We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper cups? Yuk.....”
Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.94*
and up
Stonehenge Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gorgeous weather visiting this iconic attraction. Extremely professionally presented experience. Seamless transfer from car to Visitor Centre, then shuttle bus to the henge itself. A leisurely drive to ensure the onboard commentary syncs with the surroundings. The Visitor Centre is world class. Sadly the café lets the place down, hence, losing a rating star. The infront of counter offerings are very motorway service style, generic/plastic/unappealing. There was a behind the counter menu, but I left as soon as I saw paper cups. What a let down in such an historic setting. My next port of call was NT Stourhead, a short drive away. Bliss, china cups, real cake.... that's the way to do it Stonehenge!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank mobo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and for your feedback on our paper cups. It would be nice to be able to offer china but sadly we just don't have the space. Because we are a World Heritage Site the footprint of our visitor centre is actually quite small, therefore the behind the scenes part of the cafe limits what we can offer. I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of your visit and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 834 reviews
"english heritage"
in 816 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 538 reviews
"visitor center"
in 404 reviews
"gift shop"
in 625 reviews
"bucket list"
in 448 reviews
"actual site"
in 130 reviews
"car park"
in 534 reviews
"actual stones"
in 104 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 249 reviews
"summer solstice"
in 116 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 178 reviews
"walk up"
in 108 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 154 reviews
"national trust members"
in 143 reviews
"burial mounds"
in 129 reviews
"stone circle"
in 281 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 12,592 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pay enormous price to see and to take a few family photos for the big pile of rock. I don't expect it to be FOC but the price is too high to stomach. Paid 50 pounds for 2A3C, I would have expect more than just rock and a small museum. Don't bother to pay a visit.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Excellent2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry you did not feel you got value for money from your visit. English Heritage is a charity and any money made at Stonehenge is used to care for the site and the 1.5 million visitors who come to see it each year. Anything left over is used to help look after the other 400+ places in our care, many of which are free to visit but expensive to maintain. We do benchmark our ticket prices against other major UK attractions to make sure we are on par with other places people, particularly tourists, want to visit. And, we really appreciate all our visitors who help us look after England's important history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We drove from Bath (just over an hour). This site is remarkable. Having been to New Grange in Meath Ireland I was still inspired by what I saw here at Newgrange.

The interpretation centre and audio visual is very good. Crisp and nicely paced information.

The site is exposed so be sure to wear your winter warmest, even on a sunny day like today we appreciated our puffer jackets, gloves and scarves.

Do not miss this site.

We went into Woodhenge after woods. Interesting but nothing when compared to Stonehenge.

All the staff were very smiley and friendly too. Hats off to you as this can’t be the most exciting job.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank MauriceCummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit and I'm so glad you found the staff very smiley and friendly. Great advice about the weather, it does get really cold (the staff have to wear a lot of layers) but the benefit of being in such an exposed location I think, is the big, beautiful sky above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were fortunate enough to be staying close by on a beautiful morning and made the trip across to this national icon. There is an ample car park and entry is free if you are a National Heritage or National Trust member. It’s worth booking a time slot for your visit on line, as access is restricted. It’s also worth either booking the audio tour for £3/head in advance, or you can download this from the app. store; it gives you very useful information about the history of the site and it’s cultural relevance. Once you have booked in it is worth spending at least half an hour looking at the exhibits in, and outside, the visitor centre as these give you much more context of what the site if all about. There are shuttle buses that take you to and from ‘the stones’, about a 7 minute journey, or you can walk, which takes about half an hour. The stones themselves are very impressive and you can get surprisingly close to these fantastic pieces of our heritage.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. The only thing I'd add is that you can download the audio app for free in advance, just remember to bring some headphones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stonehenge is a beautiful place, magical, especially during sunrise. It's mystic. when you're there somehow you feel energized. totally recommend it. About the hotel where I stayed in Salisbury, it's very nice for young people as during the night has a disco on the ground floor. Even though you can relax but I would recommend another hotel for a total relaxation

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank RitaCapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing