We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairlawn House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stones Hotel(Salisbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhouse Motel(Cholderton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Manor Hotel(Cholderton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
267
118
22
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
118
22
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhonesty barhigh streetfriendly ownersbreakfast was amazingsmall hoteltandoori nightsfull english breakfastone way streetlovely buildingvisit stonehengehot breakfastbreakfast roomfull length mirrorguest housegreat place to stayblack pudding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I'd never stayed at a B&B before but The Man & I were heading to Cornwall from London and didn't rate the idea of driving straight through, so decided to stay somewhere along the way. I would have been content with a Premier Inn sort of arrangement but he favoured a B&B. We'd made a list of several places in the area and started calling; the first few were booked solid and we started to panic. We were hugely relieved when, upon calling Fairlawn, Keith answered and had a room for us. He was friendly and engaging and we hurried on to Amesbury.

The area is charming, quiet and peaceful and the building itself is lovely. Once we got inside, we knew we were in the right place; Keith wasn't just charming on the phone, he was the most affable chap we've met in some time and after a couple minutes chatting, it began to feel like we were staying with friends. What an absolute delight.

Our room was adorable and perfect for the two of us. It faced the High Street, but noise was no problem. The wifi worked beautifully, the hot water was plentiful, there were biccies on the welcome tray in our room and we were just utterly content.

Breakfast was wonderful, and Tracy was very helpful and welcoming. We both had the full English plus some fruit and toast, the tea and juice were of an excellent standard and the breakfast room, located in the basement, is bright and airy and hums with a lovely energy.

I was sad to leave, frankly, and would have liked more time here. Next time, perhaps.

Long story short, don't hesitate to book and stay here. The personal attention is so warm and wonderful, the room was clean and we felt so at home straight away - it is a million miles from the Premier Inn experience, but it's SUPPOSED TO BE - it's not a hotel, it's a B&B and I'm so happy that my first B&B experience was here, with these lovely people who go out of their way to be accommodating and helpful.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secret_Squirre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had booked the reservation having asked about a cancellation as we were not sure about our stay. I ended up needing the room less than expected, however they would not cancel the nights not used and charged us the entire cost. So we ended up spending way more than it was worth. The people there would not even acknowledge that some one had said I could cancel nights prior to arrival. Very frustrating.

Room Tip: BE careful when making the reservation if you are not 100% sure as the service is not there to serve you as much as it is to make their profit.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyoungdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey D, Owner at Fairlawn House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

We are sorry that you were not happy with our cancellation policy. We hate having to implement it but we are a small business and late cancellations do have a big impact on us. We operate a 48 hour cancellation policy which is clearly stated on our website and on confirmations issued by ourselves as well as 3rd party booking agents. You advised on check-in that you did not require the 2nd night and we did try to re-sell the room. If we had done so, we would not have charged you but at such short notice this was not possible. It was a shame as we had previously turned other bookings away for that night based on your reservation.

I am surprised that anyone here could have informed you that our cancellation policy was anything other than 48 hours as it is unlikely that you spoke to anyone other than myself or my wife on the phone. Perhaps you were misinformed by the booking agent?

I was particularly saddened by your comment about our service – as you will see from the majority of our other trip adviser feedback, we put our hearts and souls into this business which is also our home and it is difficult not to take negative comments to heart, especially when we had such a lovely time chatting in the bar with you. I hope you can understand that our cancellation policy is purely there to protect our business and not down to any lack of customer service.

Kind regards,
Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I recently arrived at London Heathrow Airport at 10:00 a.m. after an overnight flight from the U.S., picked up a rental car, and drove directly to Stonehenge. After a few hours of being tourists, we realized that we needed to find a place to stay for the night. I called the Fairlawn House and was able to book a very nice room with 3 single beds (room number 10). It was a nice size room, quite adequate in space, and the third bed came in handy as a resting place for our two large pieces of luggage. The room windows are directly on the main street of town, but we did not find it to be noisy at all. It was very quiet and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and the en-suite bathroom with shower (no tub) fit our needs exactly. Parking was not an issue since we were given a parking permit for use in a medical center parking lot directly around the corner, a very short distance from the B&B - about a 1 minute walk. Breakfast was provided in the room rate and, of course, it was the "full English" style that will fill you for the entire day and you will not be hungry again until dinner. Quite tasty and lots of it. The owners, Keith and Tracy, were absolutely fantastic, friendly, and made us feel at home and welcome. We would highly recommend the Fairlawn House for anyone needing accommodations in the Avebury area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Not much to say really. Small good hotel in the centre of Amesbury. Close to Stonehenge. We stayed here for one night on the way to Bath. Everything is clean, parking is free, staff is polite and professional. The room decoration is very traditional, so if you are after "English home" experience, this is a right hotel. Breakfast is quite good. Windows are single glazed, so it is a bit noisy, especially Friday night when we stayed there.

Room Tip: Front room was fairly noisy on Friday night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkabalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We recently spent a night at Fairlawn House on our way home. We would have preferred to have paid a little less but couldn't find anything due to the bank holiday weekend. As it turned out, we were more than happy to pay £75. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. We thought there would be a problem with parking but not so as we could park very close by at the doctors surgery as they have an arrangement with the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was certainly enough to keep us going although mine was a little overdone . Overall, this was a very good bed and breakfast and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezzer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews