We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but don't pay”
Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.36*
and up
Stonehenge Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It's a nice historical site to visit. My guests from Brazil thought it would be much much larger than it is for some reason. You can get close enough without a ticket. When walking towards it from the car park go left at the point where you're no longer allowed to go without a ticket and you are only 30 or 40 yards further away from it than those with tickets. They can go around a perimeter fence but can't stand within it - or couldn't when we went (4th May 2014).
Seems to be a place where English Heritage is trying to make as much money as possible. They've built a car park 1.3 miles away so that you are encouraged to buy a ticket and get the bus there. £15 per head is excessive and you don't get much for your money.

I would advise going down the dirt track right next to it, parking up, looking at it for 10 mins and leaving. We went to the car park, had to pay £5 (refundable if you buy a ticket) and then had to walk 1.3 miles there and back. To get to the dirt track, if coming from London, go past Stonehenge to the roundabout, go back on yourself at the roundabout and go down the dirt track on the left, you will have seen it on the way there but there is a 'no right turn sign'.

Thank seanrmckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge.

The visitor facilities, which now include the Stonehenge exhibitions and external galleries, have been relocated to the edge of the World Heritage Site in order to clear the landscape surrounding the monument of modern day distractions. Visitors have the choice of walking to the monument from the Visitor Centre or taking the shuttle bus either part or all of the way.

The income from ticket sales is not for profit and is vital to enabling English Heritage to maintain and conserve Stonehenge, as well as over 400 other historic and prehistoric sites across the country, on behalf of the nation.

We believe the entrance fee represents good value for money as the visit to Stonehenge includes a new world-class visitor centre, housing museum-quality permanent and temporary exhibitions which tell the story of Stonehenge through a combination of cutting-edge audio visual experiences and around 250 incredible ancient objects, all discovered in the Stonehenge landscape. The external gallery currently includes an interactive sarsen and in a few weeks will also include access to five Neolithic Houses, based on archaeological evidence from nearby Durrington Walls.

The monument is as you say surrounded by acres of National Trust open, access land from which it is visible. There are a number of interpretation panels which help those who choose to walk the landscape to understand the prehistoric features they see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 763 reviews
"english heritage"
in 735 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 461 reviews
"gift shop"
in 559 reviews
"bucket list"
in 407 reviews
"visitor center"
in 361 reviews
"actual site"
in 113 reviews
"car park"
in 473 reviews
"actual stones"
in 89 reviews
"summer solstice"
in 109 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 223 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 157 reviews
"walk up"
in 94 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 143 reviews
"national trust members"
in 128 reviews
"free entry"
in 87 reviews
"burial mounds"
in 112 reviews
Filter

6,631 - 6,635 of 11,256 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is my third visit to Stonehenge over the years and by far the most impressive. They have removed the road next the stones and built a new visitor Centre 1.5 miles away.

Parking costs £5 but is refunded when you buy your tickets and is free for national trust members and English heritage members and there are plenty of spaces. Get your tickets online as it's a little cheaper. You get a free shuttle bus to Stonehenge and you get a free audio guide to take with you. It takes over an hour to walk around it listening to all the audio as well. There are also things to see in the surrounding fields. It makes a difference not having the road or car park right next to it, nice to see the grass already growing returning it to natural beauty.

Once you get the shuttle back to the visitor Centre you can visit the brilliant gift shop and cafe. Then the exhibition Centre is a must as well. Great 30 minutes well spent inside. Overall they have made some fantastic changes and invested the money very well.

Thank psteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for your visit and your really lovely review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip and the improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

If you like ancient culture and history is a nice place to go. There is no proved reasons why it was built. You can reach there by car or bus (1 day tour including Bath and Windsor Castle).

Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

To start with, I should say that I am a UK citizen living near London. I had visited Stonehenge when I was a child and remembered that you could see the stones across the road from the visitors centre. Not anymore. The new visitors centre is about 1.5 miles away from the stones, and the road that use to run past it is now blocked/owned by the centre.

Its not possible to see the stones from the new centre. Therefore I assumed that the only way to see them was to pay the OUTRAGEOUS £14.99 for each adult. We decided to pay, and to walk up the road as it was a nice day (could have taken a bus). To my absolute shock, you can still freely walk up the road to see the stones, and it is only the last 50 meters (!!!!) where you need a ticket. I felt absolutely cheated!! To add insult to injury, there is a small farm road that still runs passed the stones (accessible from A303) that provides a perfectly fine (and free) view. The entry fee does give you the chance to view a few sparse info panels dotted around the stones, and an audio tour (which we weren't told about, and there was no way to pick one up once at the stones!).

I'm sure the entrance fee goes to a good cause, but I feel £14.99 is way too much. Of course, people will pay this crazy price as they think thats the only way to see them (like we did). English Heritage should be absolutely ashamed and appalled at this blatant tourist trap rip off. Its an embarrassment to them, and to the UK tourist industry.

7  Thank Gaz_Edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We are sorry that you did not feel the entrance fee represents good value for money. It does as you say go to a good cause. The income from ticket sales is not for profit and is vital to enabling English Heritage to maintain and conserve Stonehenge, as well as over 400 other historic and prehistoric sites across the country, on behalf of the nation.

The price has been competitively set and is in line with other major, prestigious attractions in the UK. We believe it represents good value for money as the visit to Stonehenge has been transformed and now includes the new world-class visitor centre, housing museum-quality permanent and temporary exhibitions, which tell the story of Stonehenge through a powerful combination of cutting-edge audio visual experiences and nearly 250 incredible ancient objects. Visitors are now able to see Stonehenge emerge slowly on the horizon during the shuttle ride – or walk – from the visitor centre.

With the removal of the old and outdated visitor facilities that were, as you say, much closer to the Stone Circle, a sense of context and dignity has been returned to the monument; and Stonehenge is reunited with its ancient processional approach, the Avenue.

Local residents enjoy free admission to Stonehenge as do English Heritage and National Trust members and many school and educational groups throughout the year.

Stonehenge is as you say surrounded by acres of National Trust open, access land from which Stonehenge is visible.

We are very sorry that you were not made aware of the very well received audio tour and will pass this feedback on to the site team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

English Heritage and National Trust should be justifiably proud of their achievements at Stonehenge. Returning the landscape to it's natural beauty is absolutely the right course of action to present the stones in their glory. (Great that the A344 has been closed but the A303 remains a blot on the landscape I'm afraid, government take note!). Stonehenge used to be a national disgrace and I for one used to recommend visitors give it a wide berth in preference to Avebury. Well, no more. The audio tour was great and the Exhibition Centre good, albeit a little small and lacking hands-on activities for the kids. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Despite the huge volume of visitors, the site managed well. To state the obvious, this is an open air site so if you have a choice pick a bright day for your visit.

Thank EnFamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your visit and your very nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing