We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely interesting, great history”
Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.97*
and up
London to Stonehenge Shuttle Bus and Independent Day Trip
More Info
US$62.32*
and up
London to Stonehenge Independent Return Trip Including Entry
More Info
US$135.25*
and up
Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from London with Entry Fees...
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Extremely interesting, great history”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

One thing that was interesting in our trip to the Stonehenge was the differences of information that we received from different sources about the history. It seems that there is still some speculation on what exactly occurred and how it was created. Either way, it's a must see during your stay in England and one of the highlights on my trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,857
    2,925
    1,408
    493
    328
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Education and Entertainment”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Though there are relatively few facts to explain these standing stones, English Heritage have used what is available to maximum effect. Even though we visited on a Bank Holiday Monday there were few queues. A shuttle bus takes you to and from the site although it is well worth while to take the opportunity to walk when the driver suggests a drop off point. The landscape, historical interests, skylarks, and wild flowers are not to be missed. As for our fellow tourists we did hear a few English accents but the majority seemed to be "valuable additions to our balance of payments". Sadly there were no translations on the admirable information boards but I guess this was more than covered by the excellent audio tapes. Do not miss picking up the free audio guide.
Excellent half day out. Helped us keep fit both intellectually and physically.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikeandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your visit and your five star rating. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Stonehenge, and yes, the audio guides come in 9 languages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day out could be cheaper than you think”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The monument itself is, quite unique and well worth a visit. The path that runs around it, takes you to within about 30' of the stones on one side and affords excellent views on all other sides. Fantastic photo opportunities and informative signs dotted along the path tell you what is what. Now - the price! What was interesting was that, when I visited with my wife and 3 children, we used our National Trust membership to obtain free entry tickets to the visitor experience exhibition. This is a kind of museum with artifacts and videos showing how the site developed over the years. HOWEVER - we did not require any tickets to walk to the stones or to get the bus back to the centre! As far as I can see, you do not need to pay (other than the £5 to park) if you want to take the path round the monument!! You can see the replica Sarcen, the stone-age hut replicas and you can walk at your leisure, through the landscape - including a stroll alongside the mysterious Cursus and the various Barrows that litter the landscape - for no extra charge. The shop is excellent - full of actual Stonehenge branded goods - rather than the usual array of nasty plastic tat and cuddly toys that have no bearing on the place you are visiting! Go prepared to pay the entry - but enjoy an extra coffee and cake if you find you don't need to pay!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your visit and your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, liked the shop and that you took the opportunity to have a walk in the wonderful Stonehenge landscape.

Tickets or stickers are checked for those people who wish to walk on the paths around the monument.

Stonehenge is as you say surrounded by acres of National Trust open, access land from which the stone circle is visible for those who do not wish to use the paths around the monument or visit the exhibition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
271 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great walk to Stonehenge!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently visited Stonehenge for the second time (the last time we went was 2009, with the old visitor centre, etc). Yes, entry is pretty expensive, but we wanted to spend a decent amount of time here, as last time we were on a tour, and it was quite rushed. We picked up our free audio guides, and got the shuttle to the fargo stop (which is about halfway to the stones). Only a few people in the shuttle got off here. We spent over an hour walking the short way to the stones, walking over the barrows and through the lovely fields. It was a nice way to approach the stones, and we could enjoy the peace and quiet before facing the crowds moving around the stones.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladybugsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for making a return visit to Stonehenge and for writing such a nice review. We are delighted that you took the opportunity to explore the Stonehenge landscape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“history meets the present”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Yes it is annoying one need to pay 15£ for visting..but you also support the preservation of that place. Nice place to be..great walk or just take the drive..All in one great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank matatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing