We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
  
Ways to Experience Stonehenge
from US$23.44
More Info
from US$68.32
More Info
from US$60.95
More Info
from US$85.73
More Info
Reviews (12,821)
Filter reviews
12,821 results
Traveller rating
6,317
3,716
1,768
591
429
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,317
3,716
1,768
591
429
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide english heritage shuttle bus visitor center gift shop bucket list actual site car park actual stones entrance fee summer solstice world heritage site walk up awe inspiring national trust members free entry burial mounds
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 12,821 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

We drove from Bath (just over an hour). This site is remarkable. Having been to New Grange in Meath Ireland I was still inspired by what I saw here at Newgrange.

The interpretation centre and audio visual is very good. Crisp and nicely paced information.

The site is exposed so be sure to wear your winter warmest, even on a sunny day like today we appreciated our puffer jackets, gloves and scarves.

Do not miss this site.

We went into Woodhenge after woods. Interesting but nothing when compared to Stonehenge.

All the staff were very smiley and friendly too. Hats off to you as this can’t be the most exciting job.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank MauriceCummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit and I'm so glad you found the staff very smiley and friendly. Great advice about the weather, it does get really cold (the staff have to wear a lot of layers) but the benefit of being in such an exposed location I think, is the big, beautiful sky above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

We were fortunate enough to be staying close by on a beautiful morning and made the trip across to this national icon. There is an ample car park and entry is free if you are a National Heritage or National Trust member. It’s worth booking a time slot for your visit on line, as access is restricted. It’s also worth either booking the audio tour for £3/head in advance, or you can download this from the app. store; it gives you very useful information about the history of the site and it’s cultural relevance. Once you have booked in it is worth spending at least half an hour looking at the exhibits in, and outside, the visitor centre as these give you much more context of what the site if all about. There are shuttle buses that take you to and from ‘the stones’, about a 7 minute journey, or you can walk, which takes about half an hour. The stones themselves are very impressive and you can get surprisingly close to these fantastic pieces of our heritage.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. The only thing I'd add is that you can download the audio app for free in advance, just remember to bring some headphones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Stonehenge is a beautiful place, magical, especially during sunrise. It's mystic. when you're there somehow you feel energized. totally recommend it. About the hotel where I stayed in Salisbury, it's very nice for young people as during the night has a disco on the ground floor. Even though you can relax but I would recommend another hotel for a total relaxation

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank RitaCapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Worth the trip because of the history but the exhibit isn't particularly good and you have to either walk a mile or take a tram which is overcrowded and often has a queue. I wouldn't bother to go again but sort of ticked it off my list of worldly places you have to see.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you have ticked Stonehenge off your bucket list. We do have shuttle buses running every few minutes from the visitor centre to the monument but on really busy days there can be a queue and in order to keep this to a minimum we do try and fill up all the seats on the bus, so I'm sorry if this felt overcrowded to you. Lots of people choose to walk if the weather is good or there's always the option of visiting at less busy times of day. Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019

We live not too far from Stonehenge and have passed it on our way to the West Country a number of times, moaning about the hold ups in the traffic as people slow down to take in the view.

Having joined English Heritage last year, we decided it was time to go and see what the fuss was all about on New Year's Eve. It was cold, being December (just) and a bit bleak but the experience was excellent. We drove into the car park and were greeted by a very proper gent who asked if we were with English Heritage and then advised about parking. We then walked to the Exhibition Centre, collected tickets, again from a very polite young man who explained how everything worked. We then went to pick up our free audio tour 'phones and told the shuttle buses were every five minutes. It all seemed too good to be true.

We then found the Exhibition Centre - brilliant, well thought out, dramatic and extremely informative. I could have stayed all day but decided the stones were calling. Shuttle bus - great, lots of foreign visitors videoing everything, including the bus... friendly and up beat. Can't fault the audio tour at all. Incredibly well done. It was a great day out. We bought a guide book because it was so well written, beautiful photographs, so a keepsake for us. However, we will be back. We avoided the cafe and shop as it felt too touristy and we didn't want that. Great day, will return with our grandsons when they are a little older and will visit when its quiet. Stunning place and very atmospheric.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you had a brilliant day and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews