We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great restaurant and pub with comfortable accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great restaurant and pub with comfortable accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

We visited the Duke Hotel to see if it might be suitable for a lunch-time get-together with friends in the summer.

What we found was a very comfortable, small (5 room), hotel with a first-class, reasonably-priced, restaurant. The starters were excellent - and more than ample! (My wife had the warm chicken and bacon salad and I had the garlic mushrooms.) And our mains, the sea bass and the lamb chump - particularly the lamb chump - were exceptional! And finally - almost too full to move - we shared a sticky toffee pudding that ranks among the best we've ever had! The wine list featured a selection of very good Old and New World wines at very reasonable prices - with three reds and three whites available by the glass. Rose and champagne were also available.

Breakfast ranged from a very light option to a full English Breakfast - and excellent coffee. The only down side was a lack of fresh fruit.

We'll be back - both for our summer get-together and to spend another night or two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the relatively quiet road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    16
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
25
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Rob, Theresa, staff and locals all great and very welcoming. Oh and musn't forget BOB, AKA BOBSTER a typical happy laughing Labrador.
A relaxed homely atmosphere. The Rooms are lovely, light airy and spacious and very clean.
Nice touch the Port being available for a night cap.
Lovely food, excellent service and exceptional value for money.
They make our stays an enjoyable experience, somewhere we will return again and again.
Highly reccomended.......... Look no further

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJKSLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We live locally and booked the Duke for a joint 40th and 18 th celebration - all our guests were impressed with the food and attentiveness of the staff. We used all five rooms and found they were spacious and well presented. Breakfast for the 15 of us was generous and tasty - especially the sausages. All in all an enjoyable stay had by all - fantastic hosts thank you Rob and Thereza x

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed at the Duke for a few days with my wife. Got off to a bad start as we hadn't realised that we couldn't check in until after until 5pm on Monday. Once over that hiccup, however, the hotel was a cosy, easy going, bolt hole. Room was clean and tidy and food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Locals in the bar were friendly and talkative with lots of good advice on the local sights. The only downer was that the adjacent road was a little noisy during daylight hours ( note "country road" noisy, not "motorway" noisy), but it quietened down at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Having stayed within the local area in a number of different establishments, i have found my home from home.
One of the most warm and friendliest hotels that i have had the pleasure to stay in. There's always someone to talk to in the bar for the solo traveller from the locals or the staff. From the moment you arrive you'll think you've walked into your local, fire crackling away mixed in with the the splendid aroma's of the finest freshly home cooked meals.. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the one question you may find yourself asking is how can all this be included in the price!!
I truly hope you enjoy your stay at this wonderful country Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrygent86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Because of the number of people involved in a recent family get together , my son booked us into The Duke , a move which turned out to be an absolute delight .
A small friendly hotel in a quaint wiltshire village ran by Rob & Tereza our fabulous hosts, whos attention to detail shines through in every aspect ,from the excelent meals they provide to the spotlessly clean and well appointed en suite rooms.
I would recommend this lovely little place to anyone , and will most certainly

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titusaduxass2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Duke on three occasions for a total of around 25 days(all business trips). That alone probably tells you I think the place is great---there are others in the area. Rob and Teresa are wonderful and will bend the breakfast hours if you need it early and even do some dinner on Monday. Great food. Rob is quite the chef and will even fry an egg, American style, if you want. The pub and the locals are exactly what I would have expected for a small country pub. Cheers Max, Paul, Terrance and Roger. My room was always #2 and it was perfect. Very large, en suite and always perfectly maintained. The staff, Chris(Stains), Pepe, Becky all do an outstanding job and go out of their way to be helpful. The location is within easy driving to all the white horses in the area, Stonehenge, Avebury----unbelievable, I did them all. Hope to return soon---Cheers friends!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thackston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
9.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
7.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Hilmarton | Hilmarton, Calne SN11 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a friendly bar and restaurant area serving home cooked food. Situated in the delightful Wiltshire village of Hilmarton, with views of the rolling countryside and St Laurence Church. Ideally located for both business travel and tourism alike. Just off the M4 motorway, approx 20 minutes from Swindon & 30 minutes from the Roman city of Bath. Wiltshire has the most ancient historical sites in Europe, and an abundance of walks, bridal ways and trails around the North Wessex Downs. A beautiful place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing