We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,566)
Filter reviews
1,566 results
Traveller rating
958
374
149
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
958
374
149
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshly baked cookies great golf course golf buggy free entry shelburne restaurant driving range adventure playground main restaurant aromatherapy shower afternoon tea beautiful hotel balcony room luxury hotel birthday treat hotel guests relaxing stay lovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
1,280 - 1,285 of 1,566 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel rooms and spa facilities are superb. The staff are friendly and accommodating but the food in the Brasserie was very poor. Some of the food was stonecold or lukewarm and potatoes were not cooked properly. During the hour and a half that we were in the Brasserie there were complaints from four other tables, some of which were the same as our complaints.
The food was served on stonecold plates which is unusual for a hotel of this quality.
We only ate breakfast in the main restaurant but again plates had not been warmed and the buffet style cooked breakfast was lukewarm.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurahT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We always welcome reviews and take comments very seriously. I have spoken to all involved in Brasserie and breakfast teams and are undertaking a review of procedures.
I am pleased you used the spa during your stay and that you enjoyed this.
I do hope you return to Bowood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 11.00 for a wedding being held there, surprisingly our room 103 was ready and the accommodating receptionists allowed us to check in.
The room was a luxury Double with views over the golf course and unfortunately a small gully with caution tape infront of it. Lovely waking up to keen golfers. Recommend keeping the netting closed or they have a good view into the room. It was very clean with a good sized bathroom that had bath and shower that would easily fit 2 in and a good supply of toiletries.
The bed came with several soft pillows, duvet and a throw. We were given a complimentary bottle of Bowood water and a couple of cookies in a rather fetching tin which you could purchase at reception. There was a pin cushion and sewing kit which was a nice touch. In the large closet was the tea/coffee making equipment with a selection of flavoured tea's. After the wedding party had said their goodbyes we went to the bar in the hotel and stayed until gone 2am. Drinks charged to rooms need to be signed for but unfortunately this doesnt stop other guests ordering and just scribbling any signature. Check bill on departure and ask for receipts if in doubt.
Breakfast was included in the price we paid of £165, all you could eat full english with fried eggs cooked to order, juices in kilner style bottles and a selection of pastries, cold meats and fruit.
Also included in the price was entrance to the house and garden's, unfortunately we had wet weather and hangovers so never made the most of it. Entrance price normally £10.50 per adult.
Would I return, most definitely. Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memoimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
The location of the hotel, surrounded by our Championship Golf course on one side and our academy course on the other does offer beautiful views. We do pride ourselves on the little touches, such as the little 'extras' we put in the rooms.
We hope to welcome you back in the Bowood House open season, for you to take full advantage of all that Bowood Estate can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Not long got back from a fantastic weekend of golf. Me and a group of friends booked the private Lodge that overlooks the 16th hole. What a fantastic stay. Fully catered and the chef came over, cooked a great meal last night and followed it up with a hearty breakfast before we went for our second round this morning. I have played the golf course quite a few times so knew to expect some great golf but staying in the lodge just topped it off. The girl that looked after us for our stay was brilliant and made sure we wanted for nothing, a real credit to Bowood. Yes it is expensive to book the lodge (around £1500 per night) but this included the catered meal, 2 rounds of golf and breakfast. It comfortably sleeps 8 so less than £200 each and well worth it. The lodge makes the perfect setting for groups looking for a golf weekend, but would equally be a great setting for a group of couples to go to get away from it all. First class accommodation and we have found a little gem right on the golf course!

Room Tip: Get a group together and book the lodge, superb setting.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks for your great review. Our golfing lodge, Queenwood, is a haven for golfers and is fantastic for breaks away for groups of golfers or family breaks.
Our Queenwood packages are made with golfers in mind, but we also accommodate those just wishing to get away from it all with their own chef and waiting staff.
I have passed your comments onto Emily who looked after you during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back to Queenwood soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Bowood Hotel. In fact everything was excellent from beginning to end: the reception staff were friendly and helpful; the room was a good size with a lovely bathroom room with a nice big bath and a walk-in shower; the breakfast offered everything that you would expect. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast package and ate in the restaurant on all three nights. We were pleased with the quality and the quantity of the food and the service. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and, best of all, the restaurant offered a huge gluten free menu - just about as big as the main menu. I have never come across this before and it was brilliant to have so much choice. I would strongly recommend the restaurant to anyone on a gluten free diet and I would strongly recommend the hotel to anyone who is in need of a relaxing break away. One other major plus point, was that the beds were really comfortable. I often find stays in hotels spoiled by the hardness of the beds - these were just perfect! I am planning to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write such as great review.
I have passed your wonderful comments onto the whole team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Another terrific stay in this fabulous hotel. The welcome at reception is genuine and warm and a nice touch to have a card from the General Manager with fresh strawberries in our room - very thoughtful and much appreciated.
The Spa is ideal for a relax after a round of golf on the excellent course (shame the weather and my game were wild and stormy !!).
The food is excellent and very tasty in quality surroundings - have a pre dinner drink in the library by the fire!
The rooms are excellent and great to have wifi available !
All the staff here are well trained and attentive - we had another great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your fresh strawberries and your return visit.
The Spa is the ideal place to relax, sorry to hear about the weather (and your game!), you need to book your fourth stay with us, and hopefully the weather will be on your side.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews