We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mandalay Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I have stayed here many many times over the years, with Nick & Angie as hosts (and before that with the previous owners). It is a wonderful home and great care goes into providing wonderful accommodations for their guests. They are so busy now it is hard for me to get my small groups in. Sheri Nakken, Earth Mysteries & Sacred Site Tours http://earthmysteriestours.wordpress.com

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthMysteriesTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We did never feel so unwelcome in a B&B. The hostess opened the door and didn't say welcome or hello. Laughing looks very hard for the hostess. She smiled only when we left and payed the bill. It is very obvious that they run the B&B only for the money.
The room itself was clean but far too small. This was a room for 3 and they added an extra 4th bed while this was almost impossible.
The breakfast room was clean and the breakfast basic but OK (no fresh fruit nor yoghourt).
Too expensive for a small room and unwelcome feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MRBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

A great weekend in Amesbury for the Summer Solstice, and Stonehenge. We stayed 3 nights and it coulndnt have been better. The room was superb, the Tennyson. The guest house was better than most 4 star hotles we have stayed in over tthe years. Nothing was too much trouble, superb breakfast , and a lovely breakfast room overlooking an awesome garden.
Will certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzzy139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We were afforded a newly renovated ensuite twin room and found the Mandalay Guest House a great location and absolutely wonderful. The owners were excellent hosts. The Mandalay has good parking at the street side of the house. Everything about this B&B is first class and up to date. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Navydisposaleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This guest house seemed perfect for us - the price didn't seem extortionate, and the rooms looked lovely. In fact, when we got there, they were! It's a stones (pardon the pun) throw away from the henge, which is why I decided I'd shell out for it in the first place.

Unfortunately, the owners cunningly snatched defeat from the jaws of hosting victory by being such miserable [---]. Whenever there was an option to say something that made it sound like we (as paying guests - and not paying a tiny amount either) were too much trouble for them to pay attention to, they took it. Cases in point:

From the time they opened the door to the time we hurriedly shut it on the way out, they acted like we were bothering them, and they maybe we ought to just get out of their hair. They did oblige us with the necessities we requested, but did so grudgingly. Trying to connect to the internet didn't go well - they seemed so put out to give us the details that when it didn't work, we didn't even want to ask them to tell us how to fix it.

We roamed back in (before check-out time) and decided to use the facilities in the room. They'd already started to put it together for the next guests, and only let us use what we paid for with a grumble and scowl.


They'd packed us a packed lunch instead of breakfast too, since we were off at dawn to see stone-henge. We came back and asked if we could have breakfast instead, and that i'd be happy to pay for the packed lunch. He (the owner) could have said 'yes' or 'that's fine' or 'we can do that'. Instead he opted for the ever-cheery 'Well you'll have to'.

After breakfast, they came up to tell us we owed them £10 for the packed lunch, which we payed (what else can you do?). When we got hungry enough to open it we found £1.50 of biscuits and crisps, a crappy-to-the-point-of-inedible concoction of cheese and bread, and some sliced carrots and celery (but with no dip). Definitely money well ripped off.


We waited for them to smile once during they stay. Unfortunately they both seem to have been struck with a degenerative disease that made the sides of their mouthes droop into unfortunately sullen expressions, perminantly.

The place is pretty. It needs to be donated to people capable of acting like they want guests.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bert2010Bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cawq, owner at Mandalay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2010

i am very sorry that the couple that stayed at mandalay did not in their opinion have a happy stay and i appoligise to them for anything that might have upset them.
however the facts stated are not quite how i
remember them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My friend and I stayed here for one night in Sept 2009 so that we could visit Stonehenge. We arrived and were warmly welcomed and shown to our rooms. Mine had two twin beds and my friend had a room with a double bed. Both rooms were very nicely furnished and clean with a lovely coffee/tea tray with cookies (biscuits). We were then shown about and loved the blue and white breakfast room which lead to a beautiful and large garden area. The yard was very pleasant to take a drink out and relax in with several places to sit in privacy.

The upstairs area had a refrigerator and microwave which we loved.

Breakfast the next morning was quite good and cooked to order with continental offerings as well. The other guests were very pleasant to talk to.

This B&B is on the road that takes you directly to Stonehenge. It's a great location and beautiful house with great rooms and very friendly hosts. I would stay here again should I find myself in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karbop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Our family of 4 as well as my sister in-law and daughter stayed one night and we want to go back. Nick recommended we eat supper at the Wheat Sheaf Inn - (absolutely fantastic food, great charm with locals. Make sure to order the larder appetizer). The breakfast was awesome, the egg was sunny side up on fried bread, bacon, mushrooms, mmmmmm. No complaints, will stay here again in a heartbeat. We stayed in a quad that didn't have a shower, but the tub was huge and they had a hand held unit that served us fine.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amesbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.4 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairlawn House
Fairlawn House
#1 of 3 in Amesbury
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Guest House

Address: 15 Stonehenge Road, Amesbury SP4 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandalay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mandalay Guest House Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing