We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a very warm welcome and we found the room clean and welcoming. Breakfast was great and they catered for our wheat free needs. They even toasted our own bread for us. We had a good laugh over breakfast and were treated to a song from Carla. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    16
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
25
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Reading the reviews from the past I sit here thinking it is a shame we never experienced the Duke under it's previous ownership.
The restaurant is dirty and the food is reheated tesco frozen meals. Over priced and disappointing.

The whole place needs a really good clean with dirty glasses and moldy parasols in the garden. Overflowing ash trays and birds muck coated benches. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little-reggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at the Duke for 2 nights recently as we were attending our annual car club weekend (Armstrong Siddelys) Rob and the staff were excellent and very welcoming and helpful. Food was lovely and Rob even got up early to do our breakfast as we had to meet early. The room was lovely and the bed really comfortable (wanted to take it home) Could have done with a duster in places and maybe a shelf in the bathroom for shampoos etc BUT they are small details and overall was a brilliant stay. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The landlord, staff and locals made us and our dog very welcome at this lovely village pub. We were pitched on the pub campsite so were able to enjoy a few good pints, excellent food and only have a very short stroll home. This is only the second pub we have been to where dogs are made so very welcome, which we all very much appreciate. The real ale was well kept and the excellent food was very reasonably priced. We will recommend this pub and campsite to others and no doubt return ourselves. There is very easy access to many lovely places in the county.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillbillies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We've just returned from our stay at The Duke and its definitely not going to be our last! A good location as only 10-15 mins drive from the M4. We were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were nice, and clean enough (although in some areas could do with a duster!) and the bed comfortable, there was plenty of tea/coffee etc available. Also, a nice touch was the complimentary sherry & port available on the landing. The food was great- we had a large family reun ion (11 of us) and the service was very good even though they were busy that night. Husband said the ales were good too! The only negative for this B&B is that it is on a main road and as such is very noisy and busy. Having said that, if the traffic doesnt bother you then its a great little place to stay as its very good value. Just be careful when you're pulling out of the carpark as its on a bend and as I said before is on a very busy road. We will more than likely stay here again and would recommend it for anyone wanting to stay 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which although its a lovely room was a bit noisy as its on the front of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed here midweek whilst attending a course in Devizes. As the hotels in Devizes scored poorly on Tripadvisor, I decided to look further afield and came across The Duke. I was pleased that I did, as only a pleasant country 20 minute drive from Devizes was The Duke.

Robert, the Landlord, was very accomodating and flexible, and his staff very friendly. The rooms are very nice and bed comfortable. Tea, coffee, water in the room - complimentary sherry and port also on hand as well. I ate at The Duke for two evening meals and two breakfasts - none of which I could fault.

A pleasant stay which was appreciated - even if I was introduced to Jager Bombs (apparently the youngsters will understand!!)

If I had one critisism, it would be that the brewery, Arkells, should invest in secondary double glazing for the rooms, as they have done for downstairs. This will assist with the heating bills and reduce the road noise (of which the noise was not a great issue to me).

Finally, although the bill was paid by work, I don't think you can fault £65 a night for a double room, including breakfast. Excellent value that even the Travelodge in Devizes should be ashamed of!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stugra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I really wanted to love this hotel, but couldn't quite.

It's in a lovely part of the world and is a really pretty building, but it on a busy road. We had room 3 at the front and it was REALLY noisy. It wasn't that amount of traffic - it's the speed at which is goes along the road. There's a nice beer garden but, again, you have to listen to the traffic.

Dinner was okay - typical pub grub (lots of chips!) and the staff were friendly. There wasn't as much choice at breakfast as I would have liked (only two cereals and no fruit or yoghurts).

All in all, I think I just had an image of what I thought this country hotel was going to be like and it just didn't match up.

Room Tip: Don't get room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
9.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
7.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Hilmarton | Hilmarton, Calne SN11 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a friendly bar and restaurant area serving home cooked food. Situated in the delightful Wiltshire village of Hilmarton, with views of the rolling countryside and St Laurence Church. Ideally located for both business travel and tourism alike. Just off the M4 motorway, approx 20 minutes from Swindon & 30 minutes from the Roman city of Bath. Wiltshire has the most ancient historical sites in Europe, and an abundance of walks, bridal ways and trails around the North Wessex Downs. A beautiful place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing