We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Holiday Inn are one of my favoured hotel chains and this one serves to remind me why.

It is in a highly convenient but easy to find location. Check in was flawless as was the standard of the room. The bed was comfy and the choice of pillows always welcome. I was on the second floor which was very quiet.

Adjacent to the hotel is a garage. It is not remotely intrusive although the one way system around it did seem to confuse a couple of people.It has a well stocked 24hr coop shop for odds and sods. At the far end of the site are several eateries if you fancy a change from the hotel restaurant. Speaking of the hotel restaurant, the breakfast was excellent. Plentiful and of high quality.

The pre booked room rate made the costs of staying very reasonable. I'm back on the area later this month and providing the room rate can be repeated will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Davedit,

Great to read such an excellent review, I am delighted to hear so many positives reference your stay. On behalf of the team we very much look forward to welcoming you back later this month.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Bit late writing this review! We stayed here for the New Year party. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was nice and clean. The party was excellent both the food and entertainment. We just had a great time. Happy!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Helen3333,

It is never too late to write a review on Trip Advisor especially if it is a lovely as yours. I am delighted you had a great New Year’s Eve with us. Having been on duty that night I clearly remember a great party night with excellent food and our guests having a superb time.

It is not too early to book for 2014, when you are ready my colleague Vivien will be delighted to explain our theme this year.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel was extremely convenient to Stonehenge. There really isn't too much out that direction so this area was a welcome relief to arrive to after a long day. The best part about it is the people that work there. Check-in was quite quick and the wonderful lady on duty at the front desk provided us with tons of information about the area that she was pulling offline and printing out for us to take a look at. Excellent customer service!! Our waitress at the restaurant (blonde, sweet Irish girl whose name I unfortunately can't remember so that I can give her credit) went out of her way to make sure that we were well taken care of after a delay in getting seated once we put our name on the list. The restaurant was very good and the bar was very nice as well. The only change that I would suggest is to provide free wifi in all areas, not just in the bar/restaurant. Other than that small thing, it was excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear jshn1,

I am delighted to read such a warming response following your recent stay at the hotel, it is a pleasure to hear how welcoming and accommodating my team were. I shall personally thank Caroline (blond lady) in the restaurant for her commitment to you during your stay. We have a great reception team here at the hotel and I pleased you were able to enjoy an efficient and friendly welcome.

Noted your comment about internet access in the bedrooms, from July all levels of IHG Rewards Club will be able to benefit from free internet access, for non-members all they need to do is join the programme and the Wi-Fi or Ethernet access to our system will be free of charge.

I certainly hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Convenient hotel for our trip to stonehenge, had all the things we needed for a pleasant stay-comfy bed, bathrobes, and a fab breakfast-I was full 'til dinner! Only quibble are no wifi in rooms and would've liked to have checked in an hour earlier, but overall a good stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank S-Rtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear GaryMBR,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warming review following your recent stay with us; I am delighted we created so many worthy points to note. I am lucky to manage a great team at the hotel who embrace the needs of our valued guests at all points of their stay.

From July I am delighted to say that Internet access in the hotel will be complimentary to all IHG Reward Club members, for those who are not members they can enrol at reception and start earning points in addition to have access to great high speed internet access with immediate effect.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

First stay at thislocation, very impressed. Met by friendly staff, and the hotel itself was very clean, tidy with fantastic contemporary styling. Check-in duly done in no time, room found to be tidy and spacious with good facilities.
A special mention for the Solstice Bar and Grill - superb venue, great food (my cajun chicken and dessert was excellent, well cooked/seasoned and presented well) - certainly a cut above some hotel restaurants I have visited recently.
Ample on-site parking, and the only slight dissapointment was no free WIFI in room, and had to use the comfy loungers in the bar. A minor quibble.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryMBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted with your excellent comments about our hotel and in particular the food in our award winning restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

An excellent Holiday Inn. We were upgraded to an Exec Room on arrival which was great. It had all the facilities you could need - ironing board,iron,bathrobes,safe,minibar,hairdryer,Tea tray etc. It had panoramic windows and a lovely view of the praying man. We had a great flatscreen TV with sofa and a nice big,modern bathroom. The hot water did take a while to heat up but the bathroom was lovely.

This Holiday inn is situated in Solstice Park. There is also a Harvester pub, KFC & Pizza Hut. On the 19th Feb Mcdonalds and Costa Coffee open so there are alternatives to the Hotel food/bar on your doorstep. There is also a Co op at the Petrol station.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the room upgrade. There are many facilities in the local area including our award winning restaurant which we hope you will use next time you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Don't arrive before 3 pm - the hotel wanted to charge me £20 to checkin 55 minutes early. I am a long standing Platinum member but this was disregarded. This is greedy madness - a charge of over £1 per 3 minutes room use. I stay at many Holiday Inns and never had this experience before. I could not see this information anywhere on the hotel website when booking but the staff showed if to me under frequently asked questions. Needless to say I will be not be staying here again, and not planning to dine in the restaurant or drink in the bar.
I protested about this but the receptionist would not compromise. Yet she offered me a full refund of an advance booking if I did not want to stay at the hotel because of this charge - prepared to be flexible here on something that is usually a complete no go. Knowing that a precedent has been set for a cancellation if you do not want to stay here due to this charge should enable you to cancel fairly easily at this hotel.
To me this shows that they are not too bothered for business and don’t understand what a full service Holiday Inn should offer, as part of the room rate and the sort of customer service that guests expect.

Room Tip: There is no pool or gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theairtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the early check in charges. The standard arrival time is 3pm however for those guests wishing to arrive outside of this time we provide an early arrival service which allows guests to check in from 12 noon . There is a small fee of £20 for this . For those guests not wishing to use this service we are happy to store their luggage .
We highly value our IHG members - offering a complimentary late check out service ,free internet and a range of offers presented at check in.
We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
332 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
320 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
7.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Address: Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing