We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Stonehenge
from US$23.01
More Info
from US$60.34
More Info
from US$59.82
More Info
from US$84.14
More Info
Reviews (12,677)
Filter reviews
12,677 results
Traveller rating
6,245
3,681
1,748
580
423
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,245
3,681
1,748
580
423
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide english heritage shuttle bus visitor center gift shop bucket list actual site car park actual stones entrance fee summer solstice world heritage site walk up awe inspiring national trust members burial mounds free entry
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 12,677 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We're spoilt nowadays with TV filming everything. They spend months giving us the best views possible. To see something like Stonehenge "for real" though gives you something you can't get from the TV.

As you approach the actual stones they are huge and look like a complex untidy mish-mash. The diameter of the outer circle is perhaps smaller than it appears on TV but no less impressive. As you get your bearings and wander round the circle the views are amazing.

We were fortunate as we reached the far side a rainbow rose from the middle of the circle (OK it was raining slightly) and gave us such a picture.

I would advise coming early. We booked the first timed slot and there were only 5 of us on the bus to the stones. It made taking photos without people in them so easy.

The museum is worth a visit, as well as the displays of artifacts and information there's a space where you stand in the middle of a circular area with the stones displayed on walls around you. It transitions through the ages and seasons of Stonehenge.

There are some replicated dwellings to look around. The EH people in here full of information about life in these houses.

We had an early coffee at the onsite cafe and went back for lunch. We had a pasty/sausage roll as, for us, the sandwiches we thought we might like all contained mustard.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Charles_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for coming to visit us and taking the time to leave a review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. The photo with the rainbow sounds amazing. Please feel free to share it on our FaceBook, Instagram or Twitter accounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Interesting, historic place to visit. Buy English Heritage membership and support their amazing work.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 786janej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your endorsement. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

It had been many years since we last visited Stonehenge and what a change there has been! There is now a large visitors' centre and car park. The entry charge is quite high but members of English Heritage and National Trust have free entry. It is worth paying for the audio-guide. The small museum in the visitors' centre is well worth a visit since it puts Stonehenge into its context. There is a free bus to take visitors to the stones and then there is a path which goes right round. The audio-guide comes into its own in providing useful and interesting information. Why was it built? No-one seems to know.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience at the new visitor centre. The audio guide is definitely worth listening to in order to put Stonehenge in context as you say. For anyone reading this, you can download the audio guide to your phone for free from the App Store or Google play. We do have free WiFi on site but I would suggest downloading before you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought this place was just a big ole pile o rocks. Like I didn't even want to go and see it but i lost a bet (wild sat nites) and I ended up going and I'm shocked. There was an energy, i felt rocky, edgy, hard - as if id become one of the rocks. Damn it was better than any trip i've ever had ;)

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank smileysally69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. I can't imagine what kind of bet it was where the forfeit was to visit Stonehenge! Great to hear you enjoyed your visit though. Hope to see you again someday now you're a convert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a long way from central London especially in winter but for us it was worth every minute even with the freezing windchill and cold! The sun was out and the sky was blue. It wasn’t too busy and we got some great photos.

Loads of history here and the visitors centre is interactive with facts for all ages, a cafe and shop. The shuttle bus is included in the ticket price and runs frequently.

Many people will combine a day in Salisbury or Bath for a one day or two day road trip. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank wanderlust_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Public Relations Manager at Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your 5-star review. Sorry about the weather!! I do sometimes wonder why the Neolithic builders picked such a remote spot but then when I look at how big and beautiful the sky is above I think that must have played a part in their decision.

I'm glad your bucket list trip was such as success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews