We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury. United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding....”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our stay...it's a beautiful place and couldn't fault anything. The staff are helpful and very friendly. The food was amazing as was the service, our room was clean and modern with everything you needed. I would highly recommend to any body and can't wait till we return for another stay...

Room Tip: Great value for money in a beautiful location, with great staff and amazing food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    304
    125
    38
    31
See reviews for
264
533
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Overnight stay as part of a Xmas present to take in a round go golf and use of the spa. Arrived a little later than expected due to traffic on the M4 and felt a little rushed. The pro in the golf shop offered us a later tee time to allow us time to warm up on the excellent practice facilities. The course was stunning and very well maintained. Bunkers were hard but the greens were true. Hotel facilities were fantastic, room had a lovely view, was well appointed and had a shower to die for. Breakfast was fantastic-loved the buffet style approach. Staff were very friendly. Would come back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Si4ndcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just stayed for 2 days at the Bowood hotel and the room was as good as ever. Lovely views with amazing wildlife, swans, heron,deer! Comfort in room amazing and bathroom as luxurious and pristine as ever. The service and friendliness from the moment you set foot in the hotel is exceptional. The only disappointment was the breakfast. The range of fruit (mostly tinned) is poor, no natural yogurt, milk not labelled so assume only full fat, only bread available is toast. The cooked breakfast is buffet style which is fine but not when supplies are low and a bright good morning from me was greeted by a surly hmmpphh from the chef. The quality of the food is excellent, locally sourced. Staff were scarce too on the second morning with dirty plates left on the table and no second cup of coffee to be had. Will still visit again in thefuture in the hope that breakfast will have improved.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course at the back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen2493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After a 4 hour drive to get here we were delighted by our room, with freshly baked biscuits, a bucket of ice ready for our champagne and an iPod dock for our music. So many lovely touches here. There are wellies available to walk around the grounds, in case you didn't bring your own. Our breakfast in bed came on a trolley perfectly on time and hot. The perfect location for an anniversary stay. I am going to try the spa later.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended. Spa day package comes with delicious lunch. Impeccable facilities. Lovely staff. Laze by the pool ans look out across the golf course. Treatments were spot on. The Indian head massage was heavenly!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Arrived at the Bowood hotel after a 4 hour journey and was made very welcome by the receptionist. Our room wasn't ready because we were a little early so we enjoyed a nice drink in the bar. After an hour our room was ready and we wasn't disappointed it had lovely views over the academy golf course. And had a really comfy bed and the bathroom had separate shower and bath which is always a bonus and the decor was lovely. A lovely touch was the freshly made cookies we got each day and the ice bucket topped up when needed. We had full use of the spa each day which was really needed after 18 holes of golf. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for one Thursday night as a surprise treat. Room was huge - much larger than other 'standard' rooms at similar calibre hotels. Furnished in a simple and stylish way with extremely comfortable bed and soft bedding. Bathroom is massive with separate walk in shower and bath with overhead shower. Excellent nights sleep had by both of us.

Had a spa treatment which was very good and staff very pleasant & knowledgable. Lauren was my therapist & did a great massage. Pool area is lovely with pretty views of the golf course Lilly pond (floor to ceiling glass around pool area)
There is a 'crystal aromatherapy shower' which was different & 2 saunas.

Only fault here is the breakfast service. It runs 7-10 and we arrived at 930 to find the waiters sitting at the tables to fold next service napkins & were flustered to find us a table. This wasn't an overly welcoming experience unfortunately. I had scrambled eggs and tomatoes - eggs were delicious, really well done and quite a feat to achieve at a self service (they usually go hard/cold/runny very easily) but tomatoes were stone cold. I understand this was towards the end of breakfast so to be expected. Partner had a bit of everything and apart from same complaint that some items could have been hotter, was pleased with his meal. Would have liked toast. Brilliant, strong coffee.

The library/bar/casual seating area is really pretty & welcoming but the restaurant area is strangely decorated - almost like a corporate boardroom?? Did not sample evening meal so cannot comment.

Overall a very lovely, relaxing and special one night stay.
Thank you very much :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meteor2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
716 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
669 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
855 reviews
17.2 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing