We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Dove Cottage(Compton Bassett)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Horse Inn(Compton Bassett)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Old Joinery(Cherhill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveller rating
865
346
138
49
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
346
138
49
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround of golfgreat golf coursefreshly baked cookiesplaying golfshelburne restaurantfree entrydriving rangemain restaurantadventure playgroundbeautiful hotelbirthday treataromatherapy showerluxury hotelbalcony roomafternoon teahotel guestsrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,156 - 1,161 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had dinner a few days ago and really loved it - the surroundings are charming, a lovely library to take pre dinner drinks, very helpful staff with just the right amount of attention - and very good food. I was offered an excellent wine as a suggested alternative to the one I had chosen - it was absolutely delicious, and the food was balanced, well seasoned and with some great flavour combinations. Will certainly add this to my favourite places to eat.

Room Tip: Do take pre dinner drinks in the library area, a charming space - the tables in the restaurant are spaced sufficiently apart not to intrude on each other so any table is fine but the views are great so a window table is a treat.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

It is always nice to read a comment like yours. I have passed your review onto the Food and Beverage team and the Chefs. I am glad that you will be returning to dine with us and that we have made it onto your favourite places to eat list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is superb, staff very friendly, all the amenities first class, go and spoil yourself. It was a birthday treat from my son, he has stayed there 3 times now and loved it each time. We swam in the pool and had a sauna with lovely views over the golf course. When we arrived I had Proscecco and cherries in the room as a birthday treat. Also there where home made cookies in a tin which where delicious, all little extra's to make your stay such a treat. Breakfast was a great choice and plentiful, would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw where excellent, no noise as in countryside
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for finding the time to write it. We do pride ourselves on customer service and find that the little extras always go down so well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for a night over the August bank holiday weekend. It's a lovely hotel set in fantastic grounds. Our room was excellent, lots of space, clean and modern. The spa and gym are really nice with great views looking out onto the golf course. Everything was very good apart from the service at breakfast and supper could have been a lot better and just generally more professional. The staff are quite young and not that professional. Food was reasonable but not excellent. Overall a very enjoyable stay, but would consider eating elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danparnedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

I am sorry to read about the service you received whilst staying with us. I have passed your comments onto the Head of Department for Food and Beverage and take on board your comments about the age and professionalism of our staff. We hope you will be returning to the hotel again in the near future, and if you decide to dine with us again you will see an improvement with the service staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent one night here for a wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. Using a last minute offer of one night plus round of golf or spa treatment, it was good value. Service was great, very friendly. Great food too (scallops, fish main courses, sancerre wine). Husband played golf, I did the walk around the domain (you can borrow wellies). Breakfast was noisy due to lots of kids (we had left ours at the grandparents!) so we had breakfast near the bar, which was perfect. Enjoyed the pool. The Bowood house & garden are free when you are at the hotel and they are not to be missed. Absolute gem of a place, and will return with the kids!

Room Tip: 220 was good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanriec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

I am glad that you got to try a pair of the wellies. This addition was made by Lady Lansdowne and they have gone down very well. It seems that you managed to see and experience all the delights of Bowood Estate. Using the Spa, playing golf, visiting the house and Gardens and eating in our restaurant, you had a busy time. We hope that you will come back with your children or for another ‘escape’ soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A group of us had a great meal at this Hotel. All 4 of us had stunning meals. The goats cheese starter was delicious and the roast pork really moist and full of flavour. One of the group had the beef and said it was heavenly along with the stunning desserts.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews