We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lovely, I was blown away.”
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So lovely, I was blown away.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked this hotel for just one night to stay with my two sisters and we were keen to stay in one room. There was some confusion about the global booking engine offering a triple room at this hotel when there wasn't one. The hotel called me in Australia to explain the issue and were incredibly gracious, accommodating and honoured the advertised rate and put us into Alder Room which we loved.

I really did appreciate their flexibility and was already feeling positive towards them before we arrived. And then when we turned up, the hotel itself really did live up to the pictures, the staff were really friendly and warm and the overall experience was first class.

I have told everybody about the hotel since. I have stayed in many hotels at twice the price that are not nearly as tastefully decorated nor as well serviced as the Beechfield House Hotel.

Stay here, eat at the restaurant and chill out - it is a breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: We stayed in Alder which is stunning, but may be a little warm for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Such a lovely review with great photos too - thank you so much. It was lovely to hear that your booking and stay all went so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    121
    46
    22
    6
See reviews for
197
316
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent stay at Beechfield House in June 2014, lovely location, just a few miles from Lacock, comfortable room (standard), very welcoming staff. Nice pool and terrace area and grounds. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose standard room as cosy room lot smaller (especially for two people)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Very nice to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us while we are having the lovely sunny weather in June. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights bed breakfast and evening meal and cannot fault the staff, location or facilities. We stayed in Alder room which was lovely, all mod cons and WiFi working perfectly. Breakfast was comprehensive with no surcharges for smoked haddock etc. unlike other hotels I have stayed in recently. The heated swimming pool was excellent however the only downside is that there is no shade in the afternoon by the pool . The staff are friendly, helpful and make this hotel a pleasure to visit. My only hiccup to a perfect couple of days is that the wine we ordered was never in stock! This a great place to spend some time away from it all to relax in peaceful, stylish and luxurious surroundings. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
It was great to read your comments and know you had such a lovely stay. I'm sorry about our wine stocks on this occasion - we were drunk dry on a few lines by another group staying with us and have a ball!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Beechfield, the first 2 being wedding receptions for 2 of our daughters. This time was to celebrate my 60th Birthday and we booked a private room for the meal and several bedrooms for the night. We had a lovely time - perfect setting, great service and very good food. Thanks again to all at Beechfield House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing us for another very important family celebration - so glad to hear you had a wonderful 60th birthday staying over and enjoying private dining. We look forward to your next visit hopefully not before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My partner treated me to a 'Champagne Afternoon Tea' as a birthday treat and I would really recommend it. We were greeted at the doors to hotel by a friendly smile and a warm welcome and shown to our table. The food was delicious, fresh and well presented. I particularly enjoyed the scones which were warm and crumbled in your mouth. The champagne on ice was a nice touch. After our tea we enjoyed a stroll around the grounds, which was lovely in the afternoon sunshine, and had a drink on the terrace which overlooked the outside pool. Overall, the service was great, the food was on point and it was an enjoyable afternoon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
What a super review - thank you and a belated Happy Birthday! It was lovely to hear how you enjoyed your Champagne Afternoon Tea and then made the most of the lovely sunny weather with a wander round the grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for the second time and realised why I never went back.

Whilst the room was comfortable and the bed provided a nice sleep, there were just a few annoying things, having a room on the ground floor and it being rather hot I had to open the window but I do not feel safe leaving the ground floor windows open all night.

The bathroom lights are also on a sensor, sit too long and lights out, go in the middle of the night and your blinded.

The wifi again wasn't working same as 2 years ago, come on you advertise it then its still not working and your claiming the same things as the last time.

Then to crown it off they took a deposit, in this day and age who does that when they have the card in the first place, but then I paid on card and they popped a surcharge on the card in the transaction and then told me. I also wanted to understand why they were asking me to pay a ridiculously large surcharge for AMEX, these days the difference tends to be small between visa and amex, not 2% and over, I thought you could only cover the actual costs incurred not make a profit.

All in all I will not be staying here again, other placed in the area will do.

Most of this is trivial but it was just annoying.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor in summer to feel secure otherwise you have to have open windows to stay cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for the comments/feedback given.
We do use sensor lights in our coach house rooms to reduce energy wastage and I am so sorry that these were not to your liking.
A new wifi system was installed in March giving close to 100% coverage across all areas of the buildings, terrace and pool area - again I am sorry that you didn't notice a huge improvement on the old system.
It isn't actually unusual to take a deposit ( which in our case is refundable) and our surcharge for Amex payments doesn't fully cover their charges which you may not be aware are very high for businesses of our size. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
6.8 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
654 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
13.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
595 reviews
4.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
428 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Property: Beechfield House
Address: Beanacre | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Beanacre, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing