whole extended family all in one location to gather in the afternoon and evenings and all set off on our daily activities together. The accommodations were very comfortable (especially the beds!) and very well laid out - plenty of room in the lounge for adults to sit and kids to play. Our kids (twin 3 year olds) had a wonderful time with the pigs, chickens, trampoline, wendy house and the box of toys in our cottage! Every detail was thought out and cared for. Tim and Paula have gone above and beyond even sending onto me in Switzerland my late delivered packages from Amazon. Wonderful place, excellent location and superior service!! Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngloTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in the Old Gallery for a 3 night break and I have to say it was fantastic. The accommodation was excellent, it was very well equipped, clean and tastefully done and everything had been thought of. A lovely tea tray and home made cake on arrival was just the start of it. Location is breath taking. Right on the moor with magnificent views. The kids loved the resident pigs, playhouse and chickens in the garden. My parents stayed in one of the apartments and again thought it was lovely, very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Likely itself is a beautiful town with great shops and restaurants. Could not recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Ilkley is well situated in West Yorkshire. The town has lots of eating and shopping options, a rail connection to Bradford & Leeds. From the Lodge you can walk onto the Moor. We'll definitely be returning ...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwakelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level Contributor
450 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We have never been to Ilkley but walked most of the Northern Dales. I am a very fussy person when it comes to cottages, also having a dog can make good accomodation difficult.
We chose Orchard Cottage on the advice of Tim, I wanted an open fire. I can only praise Tim and Paula for the standard of Orchard Cottage, I take it the rest of Westwood Lodge is the same.
We arrived to a lovely warm, cosy cottage, music playing and homemade cake in the kitchen. It immediately felt home from home, not an easy thing to achieve. It was spotless, everything you need and more. The bedding was lovely, lots of hot water and despite a chilly blast of weather and snow, it was always warm.
Westwood lodge sits in an amazing location, literally a couple of hundred yards and you are straight onto Ilkley Moor. Henry (our lab) and I enjoyed a run every morning up to White Wells, a real treat,
We walked everyday, hired bikes from Dave at Skipton, delivered and collected from the cottage. Ate some fantastic food, drank good beer with the bonus of a beautiful cottage to return to.
We had two nights in in front of the fire with yummy food from Booths, the pigs scoffed the leftovers.
Henry rates this as his favourite doggie cottage, he has stayed in a few, must be at least 20 !!!.
We will defiantly be returning here.
Thanks for the foundation for a great holiday,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.4 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor

Property: Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor
Address: Wells Road, Ilkley LS29 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star historic listed family-run country house serviced apartments (for 2 to 4 guests) and cottages (up to 10 guests) on the very edge of Ilkley Moor in Wharfedale. Peaceful location yet rail station is just a ten minute walk (directly to Leeds 30 minutes). Minimum stay 2 nights. Leisure facilities and award winning gardens. Ideal for business stays and short-breaks. Great alternative to corporate hotels! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing