We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Fairlawn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairlawn House
Ranked #1 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We recently spent a night at Fairlawn House on our way home. We would have preferred to have paid a little less but couldn't find anything due to the bank holiday weekend. As it turned out, we were more than happy to pay £75. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. We thought there would be a problem with parking but not so as we could park very close by at the doctors surgery as they have an arrangement with the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was certainly enough to keep us going although mine was a little overdone . Overall, this was a very good bed and breakfast and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezzer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Fairlawn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and had a thoroughly pleasant stay. We had to add a person last minute and they were very accommodating!
The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic! Our bed was so comfy and our room was lovely.
Definately recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

What this is, is a lovely, comfortable B&B in a 200 year old home that the owners have renovated to provide en suite accommodations to their guests. What this is not, is a chain hotel. The rooms are all varying in size and layout. What the owners offer is a scrupulously clean room, a hot breakfast, a warm welcome, and suggestions on what you may like to do. What the owners do not offer are king sized beds, spa tubs and mini bars. We talked with the owners one evening as we enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar area about Trip Advisor ratings (which are truly high for this property), and about how people sometimes get the wrong idea as to what Fairlawn House offers, but honestly you can't NOT give this place a high rating. So let me give you an American's views on our stay. The room had LOTS of electrical outlet -- crucial for Americans. They also offered in room coffee, tea and biscuits, a hair dryer and a window that actually opened so you could hear the birds. The bathroom in Room 6 is pretty small since they had to work within the confines of the spaces they had, but it worked fine for our needs. If you are a larger person, this might be an issue. There is a car park just behind where cars can be parked safely off street. What you get for the price that you are charged is an excellent value. I guess, to us, what a great hotel is can be defined by whether or not we would stay there again, and if we are ever in that area of the world again, we will most certainly stay at the Fairlawn House.

The location is literally 2 miles from Stonehenge, and while the town is small and a little sleepy, they offer a variety of restaurants, shops and whatnot. In talking to some of the local residents we heard that there are a lot of plans in the works for shops, restaurants and whatnot. Book a room there, go in with reasonable expectations and a plan to visit some of the most amazing sights in Britain. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robsmom32207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stay on the way to the south coast. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. Parking was nearby. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent. We thought it was excellent value and ideally located for visiting Stonehenge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We chose this hotel as we were going to a party and this hotel was walking distance. We were given a warm welcome. The rooms were homely and spotlessly clean.good quality linen on beds. My daughter and family stayed in a family room and we had a twin room. Both were of good size. The beds were extremely comfortable. No noise in the hotel and we all had a good nights sleep.breakfast was served in the basement. The layout was quirky.excellent selection of cereals,juices,yogurts etc. local foods were used in the cooked breakfast and there was ample choice. The cooking was excellent. Plenty of refills for tea and coffee and endless supply of toast.Would certainly recommend this family hotel. There was also a comfortable lounge, a bar and toys for children. The dolls house was popular with our granddaughter .p

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Madeleine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Needed an overnight stay due to a business trip, this small friendly b and b is superb, I was met with a friendly smile, check in was smooth and quick and free car parking too.Ideally located, try the wetherspoons pub (the bell) and Tandoori nights Indian, both excellent. The room was fresh, clean large and comfortable, breakfast was superb, even the plate was hot!!All in all I cannot fault it and I ill not stay anywhere else on future trips!Thank you for going the extra mile!!

Room Tip: Sorry I licked on pool, there isnt one!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeadGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

A lovely old house and very enthusiastic welcoming owners. Still renovation to do but what they have done so far is lovely. Lovely sitting room and bar area and the breakfast room would grace any good restaurant. An excellent stop on a journey on the A303.

Room Tip: Go for a large double
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
303 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn House

Address: 42 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range: £75 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawn House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairlawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn House Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing