We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is easy to find, plenty of parking and upon arrival we were upgraded to an executive room. Very spacious, nice toiletries, bathrobes and a tea tray with chocolate and biscuits. The breakfast was buffet style but you could have omelettes and poached eggs cooked to order. There is just once little point I would make and that is that there is no where to hang a ladies long evening dress so thus had to be laid on the bed the wardrobe is completely inadequate and would only accommodate a short length at best. If I was in the area again I would definitely stay here again. A great hotel at a great price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear acctim,

I am delighted to read your inspirational feedback on the hotel, it is great when we able to achieve our guests high aspirations. I note your comment about the length of the wardrobe and noted in our Executive Rooms there is draw space which reduces the length of the drop. On this occasion our Standard and Superior category of rooms may have been more appropriate as they have full length drops which would have accommodated your requirement.

As a lady getting ready for a night out I hope you found our excellent lighting and amount of full size mirrors adequate to your requirements. On behalf of my team at the hotel we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    362
    114
    41
    24
See reviews for
220
338
36
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Such a nice hotel and so close to Stonehenge. The best breakfast in the world and very helpful team. Everything was spot on clean and nice. I would definitely recommend it!!!!!! If you book your tickets few months ahead you will get a really good deal:) enjoy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank julinka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for such a lovely response, it is great to read your very warming response. I am delighted to read such excellent reviews about our breakfast product. Although biased as I work for the hotel I have to agree that we an excellent breakfast product and you will be challenged to find better in the local area.

On behalf of the hotel team we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Due to my work I stay away quite a few nights every week and because of my IHG membership, most of these nights tend to be at either Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza. Over the years I have slowly tried out most of the IHG offerings in the UK and now have a short mental list of the best hotels in the UK that IHG have to offer. I am glad to say that after my last few experiences at the Stonehenge Holiday Inn it has made it onto my shortlist of places to stay. Even though this hotel does not have a swimming pool and glamorous location it somehow manages to make you feel absolutely at home. All of the staff are fantastic and friendly, the food is amongst the best I have had in an IHG hotel and everything seems to run very smoothly. As per my title I would not be surprised to find out that this hotel had German management as all of the small details are taken care of. My room was immaculate, my food was impeccable, the staff were friendly but not intrusive and the hotel itself was flawlessly presented. Nice work guys!

Room Tip: The Exec rooms are awesome - well worth the upgrade fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DangerPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear DangerPainter,

Thank you for such a lovely response, I am delighted to note we have made it on to your shortlist of places to stay which is certainly an achievement based upon the number of hotels you reside in during a year.

I am blessed with a superb team at the hotel who not only keep the place nice and clean but in addition offer a very friendly welcome and some excellent cuisine. I encourage my colleagues to read Trip Advisor to understand what our valued clients are feeding back: at my daily briefing tomorrow I will certainly communicate your excellent feedback. In answer to your question there are no Germanys within the management team it is just good old fashioned British hospitality.

Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for a Friday evening recently. Upon arrival and as the hotel was not very busy the very nice lady on reception gave us a really warm and friendly welcome and very kindly upgraded our room to a deluxe one that was very comfortable.

Everyone we encountered from the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

The hotel looks to be quite new and has a very contemporary feel.

The breakfast was on a self serve basis and there was a wide range of both hot and cold foods on offer.

We enjoyed our short stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Sandman 1960,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a warming response following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that my receptionist was able to upgrade you to an Executive Room. It is great to hear you were welcomed with a very warm greeting as this encompasses what we are all about at the hotel. On behalf of the team we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Booked in on New Years Eve, with a party in the lounge in full swing. Receptionist was very welcoming & gave us a room away from the party even though we were visiting friends in Amesbury for New Year. Our room was warm, clean & cosy. Very quiet considering we were over looking the A303 & a party going on downstairs. Bed was very comfortable with a good choice of pillows so we had a very good night's sleep. Shower was very good with lots of soft towels. Breakfast was good, lots to choose from, freshly cooked & piping hot. Really enjoyed our stay, we felt very welcomed by staff when checking in. Then checking out next morning was a breeze. A New Year stay to remember.

Room Tip: No noise heard from the A303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Vivien105,

I am delighted to read you had a good stay with us; it is great to read your enthusiastic comments about the bedroom and your breakfast on New Year’s Day. I certainly hope you enjoyed your friend’s party and we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Spent New Years with a group of friends, room small but clean no complaints at all. The food for the evening meal was lovely and served by very friendly and able staff.

Now the negatives, the food was too slow to be served we were eating our main course as others had finished there desserts, we had to ask management where our pre ordered
Food was two hours after
Our starter had been served. It was them served immediately By the time some tables had eaten all three courses it was only half hour before
Midnight. The disco was poor didn't play the requests chose to play cheesy pop tunes. The whole event finished at one, far too early for a New Year's Eve do particularly when half the evening was
Spent waiting for meals, so on the whole disappointing they need to sort out someone who can organise large
Parties and the food service. Not just
Have general manager walking about, may have helped if tables were assigned a waiter/waitress.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Billiem47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear belinda41,

I am delighted you chose the Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge to celebrate the New Year’s Festivities; I have noted your positives about my excellent team and the quality of the food. I am deeply sorry that there were negatives from your prospective on this occasion.

I appreciate there was a sizable number attending the event however I can assure you that all guests were served dessert by 10pm at the very latest, I was on duty myself that night and the kitchen brigade we gone shortly after 10pm following closedown of the kitchen. I must stress that there were no tables eating dessert whilst your starter was being served, I agree there were tables being served dessert whilst others were on main course, this was due to us operating a staggered service to ensure we could commence evening proceedings at a reasonable time.

I note your comments about the DJ and this is something myself the hotel Operations Manager will continue to review, when you have a large number in attendance it can prove difficult to facilitate each individual music request and as the DJ has assured me he has to play the tunes which are getting people on to the dance floor.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future and I thank you for your very constructive feedback.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was the first time had entered a Holiday Inn car park through a truck stop but the hotel was no worse for this once I found the entrance. Nice place and I was given roon number 1 - which was close to the reception area but I did not suffer any noise. Staff were friendly. Room was not big but as usual in HI, it was just the job for a good night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mercedesmadman,

Thank you for your recent response, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be of a good standard. I appreciate your comments about arriving through a fuel station however once you are on property there are no views out to this establishment. Great comments about the room.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Property: Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Address: Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing