We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mandalay Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Travelling through, [not visiting Stonehenge!], arrived quite late and had warm welcome. Nice sized room, clean, comfy beds, good sized bathroom with all we needed, plenty of drawers and hanging space. My pet grouch, bedside light too dim for easy bedtime reading - as is so often the case. Excellent cooked breakfast, noticing grouch from another reviewer, yoghurt is on menu but was not on display 'cos it was in the fridge. Just needed to ask! House is nicely decorated, ample car parking. Would go again.

Room Tip: Room at back probably avoids the [slight] early morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    15
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
35
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A good overnight stay at Mandalay. Arrived late at night in driving rain so just wanted a cup of tea to warm up and dry out. Breakfast the following morning was good - well cooked and well presented.

Room comfortable and warm, perhaps bathroom a little on the small size - difficult to know where to hang towels. But a good stay - would recommend Mandalay.

Room Tip: Chose Bronte - room at the back so away from road and any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This pleasant B&B is within walking distance of the centre of Amesbury and 5 minutes drive from Stonehenge. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a view of the garden. Breakfast was well cooked and well presented. The owners are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this as a good place to stay when visiting the Salisbury area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VixMiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Nick. Who was warm and welcoming. Offered to take our bags up to our rooms and was very helpful with local food/tourist points. We had two rooms. A double and a family. Both warm, clean and well presented. The hotel was blissfully quiet, and had a comfortable sleep. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast and set on our way.

Couldn't fault it and would absolutely stay again :)

Room Tip: Family room is lovely with great views of the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaraMogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Awesome B&B. Room was just like the pictures shown and so pretty. Hosts are lovely people and so helpful. Breakfast was very good. Very close to town and restaurants. Definitely recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelensTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed with friends for the last two evenings in October. On contacting Nick to ask if we could leave our car at the Mandalay as we were arriving at midday and wanted to walk back into the centre of Amesbury for some lunch, a welcome beer and a wander around. Nick duly obliged but further still said we could check in if the rooms were ready. All of this happened and it was very much appreciated.
We had the Bronte and Wordsworth Rooms overlooking the superb garden at the back, both were so comfortable, extremely well decorated, excellent comfy beds and all the facilities that you require.
Breakfast again was excellent, choice of cereals, good choice for the cooked breakfast, the full English being extremely good, toast and preserves and as much tea, coffee and fruit juice that you require.
The whole property from the Entrance, Dining Room (overlooking the garden) to the Bedrooms themselves is all of a high quality, extremely clean and tastefully decorated.
We saw more of Nick due to the check in, welcomed back when we had been out during the day and in the evening when returning from the local hostelry. We saw Angie in a morning at breakfast time but I have to say they are both very friendly and genuinely want to make your stay an enjoyable one.
The location of the Mandalay for our needs was excellent, visiting Stonehenge (just down the road), Devizes, Avebury and also Salisbury, all within easy reach of Amesbury. In the evening we walked from the Mandalay into the centre of Amesbury as we wanted enjoy a drink over a chat and a meal so hence left the car behind. A very pleasant stroll there and back, 10-15 mins to The Bell which I have to say we found very good, being a Wetherspoons you know what the menu is going to be like but it truly was very good, myself and my friend found the Large Mixed Grill very good and the inclusive pint of real ale included in the price was a bonus. They do have a range of good real ales and the price of the wine makes you wonder why other pubs cannot charge the same for the same wine.
All in all ourselves and our friends had an excellent couple of days away but only the right Guest House can pull all this together and in the Mandalay with Nick and Angie you have that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Mandalay Guest House in Amesbury Wilts last week and was very impressed with our room and breakfast the next morning.

It is in a quiet location and we were able to rest and sleep without problems.

The only problem was the front door steps, which were very high and difficult to navigate as we are both disabled.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
0.3 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
400 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Guest House

Property: Mandalay Guest House
Address: 15 Stonehenge Road, Amesbury SP4 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandalay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mandalay Guest House Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing