We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,568)
Filter reviews
1,569 results
Traveller rating
961
374
149
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
374
149
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshly baked cookies great golf course golf buggy free entry shelburne restaurant driving range adventure playground main restaurant aromatherapy shower afternoon tea beautiful hotel balcony room luxury hotel birthday treat hotel guests relaxing stay lovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
1,279 - 1,284 of 1,569 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Myself and five of my colleagues stayed at Bowood Hotel on Monday 2 December, we had a meeting prior to playing golf and staying overnight. Rooms are clean, tidy and functional. Unfortuneately we found the staff, and dinning experience lacking, and overall disappointing. I did raise the issues we encounted with the General Manager so i hope they can be put right, but we shall in future be returning to the Manor House Hotel near Castle Coombe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review. As discussed with the guest after his stay with us, all comments are taken seriously and passed onto the staff so they are aware of the importance of understanding each of our guest requirements.

It is important to all that any potential issues are raised at the time so we can rectify, if need be. Unfortunately these issues were not communicated during the stay, but I have discussed with the guest following his departure.
I do hope you return to Bowood to understand the issues raised are not of normal standard people will receive when visiting at Bowood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Very, very classy but not in the least ‘starchy’. The place has a superb feel to it. Lovely staff. Fantastic bedrooms (lovely homemade biscuits in the room!), robes and slippers all complimentary. Can have rooms made up as doubles or twins. Amazingly comfortable beds. Great breakfasts. Superb spa and treatments. We will be revisiting!

Room Tip: Request to overlook gold course.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmo1970NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. The homemade biscuits in the room are are rather tasty! I am glad that you managed to enjoy the spa and had a great treatment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Group of 17 - December 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. Such a homely feel and friendly staff made our stay even better, the little extras in the room such as the ice bucket full stocked with ice, freshly made cookies and the weather/activity information left on our pillow during turn down service.

The rooms are lovely and modern and the suites were beautiful. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday night but it didn't interrupt the rest of the hotel which was great.

Only disappointment was the spa, there were a lot of kids in the pool making a lot of noise/jumping in an splashing which slightly ruined the relaxing atmosphere. There was also hardly any room around the pool and not enough beds for us all to relax which was a bit of a shame. We didn't end up eating at the hotel so cannot comment on food.

All in all great stay, and will be coming back again! Definitely one to recommend to clients in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llorena2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write the review. My Spa Manager and I have discussed your comments with regards to the children's swim times and the space around the pool, and we will look into this matter further for you. We do only have 2 swim times a day for children.
I am glad you will be recommending us! We hope to welcome you back soon and you can try out our restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As a wedding guest staying two nights bed and breakfast, We found the room warm and comfortable. The breakfast was a different matter. The poor selection of cooked food was not much more than warm and only cold plates were available. The food was cold almost by the time we returned to the table. On the second morning we opted for the cold breakfast, which did have a better selection. We were joined at the table by a fellow guest with the "HOT" breakfast. Their first comment that the food was nearly cold and hot plates should have been available.
The opinion of several of the guests was that the wedding breakfast also left a lot to be desired.

Ernie T

4  Thank Ernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel rooms and spa facilities are superb. The staff are friendly and accommodating but the food in the Brasserie was very poor. Some of the food was stonecold or lukewarm and potatoes were not cooked properly. During the hour and a half that we were in the Brasserie there were complaints from four other tables, some of which were the same as our complaints.
The food was served on stonecold plates which is unusual for a hotel of this quality.
We only ate breakfast in the main restaurant but again plates had not been warmed and the buffet style cooked breakfast was lukewarm.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurahT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We always welcome reviews and take comments very seriously. I have spoken to all involved in Brasserie and breakfast teams and are undertaking a review of procedures.
I am pleased you used the spa during your stay and that you enjoyed this.
I do hope you return to Bowood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews