We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, cannot be faulted”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, cannot be faulted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The staff the service the food the location nothing can be faulted, I would recommend this Hotel to anyone without any fear of them being disappointed. We will definitely be visiting again and have already told our friends and family that they should experience the hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you - what a wonderfully kind and generous review and so lovely to know that our best efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    118
    43
    22
    6
See reviews for
194
303
8
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

having booked x2 rooms for the family, we were given 1 room on the top floor and another on the ground floor in a different part of the hotel.(separate wing)
Totally unreasonable to expect the children to sleep so far away from the other room. As we complained as we checked in, all the receptionist could say, was there was nothing the hotel could do about the situation as the hotel was full.She could not have cared less.
This should have not have happened in the first place, as booking two rooms our childrens ages were give.
In the room the TV remote did not work, we brought this to reception to have new batteries put in.
That night I could not sleep, until after 3:30 in the morning.
The mattress on the bed had a horizontal trough running across the width of the bed. ( as if the mattress should fold or separate.) I tried sleeping upside down in the bed with no success.
Again we commented on this when checking out, a note was made to housekeeping, but again one was left with the feeling the hotel didn't care and nothing would be sorted.
We were not offered any discount on checking out due to the mess up with the rooms or the bed.
Meanwhile the other room was very noisy, my daughter was woken up at 5:30 in the morning with noise from above. the corridor and room smelt very damp.
Please do not go to this hotel, the pictures are deceiving. the hotel is tired ,as are the staff. it needs a overhaul and a course in customer service.

Room Tip: if booking for a family insist the rooms are together and not in the damp smelling annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I think it's important for anyone else reading your review for me to correct and clarify some of the points made as following this review I personally checked your booking to see where we may have gone wrong.
As it turned out you booked last minute the very last two rooms available and did it through a third party website. The two rooms were booked in different names and nowhere did you indicate to us that they needed to be together. We often get bookings from extended families where some rooms need to be next to each other (or interconnecting) and some don't. As you didn't provide any information or guidance to us I am at a loss as to how we would know what your requirements were. You then arrived very late in the evening after all our other guests had already checked in removing any possibility for us to swap rooms about. My receptionist contacted the manager for guidance but due to the above reasons there was nothing she could do. I completely refute the suggestion that she didn't care. I think more probably you were annoyed with yourself for not giving us the simple information that would have avoided the issue.
Other guests have regularly commented on how comfortable our beds are and how elegant the newly refurbished rooms are so I am puzzled by your other comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and two grown sons stayed at the Beechfield House for three nights in late July as part of a two week trip to London, Canterbury, and the Cotswolds. We had two rooms (Beech and Yew) overlooking the front entrance and front side of the building. Both rooms were lovely with incredibly comfortable beds! The weather was very hot (certainly nothing management could do about that), but the open windows combined with a fan helped keep things comfortable. Not a lot of air conditioning in England, we noticed!
Our package was a mid-week get-away deal and was a fantastic value! Full breakfast, a generous meal allowance daily, and a delicious high tea were included in the price. All of the food we had was absolutely top notch, cooked perfectly, and plated beautifully. The selection of sandwiches and pastries for tea was amazing (loved the meringues!) and the tea menu was extensive and interesting. Our only complaint was that the dinner menu (which apparently changes every few days) was the same for all three nights of our stay. While the food was delicious, it would have been nice to have another choice.
The pool and surrounding area was great and we spent some wonderful time swimming and just relaxing. In the evening, we played games at one of the outdoor tables while sipping wine and beer!
The staff was friendly and professional and made us feel very well cared for. Our sons' room had a shower curtain issue which was quickly taken care of. There is free Wi-Fi, but I had trouble accessing it from our room on my phone, but my sons had no trouble on their tablets. I was able to use the Wi-Fi at the pool area and in the dining room. Other than that, we had no problems at all.
Our stay at the Beechfield House was a real treat and gave us the feeling of stepping back in time. I would highly recommend this property and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. It was very nice to hear how much you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I hope we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent dinners, very fine dining indeed, but unfortunately the quality was not continued through to breakfast for example there were no croissants and Danish pastries. When we queried were told that there would be some tomorrow. My poached eggs didn't have the water drained off very well and others in our party had hard yolks. Rooms were clean and spacious, although hot, it would have been a nice touch to have a pack of biscuits with the tea/coffee tray. Just a few adjustments could make this a lovely country hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyJaneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for your very constructive and accurate feedback. We did have a few issues during your stay due to in the main to a delivery meant for us being sent to another hotel in Somerset and the missing items arriving 3-4 days later. I'm so sorry for the impact on your stay. We would love to see you back again. Please do let us know if you book a return visit so we can ensure everything is perfect next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My daughter was married here last week. What a perfect venue. Everything was amazing, hotel staff, reception, cleaners and especially Jean Luc, the wedding planner. He was just fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, he never said no to any request we made of him. He sat down with us when we arrived and went through all the items we had and when and where we wanted them and at what time. He even helped me carry in all the contents of my car, took my cases etc., to the room and separated all the wedding items in a holding room. We had forgotten, until the last minute to go and see the florist the day before the wedding. Jean Luc phoned them for us and ask them to wait until we arrived! What service. On the morning of the wedding, we used the bridal suite to get ready, myself, the bride, five bridesmaids, and two other guests, plus the hair stylist and make up artiste, who were also amazing, The bedroom looked like a nuclear attack as we left for the wedding downstairs. I was dreading coming back to clear up. Two hours later I popped up to get something and it looked like the fairies had arrived. The room had been cleared, items put into tidy piles, towels and toiletries all replaced. Amazing. Food was fantastic both on the day and also the evening before, waiters and waitresses were watching all the time, topping up glasses and clearing away at appropriate times. My little Grandaughter was asleep during the wedding breakfast and as soon as she woke up, Jean Luc noticed and went and sorted her meal without being asked. The best part was that my Mum was not well enough to travel to the venue, but Jean Luc set up an Ipad in the ceremony room and face timed her and she was with us throughout the service and meal and speeches and we enjoyed her company for 4 1/2 hours. We even gave her all the table settings, Buck's Fizz and flowers were delivered from the bride and groom. She had the most amazing day and so did all of us. If you are thinking of having a wedding here, don't hesitate, the grounds are beautiful and the pool is lovely which many of the children managed to use the day before and morning after the wedding. My one small criticism is that air conditioning is required during these hot periods we are having, but saying that, we had plenty of fans in the bridal suite on the morning of the wedding, which did help. Everyone of the guests staying at the venue commented on how lovely their rooms were. Thanks you to each and every one of the staff who played a part in making this a fantastic day for us, particularly Jean Luc. With best wishes from Bev, (Mother of the Bride).

Room Tip: I saw a few of the rooms as I was there for my daughters wedding and they all were very different, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank somersetwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
It was such a wonderful wedding and I'm so glad your daughter and groom and you and all your guests had such a fantastic time at Beechfield House. Thank you also for your such kind comments directed at Jean-Luc and the team - they were thrilled to read them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

A very nice looking hotel in very nice grounds and gardens, however the shower was either freezing or boiling with no middle ground and apparently no emergency plumbers in the Bath area. The restaurant menu for evening meal appeared to be very similar each night, with vegetarian options very limited. There were also several occasions when the public toilets adjoining the restaurant run out of towels leaving you to drip dry.
Not really what you would expect of a 4 start hotel that look very good from the outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
So sorry that you had issues with the shower mixer in your bathroom. As you know we did offer to move you to another room but you decided to stay in your room presumably as the bath was unaffected. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Was in the area to visit longleat and found this hotel by chance
What a find !
Beautiful hotel, rooms were spacious and luxurious. Beds comfortable with squashy pillows
Staff were attentive and friendly
Foot was ok, dinning rooms spread out, but great for children
Very child friendly for a luxurious hotel
Out door swimming pool is a must, we were lucky and had two glorious days there
Would recommend it and will be revisiting
Only down side rooms were very hot, fans provided but still hot !!

Room Tip: Attic rooms very hot in summer Garden rooms looked lovely and accommodate dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
So glad you found us en route to your trip to Longleat during the lovely sunny spell we had recently. Thanks for the great feedback - hope you pay us a return trip and enjoy the pool and other facilities again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
6.8 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
4.3 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Property: Beechfield House
Address: Beanacre | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Beanacre, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing