We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“60th Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“60th Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Beechfield, the first 2 being wedding receptions for 2 of our daughters. This time was to celebrate my 60th Birthday and we booked a private room for the meal and several bedrooms for the night. We had a lovely time - perfect setting, great service and very good food. Thanks again to all at Beechfield House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing us for another very important family celebration - so glad to hear you had a wonderful 60th birthday staying over and enjoying private dining. We look forward to your next visit hopefully not before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    118
    42
    21
    5
See reviews for
191
300
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My partner treated me to a 'Champagne Afternoon Tea' as a birthday treat and I would really recommend it. We were greeted at the doors to hotel by a friendly smile and a warm welcome and shown to our table. The food was delicious, fresh and well presented. I particularly enjoyed the scones which were warm and crumbled in your mouth. The champagne on ice was a nice touch. After our tea we enjoyed a stroll around the grounds, which was lovely in the afternoon sunshine, and had a drink on the terrace which overlooked the outside pool. Overall, the service was great, the food was on point and it was an enjoyable afternoon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
What a super review - thank you and a belated Happy Birthday! It was lovely to hear how you enjoyed your Champagne Afternoon Tea and then made the most of the lovely sunny weather with a wander round the grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for the second time and realised why I never went back.

Whilst the room was comfortable and the bed provided a nice sleep, there were just a few annoying things, having a room on the ground floor and it being rather hot I had to open the window but I do not feel safe leaving the ground floor windows open all night.

The bathroom lights are also on a sensor, sit too long and lights out, go in the middle of the night and your blinded.

The wifi again wasn't working same as 2 years ago, come on you advertise it then its still not working and your claiming the same things as the last time.

Then to crown it off they took a deposit, in this day and age who does that when they have the card in the first place, but then I paid on card and they popped a surcharge on the card in the transaction and then told me. I also wanted to understand why they were asking me to pay a ridiculously large surcharge for AMEX, these days the difference tends to be small between visa and amex, not 2% and over, I thought you could only cover the actual costs incurred not make a profit.

All in all I will not be staying here again, other placed in the area will do.

Most of this is trivial but it was just annoying.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor in summer to feel secure otherwise you have to have open windows to stay cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for the comments/feedback given.
We do use sensor lights in our coach house rooms to reduce energy wastage and I am so sorry that these were not to your liking.
A new wifi system was installed in March giving close to 100% coverage across all areas of the buildings, terrace and pool area - again I am sorry that you didn't notice a huge improvement on the old system.
It isn't actually unusual to take a deposit ( which in our case is refundable) and our surcharge for Amex payments doesn't fully cover their charges which you may not be aware are very high for businesses of our size. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea at Beech field, what a wonderful gift. We arrived and were shown to our table by a very polite young man who looked after us throughout our experience.The tea was delightful and plenty of it, a real treat. We will return. Sue and Ken Holloway

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Our afternoon teas are we think well worth a special visit - homemade cakes, scones and sandwiches served on a silver tea stand, fine bone china and a selection of 14 loose leaf teas - lovely to hear you thought the same. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I've just celebrated my 50th birthday with 15 close friends. It is a lovely small hotel and we had a private dining room. The food was delicious and the staff very helpful. Drinks on the terrace by the pool were idyllic. A great place to celebrate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobbyRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Delighted to hear you chose Beechfield House for your 50th birthday celebrations in one of our private dining rooms and that you were able to enjoy the lovely weather outside by the pool too. Thank you for your lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My niece and her husband selected Beechfield House for their wedding venue. I don't think that they could have selected a more perfect place to celebrate and start their married life. The rooms were decorated to a high standard and extremely clean. The hotel grounds were stunning. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
A wonderful experience and one I would not hesitate to repeat.

Room Tip: Elm room was upstairs and furthest away from reception, but with easy access from car park, and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
So glad to hear that your stay for your niece's wedding went so well and that you enjoyed the day as much as the happy couple. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited on one of the hotel's spa packages (treatments, bed and a meal), due to heavy bank holiday traffic we were very late arriving but after calling to tell them we would be late they rearranged all our appointments immediately saying it would be no problem (I half expected to miss out but be charged anyway) which I was very pleased about. The spa experience was fab and liked the dressing gowns in the room to relax in afterwards with a cup of tea before dinner.

Lovely friendly staff greeted us and the attitude of the serving staff in the restaurant cannot be faulted! I got the feeling nothing was too much trouble, the food was lovely and everything was very clean. Lovely room (though the bathroom light & fan that goes on automatically does mean you get woken up everytime anyone goes to the loo!!) with wonderfully comfy beds.

All in all, a very relaxing break, well worth the money! :)

Room Tip: Try to avoid the bottom floor, the people above us must have walked across the floor about 50 times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiny_teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the super photos you posted with your review. So pleased to hear everything went well and that we were able to reschedule treatments etc to suit. Hope we see you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
6.7 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Property: Beechfield House
Address: | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Beanacre, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing