We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to be in Summers”
Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.91*
and up
Stonehenge Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The place is impressive and the audio tour informative. A bit expensive when considering the cost of getting there and the entrance fee. Luckily the weather was perfect for my visit so I wandered the grounds and soaked it all in but be prepared for passing by showers which is pretty common in UK.

Thank Ujjwal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 763 reviews
"english heritage"
in 735 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 461 reviews
"gift shop"
in 559 reviews
"bucket list"
in 407 reviews
"visitor center"
in 361 reviews
"actual site"
in 113 reviews
"car park"
in 473 reviews
"actual stones"
in 89 reviews
"summer solstice"
in 109 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 223 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 157 reviews
"walk up"
in 94 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 143 reviews
"national trust members"
in 128 reviews
"free entry"
in 87 reviews
"burial mounds"
in 112 reviews
Filter

6,500 - 6,504 of 11,424 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We only really wanted to see the stones, not really go for the whole visitor experience as we were short of time, but it was good. Very convenient with the shuttle buses, and the exhibition and shop were good x

Thank Debs041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I remember my first sight of the Henge, in the early 70s - it was 3am, there was no street lighting, it was black as pitch on the plain. My father and I walked from the road (there was no fencing) and up over a little hill and there it was - black against a black sky, haloed by the silver gleam of a full moon hanging a little to one side. Unforgettable.
My second visit was in the late 80s - fencing, a huge carpark, a caravan serving hot drinks and Cornish pasties (very welcome on a cold February day). My husband and I were the only visitors. The stones were fenced off from the common herd with wire - covered with graffitti, we understood why. Sheep grazed nearby and it was all very pastoral.
This time, with a friend, we hit a well-organised tourist center. The visitor center has been well designed, and is not a modern blot on the landscape. The shuttle buses are regular and full, and visitors are kept at a respectful distance from the stones. However, it has been done so well that you can take photos without being overly aware of the hundreds of other people sharing the 'Stonehenge Experience' with you. You are provided with an audio-guide, which is very informative, and can take your time. We enjoyed outselves very much indeed - our morning was only marred by a torrential downpour, just a we had finished our tour - by the time the bus came for us, we were soaked. Back to the center for a nice hot drink and - a Cornish pasty!

Thank laylathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and like the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Not sure how long the new centre has been open; we dropped in for an hour on the way to Dorset.
Three stars mainly because of the high cost: GBP 15 per person. Relative to the offering, too expensive in my opinion. We got: a short ride to the stones and back and a viewing of the nice history show in the centre. It's very good, but not 15 pounds worth.
Now that they have moved the road, it appears you have little choice but to pay if you want to see the stones.

1  Thank BlueJack2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Customer Services at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Stonehenge. We are glad you enjoyed the visitor centre and hope you had the opportunitiy to look around the Neolithic Houses too.

The admission fee has been competitively set and is not for profit. It provides English Heritage with income that is vital to helping us look after Stonehenge as well as over 400 other sites in our care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The most inefficient significant attraction I've been to. We had prebooked tickets and it still took 40 minutes of standing in line to get to and back from the stones. It was the middle of the day and for some reason there was a group allowed into the center ring which made it impossible to get any pictures without them. My opinion is that the new system and visitor center is poorly designed and managed.

3  Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing