We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Welcoming”
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly & Welcoming”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

An excellent place to stay, close to many interesting places such as Avebury, Marlborough and Chippenham. With a very pleasant, clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast, plenty to eat. Good choice of homemade food for lunch and evening meals if required. Host were very welcoming and friendly, making us feel very comfortable and relexed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
24
25
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Little reggie we have to agree with you about the duke hotel, we stayed in June and the brewery have a great building which needs a lot of work although the licencee and his wife where very pleasant the cleanliness was lacking in all areas.There is a field for camping which did not seem to be used. The locals did not use the duke so the bar was empty most nights. It needs someone to buy it and make it a free house as it is a lovely building.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a very warm welcome and we found the room clean and welcoming. Breakfast was great and they catered for our wheat free needs. They even toasted our own bread for us. We had a good laugh over breakfast and were treated to a song from Carla. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Reading the reviews from the past I sit here thinking it is a shame we never experienced the Duke under it's previous ownership.
The restaurant is dirty and the food is reheated tesco frozen meals. Over priced and disappointing.

The whole place needs a really good clean with dirty glasses and moldy parasols in the garden. Overflowing ash trays and birds muck coated benches. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little-reggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at the Duke for 2 nights recently as we were attending our annual car club weekend (Armstrong Siddelys) Rob and the staff were excellent and very welcoming and helpful. Food was lovely and Rob even got up early to do our breakfast as we had to meet early. The room was lovely and the bed really comfortable (wanted to take it home) Could have done with a duster in places and maybe a shelf in the bathroom for shampoos etc BUT they are small details and overall was a brilliant stay. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The landlord, staff and locals made us and our dog very welcome at this lovely village pub. We were pitched on the pub campsite so were able to enjoy a few good pints, excellent food and only have a very short stroll home. This is only the second pub we have been to where dogs are made so very welcome, which we all very much appreciate. The real ale was well kept and the excellent food was very reasonably priced. We will recommend this pub and campsite to others and no doubt return ourselves. There is very easy access to many lovely places in the county.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillbillies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We've just returned from our stay at The Duke and its definitely not going to be our last! A good location as only 10-15 mins drive from the M4. We were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were nice, and clean enough (although in some areas could do with a duster!) and the bed comfortable, there was plenty of tea/coffee etc available. Also, a nice touch was the complimentary sherry & port available on the landing. The food was great- we had a large family reun ion (11 of us) and the service was very good even though they were busy that night. Husband said the ales were good too! The only negative for this B&B is that it is on a main road and as such is very noisy and busy. Having said that, if the traffic doesnt bother you then its a great little place to stay as its very good value. Just be careful when you're pulling out of the carpark as its on a bend and as I said before is on a very busy road. We will more than likely stay here again and would recommend it for anyone wanting to stay 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which although its a lovely room was a bit noisy as its on the front of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
9.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
193 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
280 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
4.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
797 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Property: Duke Hotel
Address: Hilmarton | Hilmarton, Calne SN11 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a friendly bar and restaurant area serving home cooked food. Situated in the delightful Wiltshire village of Hilmarton, with views of the rolling countryside and St Laurence Church. Ideally located for both business travel and tourism alike. Just off the M4 motorway, approx 20 minutes from Swindon & 30 minutes from the Roman city of Bath. Wiltshire has the most ancient historical sites in Europe, and an abundance of walks, bridal ways and trails around the North Wessex Downs. A beautiful place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing