We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Durrington Walls

Durrington Walls
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Little publicised site and well worth the visit. Stunning view from Woodhenge. Peaceful site and fascinating to imagine how it looked all those years ago. Plus The Cuckoo Stone.

Helpful?
Thank MancLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit and a walk around”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Durrington Walls is worth a visit if you are interested in the history of the area. It helps to have done a bit of reading first, but if not there are information boards around that will help to give you an idea of what you are looking at and how it fits into the whole story of the ancient Wiltshire landscape. We took the National Trust's recommended walk across the fields to see the Cuckoo stone, the Cursus and the Kings Barrows. It's a lovely walks and gives you a great view of Stonehenge from a distance too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicesoapdoesmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day trip”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect day for a picnic and with 3 young children we started at Woodhenge then Durrington and finished at Stonehenge. We took a long some art stuff and made models of Wood and Stonehenge. We took a long a book, Stonehenge landscape, it explained about our history and what happened all around. We spent some time making dens and thinking about how they lived and ate. If you don't have a book the information boards are full of great information and ideas. It's a great way to teach yourself and children about history and the story of life. No matter your age, your imagination will be tested. Never a one place visit, I will be going back a lot more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harperfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fascinating, but needs investment to tell you more”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Come on! English Heritage and the National Trust need to make a bit more of this amazing site and area. If you have a few minutes you should go. It's very different to Stonehenge. A bit like the Egyptian Pyramids, it's the workers and community that makes the interesting finds, and has the fewest visitors. Evidence is growing about the importance of this site, so let's hope it will eventually get some facilities it deserves. Otherwise, get out there and take some walks to find sites linked to Stonehenge or indeed it's ancestors.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank El S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Ancient History”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We visited this location, while in the area to see Stonehenge and Wood Henge. Such an old site, so much so that it is difficult to comprehend. Lovely to see the old site(s), and to look right down onto the nearby River Avon. A pity, however, that the local authority elected to run a road through this site ! Plenty of information here, in the form of signposts and boards.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durrington Walls also viewed

Amesbury, Wiltshire
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Durrington Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing