We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful......you must stay here!”
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My partner & I stayed in the Chestnut Suite (the one with the balcony over looking the walled gardens & pool!)......The room was lovely and bright, very clean and well presented. Beechfield House was everything you could expect of a country house hotel and more. The decor was very good, facilities excellent and all the staff were very friendly with no exceptions. We ate there on each of the three nights of our stay and the food was outstanding with every attention to detail and presentation and all was expertly overseen by the Maitre-dee Adrian who is a real asset to the hotel. The breakfasts were excellent too. Just what was required after a refreshing swim in the heated pool. Overall this place would take some beating!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thanks so much for such a great review. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Beechfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here quite recently for a private function. The house is a beautiful building surrounded by perfectly manicured gardens. The main areas of the hotel are very attractive, and the staff were helpful.

I was a little surprised by the quality of the food at the event I attended, some lacklustre sandwiches, bits of chicken, barely thawed prawns - and what appeared to be the left-over Yorkshire puddings featured in the buffet. (NB, The hostess seemed quite happy, not sure if I would be though).

I stayed in Yew. The bedroom itself was pretty modern - spotlessly clean, and lovely bedding.

However I was unable to enjoy a peaceful night of slumber! The bedroom is illuminated with light pollution from the exit sign in the bedroom, and and infestation of ladybirds buzzing around the room ensured far less sleep than I'd hoped for!! On waking in the morning was rewarded with water pressure in the shower that was little more than a dribble.

The website suggested far more than we received, pity really - splendid venue let down by details that should not exist.

Room Tip: Not Yew, unless you like Ladybirds!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bishopsgate3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review following your recent stay for a party being held at Beechfield House. I was very sorry to hear that things weren't fully to your liking however we received the following card from the hosts showing a very different viewpoint:

To Jean-Luc and the amazing team at Beechfield,
Sincere thanks for all your efforts in making my 40th the very special event it was. I had a complete ball as did all of my family and friends, thanks in no small measure to your hard work and hospitality. We wouldn’t hesitate to organise another event with you (perhaps my 50th!!!)
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked afternoon tea for four and we loved the whole experience. The Hotel was clean, and the staff all very welcoming. We had a room to ourselves and the table was laid with beautiful, crisp clean cloth and matching napkins (not paper!). The staff arrived with two, three tier stands and asked what tea or beverage we wished. There was a very nice selection of sandwiches and plenty for four of us. The scones were still warm from the oven and the strawberry jam tasted home made which with the clotted cream was delicious. The on the top tier was a selection of four petit fours each! Wow we were so full we didn't need to eat later in the day. The staff asked if we needed more tea or hot water and we were not hassled to hurry or leave the hotel. Will be booking this treat again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AuntieVal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments about our full afternoon tea - we do try to make it a real treat at Beechfield House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have just returned from our daughters wedding....what a FANTASTIC day everyone had, the setting is lovely, food fab, rooms luxurious,and the staff are always there to help out with a smile,...special thanks to Jean Luc for helping Sam create her perfect wedding day! I would highly recommend Beechfield House to anyone looking for an ideal wedding venue. SO many thanks to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy12332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for a wonderful review - so glad to hear that all the wedding celebrations went so well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Beechfield Hotel on our trip around Southern England. The staff were great, and the reception and kitchen staff in particular who arranged for the kitchen to prepare a meal for our arrival as we were delayed in traffic. The breakfast next morning was great as well, and our girls quite enjoyed swimming in the pool.

The room we stayed in was fine, a little bit small but they did a nice job of getting some rollaway beds in. What was a disappointment was the bathroom, there was mold on the caulking of the bathroom and shower, which wasn't particularly attractive. When I enquired about the state of the bathroom, I was informed that the hotel is in the middle of updating their rooms and renovating the bathrooms, but we weren't given this choice when we were booking.

My suggestion is to ask for a refurbished room when booking - hopefully they won't have this mold issue and you'll get a more modern room for your stay.

Room Tip: My suggestion is to ask for a refurbished room when booking - hopefully they won't have this mol...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We have now refurbished all the bedrooms with the remaining bathrooms planned in for next January/February.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Only stayed here for 2 nights on business in Sept 2013, but would be happy to return and recommend to others. Comfortable, country-design rooms are a good size, as well as being clean and clearly recently refurbished. As with many hotels of this ilk, the morning shower pressure was weak - just enough to use but hardly worth complaining about; and the staff would be well to remember a more relaxed service style may well be more appropriate than stiff and overly formal.

That said, this is a well-run hotel (exemplified in the orange juice that's properly fresh at breakfast time!) with a good bar and a la carte food menu. Well done! If only there were more like you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j1mb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments and for posting the lovely photos. We are fully upgrading the hot water system this month - the order was confirmed yesterday - so poor water pressure will be a thing of the past v soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here with my fiancee as part of my 30th birthday celebration and was very pleased with the hotel. The room we had was an upgraded one and it included a four poster bed with a good amount of space within the room. The hotel was quiet and comfortable and provided a great night's sleep in a very comfy bed. We also ate in the hotel on the Saturday evening which was excellent. There was a great selection and it was well presented, not to mention very tasty! They certainly didn't stint on the portion size or on the flavours. The breakfast is also excellent and it makes a change to be able to select from a menu and have it cooked fresh rather than having to use a buffet! Definitely recommend this if your looking for an independent hotel in the North Wilts. area/near Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capt_tuBBymAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for a great review - so glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
6.8 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
672 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
863 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
608 reviews
5.9 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
4.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Address: Beanacre | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range: £116 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Beanacre, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing