We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and grounds - Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Group of 17 - December 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. Such a homely feel and friendly staff made our stay even better, the little extras in the room such as the ice bucket full stocked with ice, freshly made cookies and the weather/activity information left on our pillow during turn down service.

The rooms are lovely and modern and the suites were beautiful. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday night but it didn't interrupt the rest of the hotel which was great.

Only disappointment was the spa, there were a lot of kids in the pool making a lot of noise/jumping in an splashing which slightly ruined the relaxing atmosphere. There was also hardly any room around the pool and not enough beds for us all to relax which was a bit of a shame. We didn't end up eating at the hotel so cannot comment on food.

All in all great stay, and will be coming back again! Definitely one to recommend to clients in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llorena2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write the review. My Spa Manager and I have discussed your comments with regards to the children's swim times and the space around the pool, and we will look into this matter further for you. We do only have 2 swim times a day for children.
I am glad you will be recommending us! We hope to welcome you back soon and you can try out our restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

As a wedding guest staying two nights bed and breakfast, We found the room warm and comfortable. The breakfast was a different matter. The poor selection of cooked food was not much more than warm and only cold plates were available. The food was cold almost by the time we returned to the table. On the second morning we opted for the cold breakfast, which did have a better selection. We were joined at the table by a fellow guest with the "HOT" breakfast. Their first comment that the food was nearly cold and hot plates should have been available.
The opinion of several of the guests was that the wedding breakfast also left a lot to be desired.

Ernie T

4  Thank Ernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel rooms and spa facilities are superb. The staff are friendly and accommodating but the food in the Brasserie was very poor. Some of the food was stonecold or lukewarm and potatoes were not cooked properly. During the hour and a half that we were in the Brasserie there were complaints from four other tables, some of which were the same as our complaints.
The food was served on stonecold plates which is unusual for a hotel of this quality.
We only ate breakfast in the main restaurant but again plates had not been warmed and the buffet style cooked breakfast was lukewarm.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurahT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We always welcome reviews and take comments very seriously. I have spoken to all involved in Brasserie and breakfast teams and are undertaking a review of procedures.
I am pleased you used the spa during your stay and that you enjoyed this.
I do hope you return to Bowood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 11.00 for a wedding being held there, surprisingly our room 103 was ready and the accommodating receptionists allowed us to check in.
The room was a luxury Double with views over the golf course and unfortunately a small gully with caution tape infront of it. Lovely waking up to keen golfers. Recommend keeping the netting closed or they have a good view into the room. It was very clean with a good sized bathroom that had bath and shower that would easily fit 2 in and a good supply of toiletries.
The bed came with several soft pillows, duvet and a throw. We were given a complimentary bottle of Bowood water and a couple of cookies in a rather fetching tin which you could purchase at reception. There was a pin cushion and sewing kit which was a nice touch. In the large closet was the tea/coffee making equipment with a selection of flavoured tea's. After the wedding party had said their goodbyes we went to the bar in the hotel and stayed until gone 2am. Drinks charged to rooms need to be signed for but unfortunately this doesnt stop other guests ordering and just scribbling any signature. Check bill on departure and ask for receipts if in doubt.
Breakfast was included in the price we paid of £165, all you could eat full english with fried eggs cooked to order, juices in kilner style bottles and a selection of pastries, cold meats and fruit.
Also included in the price was entrance to the house and garden's, unfortunately we had wet weather and hangovers so never made the most of it. Entrance price normally £10.50 per adult.
Would I return, most definitely. Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memoimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
The location of the hotel, surrounded by our Championship Golf course on one side and our academy course on the other does offer beautiful views. We do pride ourselves on the little touches, such as the little 'extras' we put in the rooms.
We hope to welcome you back in the Bowood House open season, for you to take full advantage of all that Bowood Estate can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Not long got back from a fantastic weekend of golf. Me and a group of friends booked the private Lodge that overlooks the 16th hole. What a fantastic stay. Fully catered and the chef came over, cooked a great meal last night and followed it up with a hearty breakfast before we went for our second round this morning. I have played the golf course quite a few times so knew to expect some great golf but staying in the lodge just topped it off. The girl that looked after us for our stay was brilliant and made sure we wanted for nothing, a real credit to Bowood. Yes it is expensive to book the lodge (around £1500 per night) but this included the catered meal, 2 rounds of golf and breakfast. It comfortably sleeps 8 so less than £200 each and well worth it. The lodge makes the perfect setting for groups looking for a golf weekend, but would equally be a great setting for a group of couples to go to get away from it all. First class accommodation and we have found a little gem right on the golf course!

Room Tip: Get a group together and book the lodge, superb setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks for your great review. Our golfing lodge, Queenwood, is a haven for golfers and is fantastic for breaks away for groups of golfers or family breaks.
Our Queenwood packages are made with golfers in mind, but we also accommodate those just wishing to get away from it all with their own chef and waiting staff.
I have passed your comments onto Emily who looked after you during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back to Queenwood soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Bowood Hotel. In fact everything was excellent from beginning to end: the reception staff were friendly and helpful; the room was a good size with a lovely bathroom room with a nice big bath and a walk-in shower; the breakfast offered everything that you would expect. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast package and ate in the restaurant on all three nights. We were pleased with the quality and the quantity of the food and the service. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and, best of all, the restaurant offered a huge gluten free menu - just about as big as the main menu. I have never come across this before and it was brilliant to have so much choice. I would strongly recommend the restaurant to anyone on a gluten free diet and I would strongly recommend the hotel to anyone who is in need of a relaxing break away. One other major plus point, was that the beds were really comfortable. I often find stays in hotels spoiled by the hardness of the beds - these were just perfect! I am planning to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write such as great review.
I have passed your wonderful comments onto the whole team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Another terrific stay in this fabulous hotel. The welcome at reception is genuine and warm and a nice touch to have a card from the General Manager with fresh strawberries in our room - very thoughtful and much appreciated.
The Spa is ideal for a relax after a round of golf on the excellent course (shame the weather and my game were wild and stormy !!).
The food is excellent and very tasty in quality surroundings - have a pre dinner drink in the library by the fire!
The rooms are excellent and great to have wifi available !
All the staff here are well trained and attentive - we had another great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madmagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your fresh strawberries and your return visit.
The Spa is the ideal place to relax, sorry to hear about the weather (and your game!), you need to book your fourth stay with us, and hopefully the weather will be on your side.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
745 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
692 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort

Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Price Range: £101 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort is ideally situated just off the M4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All 43 bedrooms and suites are decorated in a contemporary English country house style and feature plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. The hotel is set in 2,000 acres of beautiful parkland, so you can relax and enjoy your surroundings. Dine in the stunning Shelburne restaurant and enjoy a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring open fires. The Spa at Bowood offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers as well as luxury spa treatments for that perfect treat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing