We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcome”
Review of Duke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duke Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch, it was a spur of the moment decision. As it was 1340hrs we asked if lunch was still being served, the man at the bar did not lift his head out of his hands and nodded. We sat at a table in the restaurant and whilst we were looking at the menu a lady came up and apologised saying they had a big party booked in at 1400hrs and we couldn't sit there. We left. I must say the menu was very basic, burger and chips, fish and chips etc at a high price too. Will wait until there are new owners before venturing here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Primatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwilliams455, Owner at Duke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Well it's been one year next week since we took over a run down empty Pub/Hotel called the Duke, we have worked hard over the last 12 months to make the duke a great place to stay, yep we have made lots of mistakes over the 12 months, but I am sure that we have learned a few lessons along the way, after all we were new to the pub and bed & Breakfast business, in our 1st year we have refurbished the ladies and gents toilets, decorated and changed the seating in the bar and dining area, cleaned up the pub in general, decorated some of the bedrooms, cleaned up a disgusting kitchen after several other landlords, thrown away food and drink that was well out of date, (yes we have learned a few lessons along the way) the beer garden was ok, with 3 dangerous steps leading down to a broken patio area with loads of weeds growing out of the cracks in the old slabs, now we have built a new raised decked area for summer of 2015, this was built by John, not outside contractors, the view from the garden as been opened up by cutting out the 10ft stingy nettles and brambles, so in the last 12 months we have done more work than any other landlord in 30 years, so I am sure when the reviews are read about us by potential customers, we can be forgiven for our few mistakes in our 1st year at the duke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked as usual after taking advice from trip advisor but the choice was limited so we plumped for this one. Although the "new management" flag did worry us a bit the revues were favorable. They were also conservative. John and Lesley are trying to and succeeding in providing a friendly welcome, decent clean rooms and very respectable food in a lovely old building. To be honest there is still a little work to do. The TV didn't work (I didn't want to watch it, I just had 5 minutes to kill). The bathroom was scrupulously clean but could have done with a vent (although this may have something to do with my diet!).
These are critiques. The hosts genuinely want to make sure that you want to come back. The rooms are clean, the bar is under used but very acceptable and the food (Home made. No Boil in the bag rubbish) is both highly tasty and RE£MARKABLY good value.
Book with confidence.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped here for a cold drink on a very hot day, we where greeted by two very nice people behind the bar, we had a bite to eat and it was lovely. Owners very friendly, garden very peaceful, drinks cold. There is accommodation and there is going be a new shower block for campers soon, Families welcome, bikers welcome. Will return again when in the area, it was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked for 2 nights. Website makes it look decent. Booked a family room. Arrived early evening, received only grunts from the owner. It was like being dropped into a nightmare. Immediately I wanted to turn and run but they'd taken HALF the money as deposit! I would have been happy to lose a bit and move hotels, but half had already been paid. Dogs running around, dog food in hallway. Very old tired bedroom - nothing like on website. Children had airbeds. No hangers at all in wardrobe. Used cup n saucer on tray and opened milk pot!! Freezing cold. We asked for heating on and we were given an electric heater. At tea time the stench started creeping up the stairs. Smelt like month-old black chip fat/oil. Disgusting. Breakfast. Sticky dirty table, dogs hairs EVERYWHERE. Owners hardly managed a word. We ordered a full(!) English. Tiny portions, even less the second morning. Owners just should not be in the hotel industry. Feel awful writing this but I feel we were well and truly ripped off and conned.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank gemima74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwilliams455, Manager at Duke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

Well it's been one year next week since we took over a run down empty Pub/Hotel called the Duke, we have worked hard over the last 12 months to make the duke a great place to stay, yep we have made lots of mistakes over the 12 months, but I am sure that we have learned a few lessons along the way, after all we were new to the pub and bed & Breakfast business, in our 1st year we have refurbished the ladies and gents toilets, decorated and changed the seating in the bar and dining area, cleaned up the pub in general, decorated some of the bedrooms, cleaned up a disgusting kitchen after several other landlords, thrown away food and drink that was well out of date, (yes we have learned a few lessons along the way) the beer garden was ok, with 3 dangerous steps leading down to a broken patio area with loads of weeds growing out of the cracks in the old slabs, now we have built a new raised decked area for summer of 2015, this was built by John, not outside contractors, the view from the garden as been opened up by cutting out the 10ft stingy nettles and brambles, so in the last 12 months we have done more work than any other landlord in 30 years, so I am sure when the reviews are read about us by potential customers, we can be forgiven for our few mistakes in our 1st year at the duke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a wonderful weekend here a few years back - the rooms were elegant, bathooms amazing, food absolutely wonderful, so we had no qualms about re-booking - however, what a disappointment. Everything was wrong, it looked grubby, uncared for - I am afraid we walked in, looked and then walked out. There were two very small bath towels, only one hand towel, no glasses in the bathroom - in fact no glasses in the bedroom and a sign on the door saying do not consume your own food and drink. The tea and coffee holder was dirty and there was no tea anyway, and stale water in the kettle. Freezing cold and no heating. We had prepaid for this room over the internet and I didn't really care about losing the money - we just wanted out.

Room Tip: Do not go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cubagirlNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Five of us went for lunch at the Duke, all that was on the menu were meals and one choice of sandwich. None of us wanted a meal for lunch or a ham sandwich come to that, we were offered a fresh cooked roll with a choice of cheese, tuna or ham, mmmm lovely!!!
Would we go again?? No definitely not unless they get a more comprehensive menu!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrottan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here with the dog on Saturday night. The room was nice, a good size and well furnished with a large ensuite. The whole place is nicely decorated. The food seemed to be a high standard (not the usual cash and carry sausage!). The price is correct for a pub with rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PizzaCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
9.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
298 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
11.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
587 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hotel

Address: Hilmarton | Hilmarton, Calne SN11 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Price Range: £79 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a friendly bar and restaurant area serving home cooked food. Situated in the delightful Wiltshire village of Hilmarton, with views of the rolling countryside and St Laurence Church. Ideally located for both business travel and tourism alike. Just off the M4 motorway, approx 20 minutes from Swindon & 30 minutes from the Roman city of Bath. Wiltshire has the most ancient historical sites in Europe, and an abundance of walks, bridal ways and trails around the North Wessex Downs. A beautiful place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Duke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing