We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Good Value, Excellent!”
Review of Fairlawn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairlawn House
Ranked #1 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, Good Value, Excellent!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A little belated review as we stayed at Fairlawn in June although I did leave a review on their booking website. The Fairlawn exceeded our expectations! Perfectly situated in the village which has several pubs, post office, various local businesses and very good Indian, Chinese and British restaurants all within walking distance of the Fairlawn. The Fairlawn has it's own charming little bar, open until,10pm, very reasonable prices and in a comfortable lounge with wifi! The village has a couple of 'sports pubs' which may not be to everyone's taste although we sampled each one ( from a purely research point of view of course!) and found the clientele in each to be very friendly. It does have a really nice Wetherspoons pub, The Bell. Wetherspoons has never been reputed to be the best of pub chains in certain areas but this one was fantastic! Each member of staff that we encountered was friendly and polite, food was very well presented and cooked as we ordered and it really was incredibly good value for money. The restaurant was clean as were the loos ( always a good sign!)

Visiting nearby Salisbury was an easy drive and Stonehenge was even closer.

Back to the Fairlawn... Rooms were very spacious and immaculate. Generous sized bathrooms. Beds were really comfortable with good quality linens. Breakfast was superb, Freda, our breakfast hostess had a lovely warm smile and couldn't do enough for us! Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and as much as we wanted. Freshly brewed coffee or tea topped it all off.. Lovely!
We enjoyed our stay so much, we have rebooked for September with some American friends who we know will love this little unspoilt corner of the south west and will particularly appreciate having a generous sized shower, not always possible in the UK because of the age or uniqueness of the B&B . Enough of my ramblings... Try it for yourself, Tracey, Keith and Freda will make you feel very welcome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SantenayKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    109
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
156
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a b&b in the village. It really should be a hotel with the facility's and services it has but i am sure it is better to be the top b & b than a lower graded hotel. Clean rooms and bathrooms, comfy beds, fab breakfast room in the converted celler( mind your head) and one of the best breakfast i have had in a long time. Plus they run a small bar in the evening if u dont fancy going to the local pub. I did and they are a " bit to local" !!! Parking is easy and free at the rear of the building. A very very pleasant place to stay all round.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank purserMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great place to stay before or after visiting Stonehenge. Breakfast was great and made to order. Good location for local pubs and shops, parking is provided. We booked a double room and on arrival we were told it was a double for one person and we had to pay a £10 supplement. The room was more than big enough for 2 people but please read the small print as it makes the room more expensive than you think.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Really great place. Friendly staff, clean and great breakfast. The breakfast dining area is a really great cellar type room. Cellar doesn't do it justice it's beautifully decorated.
Only downside is that they get booked up quickly.
A definite recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fairlawn House is well positioned between Salisbury and Stonehenge. Rooms are modestly decorated and clean. The third floor room had air conditioning because it is warm up in the eves. Other rooms had a fan available. Appears to be the best location of it's type in the area for the price. Free parking available around the corner. Breakfasts excellent. Tracey was lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I’m a very frequent visitor to Fairlawn House and it’s always my preferred residence of choice when I need to stay in the area (which I have done for almost 2 years).

It’s a medium-sized (14 room) family run establishment that offers a very friendly, relaxing environment. Nothing is too much trouble for Keith or Tracey, and they’re always willing to offer any assistance or stop for a chat (sometimes over a drink) in the comfortable quiet bar area.

Their children are sometimes around and are always very polite and well mannered.

I’ve probably stayed in every room and they’re all very clean and comfortable, with different features and facilities.

Top-tip: make sure you get down for breakfast, it’s a must-have treat!

It is by far the best establishment in the area within that price-range.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daz1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in June 2014.

We picked Amesbury as a half way point; we were driving from the Ebbsfleet international railway station over to Newquay, Corwall. Tourists normally stay in Amesbury to visit Stonehenge.

The hotel is in a one way street in the town centre. The street scape isn't pretty!

Fairlawn House is a hybrid of a B&B and a hotel. We stayed in room #8 on the first floor, about 15 steps up/down. The parking is a short walk around the side of the hotel to an open public parking area that includes spaces reserved for a medical center that Fairlawn patrons can use by displaying a ticket.

Although the rooms are non-smoking our room had a window in the bathroom and it was obvious that a smoker had used the bathroom to smoke.

The bed was firm and comfortable and the room clean. There were some "small" problems with the en-suite bathroom, e.g., no towel rails, the shower floor was a bit slippery but all was OK. Our room looked out onto the backyard of the building.

Breakfast was in the basement of the building and was delicious.

The staff were friendly.

Would we stay here again? No, struggling up stairs with baggage is something we try and avoid. If that's not an issue this hotel may be OK for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nigelbalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.0 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn House

Property: Fairlawn House
Address: 42 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawn House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairlawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn House Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing