We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,536)
Filter reviews
1,536 results
Traveller rating
938
369
145
54
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
369
145
54
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshly baked cookiesplaying golfgreat golf coursegolf buggyfree entryshelburne restaurantdriving rangeadventure playgroundmain restaurantbeautiful hotelafternoon teabalcony roomaromatherapy showerbirthday treatluxury hotelhotel guestsrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,247 - 1,252 of 1,536 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Very, very classy but not in the least ‘starchy’. The place has a superb feel to it. Lovely staff. Fantastic bedrooms (lovely homemade biscuits in the room!), robes and slippers all complimentary. Can have rooms made up as doubles or twins. Amazingly comfortable beds. Great breakfasts. Superb spa and treatments. We will be revisiting!

Room Tip: Request to overlook gold course.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmo1970NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. The homemade biscuits in the room are are rather tasty! I am glad that you managed to enjoy the spa and had a great treatment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Group of 17 - December 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. Such a homely feel and friendly staff made our stay even better, the little extras in the room such as the ice bucket full stocked with ice, freshly made cookies and the weather/activity information left on our pillow during turn down service.

The rooms are lovely and modern and the suites were beautiful. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday night but it didn't interrupt the rest of the hotel which was great.

Only disappointment was the spa, there were a lot of kids in the pool making a lot of noise/jumping in an splashing which slightly ruined the relaxing atmosphere. There was also hardly any room around the pool and not enough beds for us all to relax which was a bit of a shame. We didn't end up eating at the hotel so cannot comment on food.

All in all great stay, and will be coming back again! Definitely one to recommend to clients in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llorena2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write the review. My Spa Manager and I have discussed your comments with regards to the children's swim times and the space around the pool, and we will look into this matter further for you. We do only have 2 swim times a day for children.
I am glad you will be recommending us! We hope to welcome you back soon and you can try out our restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As a wedding guest staying two nights bed and breakfast, We found the room warm and comfortable. The breakfast was a different matter. The poor selection of cooked food was not much more than warm and only cold plates were available. The food was cold almost by the time we returned to the table. On the second morning we opted for the cold breakfast, which did have a better selection. We were joined at the table by a fellow guest with the "HOT" breakfast. Their first comment that the food was nearly cold and hot plates should have been available.
The opinion of several of the guests was that the wedding breakfast also left a lot to be desired.

Ernie T

4  Thank Ernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel rooms and spa facilities are superb. The staff are friendly and accommodating but the food in the Brasserie was very poor. Some of the food was stonecold or lukewarm and potatoes were not cooked properly. During the hour and a half that we were in the Brasserie there were complaints from four other tables, some of which were the same as our complaints.
The food was served on stonecold plates which is unusual for a hotel of this quality.
We only ate breakfast in the main restaurant but again plates had not been warmed and the buffet style cooked breakfast was lukewarm.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurahT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We always welcome reviews and take comments very seriously. I have spoken to all involved in Brasserie and breakfast teams and are undertaking a review of procedures.
I am pleased you used the spa during your stay and that you enjoyed this.
I do hope you return to Bowood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 11.00 for a wedding being held there, surprisingly our room 103 was ready and the accommodating receptionists allowed us to check in.
The room was a luxury Double with views over the golf course and unfortunately a small gully with caution tape infront of it. Lovely waking up to keen golfers. Recommend keeping the netting closed or they have a good view into the room. It was very clean with a good sized bathroom that had bath and shower that would easily fit 2 in and a good supply of toiletries.
The bed came with several soft pillows, duvet and a throw. We were given a complimentary bottle of Bowood water and a couple of cookies in a rather fetching tin which you could purchase at reception. There was a pin cushion and sewing kit which was a nice touch. In the large closet was the tea/coffee making equipment with a selection of flavoured tea's. After the wedding party had said their goodbyes we went to the bar in the hotel and stayed until gone 2am. Drinks charged to rooms need to be signed for but unfortunately this doesnt stop other guests ordering and just scribbling any signature. Check bill on departure and ask for receipts if in doubt.
Breakfast was included in the price we paid of £165, all you could eat full english with fried eggs cooked to order, juices in kilner style bottles and a selection of pastries, cold meats and fruit.
Also included in the price was entrance to the house and garden's, unfortunately we had wet weather and hangovers so never made the most of it. Entrance price normally £10.50 per adult.
Would I return, most definitely. Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memoimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
The location of the hotel, surrounded by our Championship Golf course on one side and our academy course on the other does offer beautiful views. We do pride ourselves on the little touches, such as the little 'extras' we put in the rooms.
We hope to welcome you back in the Bowood House open season, for you to take full advantage of all that Bowood Estate can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews