We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury at it's best”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is superb, staff very friendly, all the amenities first class, go and spoil yourself. It was a birthday treat from my son, he has stayed there 3 times now and loved it each time. We swam in the pool and had a sauna with lovely views over the golf course. When we arrived I had Proscecco and cherries in the room as a birthday treat. Also there where home made cookies in a tin which where delicious, all little extra's to make your stay such a treat. Breakfast was a great choice and plentiful, would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw where excellent, no noise as in countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for finding the time to write it. We do pride ourselves on customer service and find that the little extras always go down so well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    303
    125
    38
    31
See reviews for
264
533
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for a night over the August bank holiday weekend. It's a lovely hotel set in fantastic grounds. Our room was excellent, lots of space, clean and modern. The spa and gym are really nice with great views looking out onto the golf course. Everything was very good apart from the service at breakfast and supper could have been a lot better and just generally more professional. The staff are quite young and not that professional. Food was reasonable but not excellent. Overall a very enjoyable stay, but would consider eating elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danparnedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I am sorry to read about the service you received whilst staying with us. I have passed your comments onto the Head of Department for Food and Beverage and take on board your comments about the age and professionalism of our staff. We hope you will be returning to the hotel again in the near future, and if you decide to dine with us again you will see an improvement with the service staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent one night here for a wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. Using a last minute offer of one night plus round of golf or spa treatment, it was good value. Service was great, very friendly. Great food too (scallops, fish main courses, sancerre wine). Husband played golf, I did the walk around the domain (you can borrow wellies). Breakfast was noisy due to lots of kids (we had left ours at the grandparents!) so we had breakfast near the bar, which was perfect. Enjoyed the pool. The Bowood house & garden are free when you are at the hotel and they are not to be missed. Absolute gem of a place, and will return with the kids!

Room Tip: 220 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanriec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I am glad that you got to try a pair of the wellies. This addition was made by Lady Lansdowne and they have gone down very well. It seems that you managed to see and experience all the delights of Bowood Estate. Using the Spa, playing golf, visiting the house and Gardens and eating in our restaurant, you had a busy time. We hope that you will come back with your children or for another ‘escape’ soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

A group of us had a great meal at this Hotel. All 4 of us had stunning meals. The goats cheese starter was delicious and the roast pork really moist and full of flavour. One of the group had the beef and said it was heavenly along with the stunning desserts.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It must be remembered that this place is really aimed at golfers who don't have kids. Whilst they have kid menus, one guest room near the bar that is converted to an unsupervised kids room with Wii, lego and other board games as another reviewer has said it's really not that kid friendly. The pool for kids is available at quite strange and limited hours.

I would certainly recommend this place for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinhDoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Location, setting, food are great. However, if you think your children will be able to go swimming...

...think again.

Times when children are allowed are during breakfast(!?) and 4pm -5pm, so make sure you get back from any day trips early...

Times really need adjusting

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the hotel celebrating my father in laws 80th birthday. Had around 16 rooms hired.

Firstly the staff were all amazing and couldn't do enough for you - we had around 20 children with us and they were made to feel most welcome at all times. They even altered menus to enable the kids to eat what they fancied (eg sausage and chips instead of mash, plain burgers instead of cheese and plain pasta with cheese etc). The restaurant staff couldn't do enough for us as the same with the bar staff - names I remember were Emily, Alex and Aaron!

Receptionists were wonderful and helpful too.

The food was fantastic on both evenings. Brasserie the first night and we hired the private function the second night.

THE ROOMS were spotlessly clean! The pillows and duvets were the most fluffiest I'd ever slept with (like big marshmallows cuddling me)! The kids loved the bottle of water and ice. I loved the digital radio with the iPhone docking station on!

The bathroom was beautiful.

Honestly it was a wonderful experience - thank you to everyone at the Bowood Hotel for looking after us all so well! I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaShoreson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
713 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
667 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
855 reviews
17.2 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing