We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is a fraction of the cost of others in the area. The exterior and smell reflect that. Surprisingly, the bed was really comfortable and the shower was good. At the end of the day. all we wanted was somewhere to sleep and it did that, but I wouldn't stay here for more than a night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank babs1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We (couple and five year old) stayed for 1 night in December after a day trip to the fantastic "Christmas at Longleat". It's not the closest hotel but was certainly the cheapest for the date we visited and was less than half an hours drive. The room was modern and clean with one double bed and one single. It was a cold night but had good heating. Comfortable bed and no noise issues so we all slept well. We had a room facing the road but it didn't cause any issue - maybe as we were all super tired after a long and busy fun packed day!Bathroom was not super modern but was clean and functional.

For breakfast there is a little chef and Burger King next door. Petrol station also there. Easy access on to all major roads for onward journey. We had no complaints at all for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKCarolineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

It was the second time my partner and I have stayed here, as it is so convenient for Stonehenge and not that far from its smaller cousin Avebury. Both times we had a room in the new annex. The first time we were facing the road, with resultant noise, so I was glad this time to be on the other side of the hotel.

The room itself was as I have come to expect, comfortable and clean. This being a budget hotel meant there were no fancy toiletries, hair dryers or any other extras, just a bed, a shower and a telly, with of course a kettle, which suited us just fine.

Travelodge do offer a choice of breakfast bags for around a fiver, but neither of them are gluten free, so for us it was pot of porridge and some gluten free muffins in our room, brought from home. It pays to plan ahead in such situations, and be prepared, and we are used to this by now. There is a Little Chef just across the car park, which gives you 10 percent off if you present the voucher emailed to you as part of your confirmation, but this can it seems only be used once, no matter how long you stay (we stayed 2 nights). They offer a reasonable range of meals, but again little for gluten free veggies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeysirGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is lovely. We drove from Cardiff to have a mini break to visit Salisbury and Stonehenge unfortunately the weather was cold and wet but didn't stop us doing what we wanted. The Amesbury Travelodge is quite near both places very comfortable clean and warm and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful would definitely visit here again excellent value for money

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jakki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

For the last four years we have gone on a cruise from Southampton. To avoid any chance of being late and missing the ship. we have always stayed the night before sailing at the Amesbury travelodge which is less than an hour from the cruise dock.
Very clean and polite and helpful staff

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bids328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights back in september when we visited longleat safari park and stonehenge. It is about a 5 minute drive from stonehenge and 40 minutes from longleat. There is a little chef, burger king and petrol station on the same site. The hotel is clean and was quiet. Rooms are basic but you get what you pay for. Comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauramarley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here as it was ideal for our visit to Stonehenge, the room was clean and tidy. But the service at reception was slow, it took about 10 minutes of waiting before being dealt with when we arrived, not because it was busy but because there was no one there.

Had a good sleep, but whenever the toilet was flushed it made a very loud noise so we were concerned about disturbing others.

Good bit was that it was only a 15 minute walk into Amesbury to get a meal and drink

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Services at Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review Emma F. We are very sorry to learn that you experienced a delay during check in. Whilst our reception desk may be temporarily unmanned, we would expect our staff to arrive at the desk as soon as they are alerted by the buzzer, so they can provide an efficient check in process. Please be assured that your comments have been raised to our Hotel Management team to ensure they can address this with staff and remind them of the importance of great customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.5 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
337 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
324 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
591 reviews
7.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel

Address: A303 Countess Services Countess Road, Amesbury SP4 7AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range: £32 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unassuming budget hotel is 1.1 miles from the Stonehenge Landscape Visitors centre and a 9.1-mile drive from Salisbury Cathedral. Amesbury town centre is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel where you can find a selection of award winning places to eat and some quaint local pubs full of character. The straightforward rooms feature Wi-Fi (with restrictions and at a cost), flat-screen TVs and custom-designed king size beds, plus tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded / family rooms have additional foldaway beds and Travelodge provide a Cot on request so you can customise your room to suit you and your family needs. The hotel offers complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Travel Lodge Amesbury
Amesbury Travelodge
Amesbury Travel Lodge
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing