We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not the best ...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel was overpriced for the quality of the rooms. We stayed two nights. Some of the staff were very friendly ... others not so welcoming. Beware as some of the rooms don't include breakfast. Don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear COwheels,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the overall value of our hotel. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    347
    109
    38
    23
See reviews for
207
323
35
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location. My friend and I got a taxi from the hotel to the drop off point which is about a thirty minute walk away from Stonehenge. The room I stayed in was spacious, clean and had everything I needed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Natalie O,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a rewarding review on Trip Advisor, I am delighted to read your comments which seem to highlight a great stay. Although extremely biased I must agree with your comments about our breakfast which in my opinion is certainly the best in town.

On behalf of the team we cannot wait to welcome you back in the not too distant future and our chef cannot wait to prepare one of his speciality Omelettes fresh to your personal requirements.

Enjoy the summer

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Common areas are not clean. Room was shabby and not kept clean. Do not allow front desk staff to per-approve deposit on your credit card. They are quick to put hold but will not release the hold on time. I called the front desk and are not helpful at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mahinder S,

Thank you for your response following what reads as a disappointing experience. Within my capacity as Hotel Director/General Manager I check the cleanliness levels of the public areas and guest bedrooms daily and I have never had reason to question the levels of cleanliness which are first class. Throughout our numerous reviews on Trip Advisor you will see a pattern of guests congratulating us on the cleanliness of the hotel which is certainly high.

Without further detail I am not going to enter into discussion about the pre-authorisation on your payment card.

I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future for what I hope will be a better stay.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you are visiting Stonehenge this is the best place to stay & purchase your ticket to Stonehenge.
We had a lovely stay. We booked Room evening meal & Breakfast, The food was some of the best we have had with this type of deal. The staff couldn't do enough for us and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Paul G,

I am really pleased to see you had a great stay with us and thank you for taking the opportunity to dine in our award winning Solstice Bar & Grill which has developed a great reputation locally for use of mouth-watering home cooked classical dishes.

Our Stonehenge Package is a great way to ensure a comfortable night’s sleep in our modern furnished rooms, plus dinner and breakfast inclusive of entrance to the mythical structure that is Stonehenge.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Decided to stay here because our previous experiences of Holiday Inns has been extremely good. We drove down from Scotland on Sunday June1st, having booked the hotel some weeks before. We had no difficulty in finding the hotel which was the only plus point.
Check in at reception was over familiar with the receptionist on duty using only my christian name and not including the surname. We were told that we were being given an upgrade to a superior room, if this was a superior room then I dread to think what an ordinary room is like.
The bed was uncomfortable and hard to the extent that it bruised my wife's shoulder, neither of us got much sleep that night.
The restaurant and bar were clean and the staff helpful, but the food was disappointing, just wished we had not bothered but had walked the short ditance to the fast take-aways down the road.
A massive distribution centre is being built opposite and I guess this hotel will cater for the truck drivers when it opens.
Overall this hotel is more like a poor travel lodge than a prestigous Hoiday Inn.

Room Tip: Look for another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnsidenigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear burnsidenigel,

I am really disappointed to read your review of the hotel which demonstrates on this occasion a very disappointing stay.

As leader of the business I encourage my team always to use the guests name when in conversation, I apologise on this occasion if we were too familiar; I personally prefer being called by my first name as I find it more informal and it is nice that the team member has the confidence to address in this manor; however I certainly appreciate your concerns.

Bed comfort levels are always a personal choice and all I can comment here is the bed stock we use is approved by IHG and carries the Royal Crest. I am sorry to read your food was disappointing, I have asked my chef to address this with the kitchen team on duty on the 1st June; generally we are complimented for the level of cuisine we serve so I am saddened to read your comments on this occasion.

I sincerely hope this experience will not deter you from using other IHG properties and brands as we offer a really great product with distinguished service.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was forced to stay at this hotel because I couldn't get a room at my usual one. Much nearer to where I needed to be. Wasn't sure if it would suit, it's right along side the A303 within the new Soltice service area. What a nice experience it turned out to be. I had reserved and exec room which was at the high end of the budget at £175 inc plus breakfast. The welcome at reception was warm and everything was explained. Gave me the key and off I went to my room. Opened the door to an exceptional room - really exceptional. The whole wall was glass curving around and facing East. I'll say again, this was an exception room and will tempt me back. I stayed at the time of a major car race meeting at Thruxton and I would think this would definitely be the place if you were visiting there. A great nights sleep, no noise from the road or service area intruded, left me refreshed. I had a choice for breakfast but chose to eat here and again was not disappointed. Nice welcome, great staff and a great breakfast. As said the location doesn't fit well with my travels but where I normally pass by and stop fairly locally for breakfast, I asked if it was possible to stop here instead. Was told I'd be very welcome.
Almost forgot - good wi-fi

Room Tip: If the cost is acceptable try the exec rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mike E,

I am really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and better still this was as a result that you could not get into your first choice hotel. Thruxton weekends are peak time for us, so note your rate was on the high side, however outside on an event you are certainly likely to pick-up a more competitive rate.

I am note your excellent comments on our restaurant/breakfast, Executive Room and the welcome my team provided, I am extremely lucky to have a top notch team who offer a truly first class service which is often reflected on by my guests.

As a regular visitor to the area we cannot wait to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We often come to Salisbury and on this occasion stayed at the Holiday Inn Stonehenge .was clean and bright and had a very modern feel to it.without a car possibly not as easy to get to. Fortunately we had hired a car .Salisbury a short drive away and a lovely town to visit. Very much worth the stay !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandAGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear TandG Getaway,

Thank you for sharing your excellent comments following your recent stay; it is great to read you had a good stay with us. Not only are we close to Salisbury but also so many wonderful sites and attractions in Hampshire, Wiltshire and Dorset; not to mention Stonehenge.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for another great stay.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Property: Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Address: Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing