We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hybrid between B&B and Hotel”
Review of Fairlawn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairlawn House
Ranked #1 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in June 2014.

We picked Amesbury as a half way point; we were driving from the Ebbsfleet international railway station over to Newquay, Corwall. Tourists normally stay in Amesbury to visit Stonehenge.

The hotel is in a one way street in the town centre. The street scape isn't pretty!

Fairlawn House is a hybrid of a B&B and a hotel. We stayed in room #8 on the first floor, about 15 steps up/down. The parking is a short walk around the side of the hotel to an open public parking area that includes spaces reserved for a medical center that Fairlawn patrons can use by displaying a ticket.

Although the rooms are non-smoking our room had a window in the bathroom and it was obvious that a smoker had used the bathroom to smoke.

The bed was firm and comfortable and the room clean. There were some "small" problems with the en-suite bathroom, e.g., no towel rails, the shower floor was a bit slippery but all was OK. Our room looked out onto the backyard of the building.

Breakfast was in the basement of the building and was delicious.

The staff were friendly.

Would we stay here again? No, struggling up stairs with baggage is something we try and avoid. If that's not an issue this hotel may be OK for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigelbalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Fairlawn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

As someone who has stayed at the Fairlawn for over 18 months on and off, I cannot praise it enough. The familiy who run it are fantastic and can never do enough to help. The breakfast is amazing and the rooms are always clean and tidy. The Fairlwan is a great B&B and does not profess to be a 5 star hotel therefore people who give it a negative rating might want to take this into consideration when leaving reviews.

A recent review left by dougieles was one of several he wrote while in Amesbury. It would appear that this guy is a serial reviewer as he even reviewed Dominoes pizza (sad). The guy obviously travels a lot and has stayed in some great places abroad so I think his review is based on a compraison with other hotels in exotic places rather than other family run B&B accomodation.

Adrian

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After reading the reviews, we were really looking forward to staying at Fairlawn House, but I agree with another reviewer, it was an "unfulfilled promise". Room 9 on the first floor was pokey, and when the wardrobe door was opened the most horrible smell emanated, it was so bad we propped it open throughout our stay. We left a note to the cleaner not to close it, and when leaving, I mentioned it to mine host who was fully aware, - why then not remove offending object? Other things that didn't make for the best stay, the back of the door was marked with dirty streaks, a packet of crushed broken biscuits, no shampoo, no hand towels on the 2nd night, plug socket sticking out to ensure one person was provided with a bruised foot. And although this was no fault of Fairlawn's beware entertainment at around 2.00am and again at 3.00am (people leaving loudly from the local hostelry across the road) is provided. Breakfast on day one was ok, but there were a lot of guest and only 1 cup of coffee was provided even though the promise of a 2nd never materialised. Breakfast on day 2 was very good, but then we were the only people in the breakfast room. In our opinion, Fairlawn House is a bog standard, overpriced bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougieles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey D, Owner at Fairlawn House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Oh dear - it is obvious to us that your initial disappointment with the size of your room has coloured your whole experience and made issues – some of which were relatively minor - into bigger problems for you. We are sorry you were disappointed – room 9 IS one of our smaller doubles but it is a good room, nicely decorated (the marks on the door are actually a paint effect – admittedly one we will consider changing if it gives the impression of it being dirty!) with good quality solid oak furniture. The furniture has been in situ since we bought the business 4 years ago and occasionally whatever it has been treated with can give off a slight odour in warm weather – mainly inside the wardrobe as it is enclosed. The reason we have not removed the offending item is because it hasn’t ever been a big issue – in fact, some of our regular guests request Room 9 as they like the room so much! This is the first time anyone has reported a problem with the plug socket – we will monitor this going forward.
The issues with the biscuits and towels should not have occurred. We are sorry for this and will take it up with our weekend staff. However, we would have been happy to replace the biscuits and provided extra towels if you had alerted us to the problem at the time. The dispenser in the shower is a good quality Gilchrist & Soames shower gel and shampoo combined as per the label. We have started to trial a wider range of Gilchrist & Soames toiletries in our larger rooms so your feedback is helpful.
We are confident that our pricing is consistent with current market forces and our competitors – in fact, the tariff for room 9 has not changed in the last 3 years so we believe the price you paid is fair.
We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and I apologise that I forgot to top up your coffee as promised – as you said, it was a very busy breakfast service and it slipped my mind whilst juggling other things but if you had flagged me down (or any of the other staff on duty at the time) we could easily have sorted that for you. Luckily, as you said, you came down to breakfast early on the Sunday morning before the hordes so it was easier for us to meet your needs promptly.
Being in the town centre, we are at the mercy of external forces regarding noise – especially if there happens to be a function on at The George Hotel further down the High Street. We are sorry that this impacted on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I am not a fan of B&B's when travelling on my own, but Fairlawn House is one of the exceptions. The room was quite spacious, with an en-suite bathroom.

Fairlawn House is located near the centre of Amesbury and very close to a good Indian restaurant.

The breakfast which you could order from a menu, was served in the nicely decorated cellar.

Wifi reception was OK throughout the place, but there was barely any reception in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed two nights in a family room on the first floor - a double bed for us and another full single bed for our daughter. It was exactly what we wanted. They were welcoming, helpful, and the hotel had a residents bar and lounge too. The breakfasts were awesome, too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay here and what a wonderful place. From the moment we were greeted we felt like we were in a special place. Its a glorious old building lovingly maintained by the owners. Our room was on the ground floor and was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. All of the staff we encountered were great and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a real highlight and served in a gorgeous cellar . If you are looking for a spa or boutique hotel this might not be for you however if you are looking for a great b and b with good old fashioned British service you'll love the fairlawn.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodles2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was excellent. The food was great. The near by Pubs were also great. The room was of decent size for Europe. We were in the top most room so the shower was a bit cramped. But who cares. You are only in the shower for 15 minutes. If we are ever back in the area. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cef25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
303 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn House

Address: 42 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range: £76 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawn House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairlawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn House Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing