We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,536)
Filter reviews
1,536 results
Traveller rating
938
369
145
54
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
369
145
54
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshly baked cookiesplaying golfgreat golf coursegolf buggyfree entryshelburne restaurantdriving rangeadventure playgroundmain restaurantbeautiful hotelafternoon teabalcony roomaromatherapy showerbirthday treatluxury hotelhotel guestsrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,238 - 1,243 of 1,536 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely one night spa break with a group of friends at Bowood Hotel. Couldn't fault anything. Twin rooms were very spacious and nice touches in the room including the gorgeous homemade cookies! Great spa facilities and had an excellent massage. All staff members we encountered were exceptionally helpful, professional and friendly. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ads5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went for the gala meal with a large group of friends.welcome was good with champagne and canapés. Food and entertainment were great, only downside was the lack of bar staff, 20 mins to order a drink and bottle of wine... Not acceptable. Then they had no champagne glasses so resorted to washing one up in toilets...really?! Apart from that though we had a wonderful evening and would go again. £99was good value for money for what was experienced.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a really delicious lunch, roast pork, beef and one sea bream - all really delicious. The starters of soup or parfait or goats cheese were just perfect. To finish we had cheesecake, ice cream and irish coffee, all very enjoyable. The very pleasant staff were just lovely and most attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a window table so you can watch the antics of the moore-hens, water cootes and the deer
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Bowood held a black tie event for New Year's Eve. The six course dinner, champagne and canapés along with a "Reveller's Breakfast" (a bacon or sausage roll) just after midnight was really good value. The food was delicious!

We had a truly brilliant time. The staff were courteous, polite and actually everyone was up for a really good night.

We live close by so didn't need to stay the night, but others who had booked rooms said they were lovely!

Thoroughly recommend it and will definitely go again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I decided to book a last minute overnight stay with my wife on 20/12 as a surprise. First impressions staff helpful on phone and quickly replied to my emails prior to arrival.
On arrival no one at the desk but only waited about 2 minutes or so.
We had a balcony room which was clean and spacious shame there was no biscuits that I'd read on previous reviews and was looking forward to however the sign was present.
We used the spa which was ok and then got ready for dinner.
We decided to have a few drinks at the bar and had a pleasant chat with an older guy who was helpful behind the bar,we were the only ones in there.
The waitress discussed the menu well in advance of our booking so we could make a decision in advance of later booked table.We were informed by the waitress that there was tongue on the blade of beef dish which we double checked as this was not shown on the menu and she assured us it was.
Obviously the dish came without it my wife was disappointed as she was looking forward to trying it so we called over the waitress to discuss,she went and spoke to someone in the kitchen who we could see from our position who bellowed out quite clearly if it's not on the menu there not getting it,she then came back and said to my wife it was on the plate so you must have eaten it !!!
Dessert we asked to change something of which the person in the kitchen once again complained about again as well as the fact both desserts should have had vanilla not chocolate ice cream,albeit when mentioned it was accepted and offered to be changed but it was getting late by then.
Will I return ? I don't know

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rwc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews