We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If basic is what u want!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“If basic is what u want!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for two nights recently and yes I know you only pay for what you get we were not impressed by the sight of two staff smoking at the front entrance surely they could be more discreet?
We were in and out of the "hotel" a fair amount during our stay and rarely was the reception manned, it is always nice to see a friendly face but they must have been in the back.
The room was not cleaned for our second nights stay, although a note was left at 11.45 a.m after we had gone out offering to clean if we contacted reception but we were not back until late so this proved irrelevant surely the rooms should be automatically cleaned we had been to a funeral and were really not in the right frame of mind to complain.
We have stayed in Premier Inns before and the small extra cost is so worth it!
Sleep quality was poor because of busy road. The king size bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main A303!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie1ornone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review charlie1ornone. We are truly sorry to learn of the poor experience you had with our staff and the state of your room. We fully expect our staff to be available and offer assistance at all times so it is regrettable to learn that the staff did not live up to your expectations. Furthermore, we require all our rooms to be serviced daily and cleaned to our highest standards so we are sorry to see that this did not occur during your stay. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    167
    123
    52
    56
See reviews for
226
180
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very basic, very comfortable beds. Decor very dated, not very well cleaned. Good base for Stonehenge but I can't think of any other reason for staying here. Food in adjacent Little Chef was good but the service was rubbish.
Well worth a trip 3 km up the road to the Harvester, much better and good value.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hodgkint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amesbury travel lodge is ideally suited to a number of primary routes and has the additional benefit of being within walking distance of the town with its additional facilities. If you are looking for this type of accommodation this is an excellent example.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank GFJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A small and friendly place to stay. Rooms were quite small and pretty basic but equally had everything you needed for a night or two stay (just be aware the soundproofing isn't that great so you will be able to hear people moving about in the rooms overhead and in the corridors outside). The Little Chef next door was very welcoming and was very clean, serving freshly cooked food.

Not the easiest place to reach as it was located off a slip road just off the roundabout - be aware if you use sat-nat that the postcode will take you off at the wrong junction!

Very handy location just outside Salisbury.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank dippyduck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel was basic as you'd expect from a travelodge but it was very cheap, the staff were very helpful and it was clean and comfortable. It is also very conveniently situated for stonehenge, woodhenge and durrington walls and a short walk from the centre of Amesbury where we went for a nice meal in the evening. The main downside was that it was on a services and is little tricky to find as you cannot see its sign clearly from the road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned home after 3 nights at this hotel. We had a very comfortable, relaxing stay. The room was spotless and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Tom, Anthony and Karina. It was ideal for Stonehenge and Salisbury. The one criticism was the Little Chef next door. We went there for breakfast on the first morning and the service was terrible. Luckily we found a wonderful little cafe called The Friar Tuck in Amesbury, just 1 mile away. It opened for breakfast at 7.30am. It was very reasonably priced and had excellent service. Tom told us about a great restaurant called The Wheatsheaf about 6 miles away at Woodford. We had two meals there as the service was brilliant, the food was excellent and we were able to eat in their very child friendly garden. Thank you all for a very relaxing few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I booked to stay at this travelodge because the website said it had recently been refurbished, it has not. Bathroom was filthy, moldy, smelly towels, the fittings in the bathroom looked like it was installed in the 1980's and hasn't been touched since, so much for refurbished! Kettle was dirty. Room was drab and did not look or smell nice. I have stayed in many travel lodge type places and have always been very lucky, until booking this! We booked this to break up our journey home back from our cornball holiday, stayed in the room for 30 minutes and decided to carry on our journey into the early hours of the next day so that we didn't have to sleep in this drab, dirty and depressing travel lodge......very disappointing. PLEASE don't make the same mistake as us! To be fair the reception staff were nice and friendly thats the only good thing we can say!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank 177tpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amesbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.5 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
307 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel

Property: Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Address: A303 Countess Services Countess Road, Amesbury SP4 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Travel Lodge Amesbury
Amesbury Travelodge
Amesbury Travel Lodge
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing