We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melkshams little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechfield House Restaurant

Beechfield House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Beanacre
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A gem of a country house: restaurant lunch and dinner, bar snacks and light meals, afternoon tea, private dining, functions and celebrations.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Melkshams little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We visit Beechfield House quite often my Husband and I,and what a beautiful place it is. Maria & Steph are just brilliant at there job and Paul the chef is superb.Sunday lunch is like no other in this area.Keep the good work up for our gem in Melksham.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank triggy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for your great comments. It was lovely to get your feedback re Sunday lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    8
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
151 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great accommodation but poor food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and never been disappointed with either the accommodation or food until now! Would still recommend a stay here as even the cheapest 'Cosy Rooms' are first class and great value for money, but we just do not know what has happened in the kitchen, recent meal was awful and portions tiny, even the breakfast was average.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
So sorry that things weren't to your liking food wise on your last visit to us. Please let us know what went wrong and we will be pleased to respond directly. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I have just moved to the area and as it was his birthday last night I wanted to treat him to something special and not just go to a pub. What a big mistake that was! This hotel looks fabulous on-line and very impressive once we arrived, The staff were friendly but as we sat in the bar with a drink we were given a small bowl of soft, unflavoured crisps which tasted horrible. We were then moved to the dining area where we were sat at a table large enough to seat at least 8 people although there were tables of 2 available. The starters arrived and the soup was tasteless and just covered the bottom of the bowl which in hindsight I am now pleased about and my husband had goats cheese with soft, obviously warmed up sweet potato, it was just horrible. We shared the chicken dished, which was just dumped on our table on a plate. It consisted of slices of chicken, a pile of lettice and a few roasted potato and carrots. there was a small jug of sauce which there was only really enough for one. Why we went on to pudding I am not quite sure but we did and both had apple crumble which had clearly been heated in a microwave and was equally as disappointing. This may be a nice hotel but the restaurant lets it down terribly and it was not cheap. I don't normally write reviews but feel compelled to do so as I don't want others to be let down the way we were last night. We will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It was very disappointing to read your review and I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to us. As we weren't made aware on the night of your dissatisfaction we weren't able to put it right. We will always do our utmost to correct any problems but only of course if we know about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely Sunday lunch for a relatives birthday. 2 course meal which was delicious and very good value for money. Plenty of food and staff were very polite and helpful. Excellent service and will visit again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for your kind comments re our Sunday lunch - lovely in the winter with warm open fires and in the summer tea and coffee can be taken on the terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Pre wedding celebration meal with friends - good food, excellent service and up market atmosphere - wish the portions were a little larger ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBOATY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable time although sorry that the portions were slightly on the meagre side on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beechfield House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beechfield House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing