We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.34*
and up
Stonehenge Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This has all changed as far as how near you are allowed and also the facilities at the start.
There is an excellent exhibition that gives you a full story of what has occured over the centuries and also various findings, this can be done beforehand but doesn't need to be and is just as interesting at the end.
There is also a very nice shop and good eating facilities .
You take either a slow shuttle bus or faster coach up to the sight and you can stop half way and then walk the rest of the way , you can also walk the entire way if feeling fit.
You are dropped off just before the site and walk up to it where the first audio point commences , the audio is again excelllent and informative and there extra's to listen to if you want.
Still nobody can give a definitive of what this site was for, so listen and make your own mind up.

1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for visiting. We are delighted you enjoyed Stonehenge and the new visitor facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,312 - 6,316 of 11,044 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having driven past on the 303 so many times, I finally turned in to get a closer look. Expecting nothing but truck loads of tourists and little opportunity to actually stand and admire, I was pleasantly surprised by how calm the stones were and how un-crowded it was. Perhaps to do with limitation of numbers on the shuttle-bus from the new visitors' centre to the stones or simply the pot-luck (for me) of the card machines failing so only cash-paying customers could go through - take cash for your ticket, just in case. Either way, the stones just felt quiet. Which was wonderful.
If you have the chance, do take the time to detour. I'm glad I veered off my journey for a look a last. One less thing to do etc...

Thank SRC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for visiting Stonehenge. We are so pleased you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

As a world heritage site, Stonehenge was on my 'bucket list.' Other family members, who are not terribly interested in history, were not at all impressed or interested in this site. We arrived quite late in the day and during the off season. So, it was not all that crowded. If you want to stop and listen to all the chapters on the audio guide, allow yourself at least an hour by the stones. The new museum was interesting and could be easily be seen in 1 hour or less.

ONE DOWNSIDE: There was a lack of benches near the stones. This was a problem for my mother who walks with a cane and had trouble walking long distances and/or standing for a long period.

Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Disappointing visitor centre, but mind expanding experience on the actual visit to the stones. Imax film in visitors centre is excellent, as are the reconstructed houses at the sites. Audio guide is really useful in giving a context to a difficult to interpret sites. Path is well laid out and gives a brilliant 360 degree view from a flat accessible to all path. Opportunity to walk to tumuli away from the monument. Expensive at nearly 15 pounds entry fee so well worth joining English Heritage which gives entry to this and far more.

Thank sueabram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It has always been my desire to see Stonehenge and I was not disappointed. The tour on site was well organised and the audio guide was excellent and most informative. The whole visit was well worth the admission fee.

Thank Krish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge. We are so pleased you enjoyed the audio guide and your visit generally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing