We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent New Year Party!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent New Year Party!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Bowood held a black tie event for New Year's Eve. The six course dinner, champagne and canapés along with a "Reveller's Breakfast" (a bacon or sausage roll) just after midnight was really good value. The food was delicious!

We had a truly brilliant time. The staff were courteous, polite and actually everyone was up for a really good night.

We live close by so didn't need to stay the night, but others who had booked rooms said they were lovely!

Thoroughly recommend it and will definitely go again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    282
    119
    38
    28
See reviews for
241
504
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I decided to book a last minute overnight stay with my wife on 20/12 as a surprise. First impressions staff helpful on phone and quickly replied to my emails prior to arrival.
On arrival no one at the desk but only waited about 2 minutes or so.
We had a balcony room which was clean and spacious shame there was no biscuits that I'd read on previous reviews and was looking forward to however the sign was present.
We used the spa which was ok and then got ready for dinner.
We decided to have a few drinks at the bar and had a pleasant chat with an older guy who was helpful behind the bar,we were the only ones in there.
The waitress discussed the menu well in advance of our booking so we could make a decision in advance of later booked table.We were informed by the waitress that there was tongue on the blade of beef dish which we double checked as this was not shown on the menu and she assured us it was.
Obviously the dish came without it my wife was disappointed as she was looking forward to trying it so we called over the waitress to discuss,she went and spoke to someone in the kitchen who we could see from our position who bellowed out quite clearly if it's not on the menu there not getting it,she then came back and said to my wife it was on the plate so you must have eaten it !!!
Dessert we asked to change something of which the person in the kitchen once again complained about again as well as the fact both desserts should have had vanilla not chocolate ice cream,albeit when mentioned it was accepted and offered to be changed but it was getting late by then.
Will I return ? I don't know

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rwc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was invited to spend a day at Bowood Spa recently and cannot wait to return. Set in beautiful grounds one can work out in a small but well-equipped gym followed by a leisurely swim in the stunning infinity pool. There is a steam-room, sauna and fabulous jacuzzi all enhanced by panoramic views of sweeping lawns fringed by distant pine trees. I was treated to the best back massage I have ever experienced!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife & I decided to have a traditional Christmas lunch at Bowood as we had eaten in the Restaurant there previously and our experience had been very good.

The service this time was extremely good and some of the Menu items were very tasty, notably the smoked mackaral pate and the creme brulee but the main course of roast turkey with traditional trimmings was disappointing with little flavour; the roast potatoes really were poor, both in terms of quality and flavour; they did not appear to have cooked properly with a similar comment applying to the vegetables in general.

Staff did ask on more than one occasion if we were happy but we didn't want to comment then as we wanted to enjoy the occasion and we were close to other guests; it was not the right time to make complaints.

We were served coffee with dinky mince pies in the Library and everything else was very nice; the ambience of the place was excellent.

We couldn't recommend Bowood on our recent visit although there were several positive points.
One point I must make though relates to the view into the Kitchen from our table as this allowed us to see the heads of some of the kitchen staff; none appeared to be wearing headcoverings and one person was eating there which is illegal under food safety legislation. I wonder about other issues that may lurk there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blu32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Been to the bistro a few times this year, but the last couple of times we've been told to hurry up or there was no service, due to corporate events. So this fall off our list of local places we recommend.

Otherwise food and service has been great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RutgerKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Myself and five of my colleagues stayed at Bowood Hotel on Monday 2 December, we had a meeting prior to playing golf and staying overnight. Rooms are clean, tidy and functional. Unfortuneately we found the staff, and dinning experience lacking, and overall disappointing. I did raise the issues we encounted with the General Manager so i hope they can be put right, but we shall in future be returning to the Manor House Hotel near Castle Coombe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kebuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your review. As discussed with the guest after his stay with us, all comments are taken seriously and passed onto the staff so they are aware of the importance of understanding each of our guest requirements.

It is important to all that any potential issues are raised at the time so we can rectify, if need be. Unfortunately these issues were not communicated during the stay, but I have discussed with the guest following his departure.
I do hope you return to Bowood to understand the issues raised are not of normal standard people will receive when visiting at Bowood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Very, very classy but not in the least ‘starchy’. The place has a superb feel to it. Lovely staff. Fantastic bedrooms (lovely homemade biscuits in the room!), robes and slippers all complimentary. Can have rooms made up as doubles or twins. Amazingly comfortable beds. Great breakfasts. Superb spa and treatments. We will be revisiting!

Room Tip: Request to overlook gold course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clackies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your great review. The homemade biscuits in the room are are rather tasty! I am glad that you managed to enjoy the spa and had a great treatment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
13.5 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
9.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing