We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveller rating
957
374
149
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
957
374
149
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshly baked cookies great golf course golf buggy free entry shelburne restaurant driving range adventure playground main restaurant aromatherapy shower afternoon tea beautiful hotel balcony room luxury hotel birthday treat hotel guests relaxing stay lovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife & I decided to have a traditional Christmas lunch at Bowood as we had eaten in the Restaurant there previously and our experience had been very good.

The service this time was extremely good and some of the Menu items were very tasty, notably the smoked mackaral pate and the creme brulee but the main course of roast turkey with traditional trimmings was disappointing with little flavour; the roast potatoes really were poor, both in terms of quality and flavour; they did not appear to have cooked properly with a similar comment applying to the vegetables in general.

Staff did ask on more than one occasion if we were happy but we didn't want to comment then as we wanted to enjoy the occasion and we were close to other guests; it was not the right time to make complaints.

We were served coffee with dinky mince pies in the Library and everything else was very nice; the ambience of the place was excellent.

We couldn't recommend Bowood on our recent visit although there were several positive points.
One point I must make though relates to the view into the Kitchen from our table as this allowed us to see the heads of some of the kitchen staff; none appeared to be wearing headcoverings and one person was eating there which is illegal under food safety legislation. I wonder about other issues that may lurk there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blu32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Been to the bistro a few times this year, but the last couple of times we've been told to hurry up or there was no service, due to corporate events. So this fall off our list of local places we recommend.

Otherwise food and service has been great.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Myself and five of my colleagues stayed at Bowood Hotel on Monday 2 December, we had a meeting prior to playing golf and staying overnight. Rooms are clean, tidy and functional. Unfortuneately we found the staff, and dinning experience lacking, and overall disappointing. I did raise the issues we encounted with the General Manager so i hope they can be put right, but we shall in future be returning to the Manor House Hotel near Castle Coombe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review. As discussed with the guest after his stay with us, all comments are taken seriously and passed onto the staff so they are aware of the importance of understanding each of our guest requirements.

It is important to all that any potential issues are raised at the time so we can rectify, if need be. Unfortunately these issues were not communicated during the stay, but I have discussed with the guest following his departure.
I do hope you return to Bowood to understand the issues raised are not of normal standard people will receive when visiting at Bowood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Very, very classy but not in the least ‘starchy’. The place has a superb feel to it. Lovely staff. Fantastic bedrooms (lovely homemade biscuits in the room!), robes and slippers all complimentary. Can have rooms made up as doubles or twins. Amazingly comfortable beds. Great breakfasts. Superb spa and treatments. We will be revisiting!

Room Tip: Request to overlook gold course.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmo1970NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. The homemade biscuits in the room are are rather tasty! I am glad that you managed to enjoy the spa and had a great treatment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Group of 17 - December 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. Such a homely feel and friendly staff made our stay even better, the little extras in the room such as the ice bucket full stocked with ice, freshly made cookies and the weather/activity information left on our pillow during turn down service.

The rooms are lovely and modern and the suites were beautiful. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday night but it didn't interrupt the rest of the hotel which was great.

Only disappointment was the spa, there were a lot of kids in the pool making a lot of noise/jumping in an splashing which slightly ruined the relaxing atmosphere. There was also hardly any room around the pool and not enough beds for us all to relax which was a bit of a shame. We didn't end up eating at the hotel so cannot comment on food.

All in all great stay, and will be coming back again! Definitely one to recommend to clients in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llorena2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for finding the time to write the review. My Spa Manager and I have discussed your comments with regards to the children's swim times and the space around the pool, and we will look into this matter further for you. We do only have 2 swim times a day for children.
I am glad you will be recommending us! We hope to welcome you back soon and you can try out our restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews