We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One to avoid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One to avoid.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 1 prebooked Friday night en-route to Lymington for the Wightlink ferry.
The hotel exterior is quite well maintained. Our bed linen was fresh & clean.The water was hot. The courtesy tray was well stocked. and the breakfast .though nondescript, was adequate.Otherwise The George has NOTHING to recommend it.
The interior decor is dingy,depressing and outdated. The fading,scuffed wallpaper which appears to have been applied when Victoria was 'on the throne' is grubby and peeling. The tatty paintwork has obviously not seen a brush for decades. Our room, faced the rear courtyard with a view across a flat roof festooned with extension leads, a ladder propped against the wall, discarded empty fast-food containers and assorted builders rubbish.
It had 3 wooden sash windows,(1 of which was permanently jammed shut,) rickety wooden wardrobes (one of which contained a mountain of black fluff plus miscellaneous bedding screwed into an untidy heap and an Over Bath Shower which was Unusable due to a large chunk of china missing from the bath exposing black layers of ceramic filler. .
The sleep quality was dismal,Even the effects of Mattresses so old that every spring could be felt, and a noisy kitchen extractor fan clearly audible until late paled into insignificance when the pounding bass from the Sports Bar Disco kicked off. This was soon overpowered when the door giving access to the outdoor smoking area was opened. The courtyard immediately filled with the sound of raucously squealing females and loud mouthed men screaming obscenities at each other.This continued until after 3am when it was replaced with revving car engines,blaring in-car audio equipment,slamming doors and screeching tyres as they left.
Our experience the George is without a doubt, one of the worst hotel we have ever stayed at..













Our triple bedded room was on the first floor another of the tired and worn-out hotels which can be found in towns and cities all over the U.K.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t0wbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    65
    59
    41
    49
See reviews for
52
103
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stopped at the George in desperation, at the end of one of those long travel days when there wasn't a place to stay when you wanted to stop two hours earlier. We didn't expect much, and really didn't care. The available rooms were on the second floor, which we try to avoid because of the wife's bad knees and my back problem. We decided one flight of stairs was better than getting back in the car. Unfortunately, it was the first floor that was one floor up. The hotel, started as a 13th century coach house, is a little tired, despite remodeling. But our room was extremely quiet, the beds were good and the bathroom was fine. There was a very good breakfast, served with great speed. For 54 pounds, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This Hotel would be better described as A Pub with Rooms, or even a 'Coaching Inn' as the term Hotel generally suggests a better level of service. I usually find being asked to pay in advance for services I have not yet received is not usually a good thing, again not helped when told that I could have saved money if I had booked directly with the hotel. If Price is your main consideration, then this hotel may be for you, and the bed and bathroom were both clean. When visited the outside of the premises were undergoing a full repaint. It is to be hoped that they carry on with the refurbishment on the inside because it is certainly in need of a bit of an update and some T.L.C. Being on the first floor at the front of the building traffic noise from the High St below was a bit of a problem, as the windows was not double glazed, although the noise from the room next door was far worse, but this was not due to rowdy guests, the wall may as well have been made from paper as it certainly was not full of sound insulation. As soon as they put on their TV, I heard every word clearly, I first thought this was down to them watching it at high volume but I soon discovered that this was not the case when they turned it off as I could hear every word of their conversations and phone calls. It is not unknown for old building like this to have uneven floors, and some put this down as adding to the charm and character, maybe so, but in my room it was more unnerving and may come as an unpleasant surprise to the elderly or not so sure footed. The Evening Meal, can only be described as very basic pub food, when I first came down
the nights 'Special', some sort of curry, was already sitting on the hotplate and looked as though it had been there for some considerable time, I opted to go order of the menu instead, on the basis that at least it would be cooked fresh. It was hot and edible, although Ham Egg and Chips is not the most taxing meal for any kitchen. The Strawberry Trifle dessert was an education - it certainly taught me a lesson! I did not think anybody used tinned strawberries in the middle of August!!! it even came with an option of either custard, ice cream or cream and I foolishly opted for the latter, when it arrived it was covered with that horrible aerosol squirt cream so popular in the 80's and 90's - oh and a little jug of single cream - as requested!!!
Breakfast was ok, but not memorable in any way. When I checked out there were no staff present - why would there be , they already had my money! so I just popped my key in the letter box provided, I left only to find my car covered in wasps from a nearby nest, which maybe should have been removed.
Would I ever stay there again - No, not unless the inside is fully refurbished and the reviews considerably improve

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front and take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amesbury hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night (Friday). It's true the hotel is tired and a bit grubby and a really good deep clean wouldn't go amiss. That said the shower was hot, the bed was comfy and the breakfast more than sufficient to start the day, served piping hot and quickly. What spoilt our stay was the noise from downstairs in the bar. The beat from the disco bounced in our room and we were not directly above it either. The shouting and bad language from the revellers was soooo loud it made sleeping til 4am impossible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlibongoColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I booked in for a Friday night after a business meeting and being ready to spend Saturday on Salisbury Plain.
I had read the reviews but still booked as it was a good price for a room in this area. Staff are enthusiastic amateurs so you make allowances. Good sized car park if you get there before the evening trade. Room was OK though I never did get to open a shower gel sachet! Breakfast is good if not spectacular. Two bars are efficient rather than comfy and not very welcoming. Restaurant lacks atmosphere so I ate at Weatherspoons just round the corner.
Overall very good value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for one night recently having been unable to find accommodation anywhere else in the town, and not driving I didn't really have many options open to me.

I would rather have slept in a car if I had one - or possibly a park bench, which may have been cleaner and saved me money.

The room was disgustingly dirty. I don't think it had been vacuumed in weeks, if not months, the window didn't close properly, and there was a scaffold outside, the place was covered in cobwebs and given the ceiling was about 6inches above my head, it would have been perfectly possible for someone to reach these. On opening the curtains the next day, I found a moth - dead I thought, but obviously not as it had moved next time I looked.

Worse was to be found in the bathroom... Mould, cracked tiles in the shower, that I wasn't even going to try and use (decided it was a better option to wait until I could check into my usual hotel later in the day) when I even found cobwebs and grime by the side of the bathroom mirror.

I'm all for quirky, and old fashioned, but I at least expect something to be clean!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights whist working locally.
Check in was quick and painless. Shown to our rooms.
The rooms were basic but shower was Powerful and bed was comfy.
Breakfast was served quickly and was ample enough to get your day started.

This is an ideal place for workers like myself. Wouldn't suggest it for a romantic stay but for me it was good.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
3.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
7.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairlawn House
Fairlawn House
#1 of 3 in Amesbury
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Flat George Hotel 19 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing