We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the beechfield for 2 nights as a relaxing getaway. Really enjoyed it. We stayed in one of the premium rooms in the main house w a four poster bed and everything felt suitably luxurious! We got a pretty good deal with one of the winter warmer packages. The food in the restaurant was very nice although the menu was maybe a little limited if u were going to b eating there more than once. However when we mentioned that we were not terribly hungry one night they offered to cook us something from the bar menu instead which was nice. The bar was nice with a very very convincing pretend log fire. It convinced me to consider getting one and I am not into gas fires! The spa was nice although the treatments were very expensive. The staff were very courteous and knew us by name which was nice. We were late arriving the first night and they kept the restaurant open for us. My husband has a feather allergy and they quickly replaced the pillows. I know some people have moaned that the hypo allergenic pillows were less luxurious, but at least they had them as an alternative! Overall we were really pleased with our stay and would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments. Following your feedback I will however review our provision of non feather pillows and upgrade these to the same quality as our others asap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    120
    43
    22
    6
See reviews for
195
308
8
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Myself my partner and 12 year old daughter have just returned (19th February 2014) from a 3 night stay at Beechfield House Hotel and have had an amazing break.
The drive in alone looks impressive and driving past the house to park had me excited and I knew we had come to the right place. The grounds are beautiful with spectacular trees, an orchard, a swimming pool for summertime, a patio and even a vegetable garden underway, preparing to produce veg for the kitchens.
Check in was efficient and easy. We were shown to our room and offered help with our luggage. We stayed in BIRCH, (All rooms are named after trees)This was a family room with a large super-king bed and a small sofa bed for our daughter. The décor was contemporary with greys and creams. A very comfy room with tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary water and biscuits etc, all replenished daily. The bathroom was recently updated with slate flooring, white walls, fluffy white towels and robes and toiletries. Very simple but clean lines. there was an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer, so great for those who wish to travel light. Beds were made up daily and towels changed and the room was left looking as if we'd just arrived on each return .We were warm and cosy both in our room and around the hotel.
Dining was very good at Beechfield, giving an option to chose from the main dining menu or the bar menu in the evening. We had a couple of dishes from the bar menu which were huge but very tasty and another from the main menu which was equally delicious. Desserts were lovely too. Try the pear and almond tart if it's on offer. Mmm! Breakfast was good also, with selections of cooked breakfast, full English, kippers, toast. Also a selection of cereal, fruit croissants, pain au chocolat and more, from the buffet, along with fresh juices teas and coffees. There is an option for afternoon tea at a reasonable price, about £15 I think. we didn't try this but many people did during our stay.
The treatment room is a must. I had a taster facial which was so wonderful, I wish I'd had chance to try more treatments. The therapist(Tina I believe) had a gentle touch and left my skin feeling fabulous and me feeling relaxed.
The staff were very friendly and attentive. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. They would chat and just made us feel welcome and at home at all times. The hotel even gained it's fourth star during our stay.
Overall Beechfield House Hotel is an amazing retreat to which I wouldn't hesitate to return. Hopefully that will be soon. A huge thank you to all the staff for making our break so special

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingswoods2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What great feedback - similar to that given by the AA inspector here at the same time as you when we achieved our fantastic four star rating with a fabulous score of 87%. Hope you come again soon - perhaps when the pool is reopened from end of March and heated to 85F. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and would love to return. The pool was good for swimming in and surrounded by the most beautiful gardens. Excellent service, wonderful food, and superb consideration for our special dietary needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGG201187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Since your stay we have made further improvements - put in a new pressurised hot water system and nine new bathrooms in the main house. Hope to see you back in 2014. Many thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed at beechfield for one night with other colleagues. When I pulled into the grounds I was pleasantly surprised by the apperance of the hotel. We were dealt with in reception efficiently considering 9 of us turned up together. My room was situated in the old coach house and was modern but in keeping with the building. We dined in the library as a group and the food was beautiful,we sampled local ciders in the bar which were reasonably priced. I slept well even though the bed was huge!! Breakfast was set out nice and our cooked items were ready within minutes of ordering.i will definitely stay at beechfield again but as a romantic break with my fiancé.keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise2497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks you for such a comprehensively positive review. Also since your visit we have made further improvements and now have a completely new pressurised hot water system in the main house and also completed the replacement of nine new bathrooms in January. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully with your fiancé next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

On the 27th September 2013 my husband and I said "I do" followed by a traditional afternoon tea. Our wedding was everything we hoped it would be. All the staff were very attentive even though it was a small wedding. We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at Beechfield House for making our wedding perfect with such fond memories.

Room Tip: Any room is a delight with lovely countryside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many congratulations on your wedding. Thank you for your lovely feedback. Hopefully we will see you back for your first anniversary if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My mother celebrated her 90th Birthday party at Beechfield house last Sunday and it was fantastic. We had 32 family members for sunday lunch in a private room and it was a great venue for such an event. The food was exceptionally good and plentiful. The kitchen also provided very tasty meals for guests with allergies. The staff were very professional, friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them. There was a warm and relaxed atmosphere throughout.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMarcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
It was an honour to host such a special occasion for your Mother - thank you for entrusting her 90th birthday celebrations to us and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our family of 5 booked late for a lazy Sunday package on 3/4 November 2013... we were delighted with the warm welcome we received; the spacious family room overlooking the courtyard and swimming pool; the restaurant with its superb locally-sourced menu, attentive staff and relaxed ambience; and the swimming pool which was kindly kept heated for the last Sunday of the 'season'. Particularly appreciated was the option for half portions and simple supper options on dinner menu for children, served alongside the adults' dinner. Breakfast was superb. Spa treatment also rated highly by A. Location ideal: close to M4; easy access to Bath, and right next to the National Trust's Lacock village.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We believe we are a great family friendly hotel and it was lovely to read your kind comments. The outdoor pool opens again at the end of next month and as always will be heated to 85F!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
6.8 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Property: Beechfield House
Address: Beanacre | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Beanacre, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing