We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”

The Yangtze Chinese
Ranked #15 of 27 Restaurants in Liversedge
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Another great night out at the Yangtze. Always welcoming n vibrant environment!. Fabulous food enjoyed by all including all of my three children.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    20
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Service From Rude Owners!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Me and some friends came here the other evening. We ordered four pints of coke. After getting up and getting our first course of the buffet we returned to the table to notice they had only brought us two cokes. So we asked a passing waitress who went and got us two more. The food was nice and at 11.95 you can't grumble. They do need to change the sign outside though it still says £10.95.

The owner who is always dressed in a suit was stood behind one of his staff members who was a very polite waitress shouting at her 'not so much duck' in front of a line of customers. It was rude and if i worked there I wouldn't of been responsible for where I would of shoved the duck if it was me he had been speaking to !

When we finally ordered the bill we realised we had been charged for the two cokes that never appeared. We discussed this with the owners and they said 'no the bill is always right'

I think she meant the 'Customer is always right' or probably not after they still made us pay, snatched the bill from our hands and didn't even thank us for our business when we left instead they quickly counted we'd paid for the cokes, which we did. But we shall not be returning. There loss as we usually go every weekend in big groups of 4+.

Horrible management and owners. Fantastic waitress's who work in poor conditions. Im a waitress and its a hard enough job as it is without been spoke to like that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaDelilah94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday tea”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just returned from a visit at Yangtze to celebrate my sons birthday, very nice meal staff very pleasant, food nice & hot

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RUDE!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Arrived at the restaurant and ordered four drinks and went up to the buffet. Came back to only two drinks so waited five minutes before asking the waitress if they had forgotten our other two drinks. The waitress brought our drinks and we continued our meal which was fine. The manager was stood over the waitress who was making our duck pancakes telling her (quite rudely) in front of the queue of customers that she was not doing the sauce right and that she was putting too much duck in the pancakes leaving her looking upset and embarrassed! At the end of the meal we were given our bill and realised we had been charged for the drinks which we had not had so we informed them of this and they told us that the bill was right and we had to pay it. This restaurant needs to be reminded that the customer is always right because I certainly won't be going back after they accused us of lying about not being brought two of our drinks and made us pay for them!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buffet or Evening Meals”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I found this to be a very nice restaurant that serves excellent food and the staff are very helpful, I go there regularly, haven't had a bad meal yet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donato L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yangtze Chinese also viewed

Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Liversedge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Yangtze Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing