We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ilkley, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

suzanne01...
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Rose cottage was a lovely, spacious, but cosy , cottage with views to die for. Perfect for couples / families looking for a peaceful hideaway in an idyllic location. The cottage was particularly well equipped and so felt like a home from home.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Couldn't fault anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Stoevring, Denmark
1 review
“A little piece of Heaven close to Ilkley”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautyful semidetached cottage located on a hill side with a perfect view for the River Wharfe valley.
The cottage was well equipped with a wonderful kitchen with a stunning view of the valley. There were very good indoor and outdor facilities, and the owner, Jane, was very kind and helpful. Her recommended drive in the dales was nothing but fantastic.
The entire family had a wonderful weekend in the Rose Cottage and we would like to come back again just to enjoy the cottage and the surroundings.
The only challenge was parking, but we managed :-)
I have no hesitation in recommending this place to everyone I know.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Many thanks for you kind words!
There are so many things to do and see nearby, but a trip into the Dales is a must and I recommend it to all our visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie G
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming cottage ,perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

You won't be disappointed if you choose Rose Cottage. Nestled in a picturesque village on the outskirts of the Dales, you'll be spoiled for choice of things to do, and maybe you won't want to leave the cottage with its comfortable furnishings and outstanding view. The owners have thought of everything to make you feel at home, starting with the warmest welcome you could receive. While making breakfast you can watch the birds and squirrels come up to feed, quite a spectacle for young and old alike. The cottage is within an hour's drive of York and you will find plenty of literature in the cottage itself to help you plan your daily outings in the surrounding area. The owners are full of useful tips, listen to them - they know the area well! To sum it up, or sRay Jess vom Hochmoorhoftay here was one of the highlights of our trip and we highly recommend Rose Cottage to anyone looking for a characterful cottage with all the comforts of home.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and for first time visitors to the Dales we do try to point you in the right direction!
Many thanks, Jane Cooper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryns8...
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Rose Cottage. The photographs don't do it justice. We had a nightmare journey and it was so nice to go into a lovely, warm, welcoming cottage. The views are also stunning. We can't wait to go again!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: I genuinely can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 May 2015
Many thanks, I try to make sure my guests remember their holiday for the right reasons!
A lady from the tourist board once told me that I wouldn't know what sort of journey my guests may have had, so a good welcome is important....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSA689
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage is a lovely white washed building in the village of Nesfield about 2 miles from Ilkley. It is perfect for anyone wanting to 'get away from it all' and especially perfect for walkers and cyclists who would appreciate the countryside and the wild life this area has to offer. The cottage itself is very well appointed - everything you could need for a self catering holiday. The owner has thought of everything one would need from the comfortable sofas and beds to luxury bed linen and towels. I especially liked the log/coal burning stove which gave the cottage a real cosy feel. The views from the cottage are amazing and we played 'host' to squirrels, pheasants and a large of variety of birds on the small patio area outside the kitchen. The one down side would be the village is up a steep hill with very narrow access - this could be a problem in bad weather. We were lucky - we had lovely weather for the time of year. All in all a very enjoyable break.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: The narrow roads up to the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.