We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in Salisbury for cricket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“3 nights in Salisbury for cricket”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

About 10 minutes from the centre of Salisbury on a business park, this modern hotel was adequate for our needs. Bedrooms rather on the small side and the mattresses could do with replacing. No obvious breakfast menu, buffet on a take it or leave it basis. Overall a clean and well located hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your recent feedback, I pleased to see our location was convenient and generally you had a good stay. I have noted your comments about our mattresses which were a surprise as we tend to get great reviews about guest having an excellent night’s sleep.

Our mattresses are manufactured by a leading supplier who holds the Royal Crest, we have an ongoing programme of upgrade to ensure our bed stock remains of a high level, in addition we regularly turn the mattresses over to ensure comfort levels remain.

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    349
    112
    40
    23
See reviews for
210
328
35
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you don't need to be in Salisbury or Andover and are staying nearby, this is the best hotel around for some miles. The service is great and attentive and you get more than the usual service at the travelodge or premier inn - this Holiday Inn is well placed at the top end of the market. It is not a four/five star but "high three star".

To get a good rate book early though as last minute will see you paying upwards of £100 a night, possibly £125 for a weekend. In my view this is an £70-80 hotel maximum but it is often busy, and with the service and well appointed bar/restaurant I am not surprised. Many people come here for business meetings/lunch too which is a good indicator of its pedigree.

Room Tip: Great for local area away from Salisbury - book early to get a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattPWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear MattPWilson,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate the great experience you recently had with us. As you have highlighted we benefit from a great location between Salisbury & Andover in addition to being moments away from Stonehenge.

I am delighted to say we have been accredited 4 star recognition from the AA and hold one Rosette in our Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. On behalf of the team I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent two nights at the holiday inn. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful on the desk and at the bar. Location great as several eateries on retail park. And close to Stonehenge. Only slight complaint was they could have done with one or two more staff at breakfast as food and juice ran out but was eventually replaced. The hotel was very busy on the two mornings we had breakfast

Room Tip: Fab for Stonehenge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Darren C,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with us, It is a pleasure to read your comments which highlight so many positive points, I am extremely lucky to have a great reception and bar/restaurant team how always deliver a first class service. I have noted your point about breakfast and I agree that there maybe peak times at breakfast whereby we get tested especially over weekends; however we always provide support from other departments if the need arises.

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I used this hotel as a stopover point to break up a business trip and was pleased that I did. The hotel is relatively new, having been built to service the still evolving Solstice Park business area near Boscombe Down. As such the hotel has a fresh and clean appearance – a little impersonal in some ways – but comfortable nonetheless.

The reception staff were welcoming and polite and check-in and check-out were handled efficiently and courteously.

The room was pretty much as you would expect; clean, tidy and well equipped with a nice piece of Stonehenge artwork to add a touch of interest to the otherwise fairly bland walls. Newer hotels tend to be fairly formulaic in the layout and fitting of their bedrooms, but this one was a pretty good example of the type. It wasn’t the biggest room I have ever had, but neither was it at all cramped and if you were staying for a few days, there was plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable and the remote controlled air conditioning unit was welcomingly effective. Nice sized desk area with easy access to power points.

I didn’t try the restaurant for an evening meal, so can’t comment on the food, other than to say that the menu looked pretty good and was sensibly priced. If you don’t fancy the hotel restaurant, there are a selection of fast foot places within easy walking distance, along with a fairly well stocked convenience store in the filling station nearby.

I did try the restaurant for breakfast and found it to be pleasant and comfortable. The breakfast was a fairly standard buffet style affair, but the food was good and overall the breakfast made for a pleasant start to the day.

Prices seem to vary quite a lot at this hotel and I was fortunate enough to get a very good, breakfast inclusive rate this time, but even ‘normal’ prices for this hotel represent reasonable value for money and I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPGDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear JPGDean,

I am delighted to read your excellent commentary about the hotel which highlights so many great points about us overall. I am lucky to have a great reception and housekeeping team who do a first class job in efficiently welcoming our guests and keep our rooms fresh, clean and inviting to our guests.

I am pleased you experienced breakfast with us, although biased on my behalf I personally think we have the best breakfast fayre in Wiltshire. On your next visit I really encourage you to dine with us in the Solstice Bar and Grill, rest assured you won’t be disappointed.

Have a great summer and thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for the fourth time. We had an executive room which we found to be even better than we had expected. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We ate in the restaurant once and enjoyed our dinner thoroughly, good quality food and well presented. The staff as usual were very polite, helpful and efficient. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karmathanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear karmathanu,

I would personally like to thank you for a lovely response which highlights so many positives following your stay. As regular guest who has visited us 4 times it is great to read you keep returning and your experiences get better and better. I am pleased you took the opportunity to dine in our Solstice Bar and Grill restaurant which is certainly the jewel in our crown. I am extremely lucky to have a great restaurant and kitchen team who provide mouth-watering cuisine with friendly efficient service.

Our executive rooms have super views over Salisbury Plain which makes them a must when you visit. Again we have a world class housekeeping team who do their utmost to ensure the rooms meet all our guests requirements.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is located beside the main route to the south-west of england (A303) and so is perfect if you want somewhere convenient to stay. Reception described their location as 'rural' - it is far from that! It is better described as an up-market motel, located in the middle of a service station on the A303 and beside a building site (that does work on Sundays!). It is a long way from Salisbury and not really walking distance from anywhere except the fast food outlets next door (that you have to drive through to reach the hotel).
On the plus side, the rooms are functional. Everything worked as expected! The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was crowded at 9.30am and the queue to sit down was some 10 minutes at least! The food was good however.

Room Tip: Take a room high up and not over-looking the A303 or, ideally the building site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotinLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ScotinLondon1,

I am pleased to read you found the hotel to be functional and the room was fully equipped to meet your needs, I am also delighted to read your great comments about breakfast however I am sorry to see there was a delay in seating you. Having read your comments I believe you came last Sunday morning for breakfast and due to the size of a large party maybe being a lot slow to leave we peaked at 9.30am which caused us a delay in turning tables around for the next sitting.

You have described our location convenient to stay which I agree it certainly is for exploring Wiltshire and Hampshire or a good resting point for guests travelling east/west. Located just minutes from Stonehenge and only 8 miles from Salisbury the location is great for so many reasons.

I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great overnight stay, very spacious comfortable hotel. We were upgraded on our second stay .
Restaurant attractive, and food really good , really recommend it. Good free internet connection .ample free car parking

Room Tip: Ask for room with a bath to be upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear 30Maggie,

Thank you for your brief synopsis on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read your stay was good and thank you for sharing so many positives. I am pleased to see you were able to dine in our Solstice Bar & Grill Restaurant and again thank you for sharing your excellent comments about the food. It was great to welcome you back for a second time; I cannot wait to see you on your third visit.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
278 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
755 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Property: Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Address: Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Amesbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing