We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Over”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stop Over”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our second or third stay at Bowood and once again we enjoyed the wonderful setting, staff, hotel and grounds. On this occasion we managed to make it to the Adventure park and were amazed at the facilities. We will definitely be returning, next time to hopefully see Bowood House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    291
    124
    38
    31
See reviews for
252
523
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at Bowood Spa. We were celebrating a special birthday and arrived in our room to find a bottle of Prosecco and a card from the manager Charles Morgan, to welcome us. We had a fantastic three course meal in the restaurant. The halibut was the best I have ever had. We enjoyed a very relaxing massage next morning. Rebecca my therapist was very professional and provided a very relaxing treatment for me. I would highly recommend Bowood Spa.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here recently for a wedding and it is a beautiful venue, set in great grounds. The rooms are luxurious and the staff are very helpful.
We would be happy to stay here again and make use of the on site spa facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very comfortable room with (small) balcony and great views across the golf course. Really well designed, great bathroom.

A sofa would be nice - one comy chair in a double room...

The food menu was a bit uninspiring, there are some excellent places to eat locally and while the food may be excellent (the breakfast was lovely) it didn't inspire us.

Very friendly staff - Gemma on reception was really welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: 223 was great (balcony room overlooking golf academy course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We arrived at 9.30am for an informal breakfast meeting to find that there are only 2 soft and comfortable areas in the corners of the library where you can have a private conversation. This is not a problem in itself but,one corner was occupied and the other was set up for an afternoon tea at 3.30pm. 3 cups, saucers and plates were laid 6 hours before the reservation time! We were told we could sit there but if we were going to have coffee we would have to put it on the side tables. Not comfortable. Our tea arrived - no milk. We waited. We then decided to have a cooked breakfast. We were offered a restaurant table but again we had to wait for it to be set up. The restaurant was empty. We waited. During this time we ordered. We were called to our table where again we waited. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on a muffin was missing the muffin and laid out with little finesse. They offered to either take my pate away and put a muffin on it or to bring me the muffin to the table. I opted for the latter. We waited. The eggs benedict were laid on fridge cold ham with a lot of fat around it, cold muffins (again) and fridge cold hollandaise. We waited to return the food. When I asked who the chef was i was told the chef was not the regular breakfast chef. They apologised and took our food away. The chef was obviously not a chef at all and had no clue as to what was expected of the menu. I suspect the waitresses were plating up the food. Disappointed and certain that the same tjhing would happen again in desperation we ordered simpe toast. You cannt go wrong wih toast.We waited. It arrived - cold. No butter. We waited. The entire experience was quite frankly shocking for an establishemnt that is supposedly top class. The waiter seemed very nervous and did his best under the circumstances. We were not charged for our returned cooked breakfast and our toast was complimentary. All we wanted was a decent breakfast, coffee and somewhere private to sit. It is not too much to ask. We won't be returning as we felt it was very poor service and the breakfast was shocking. I have have been involved in many of the worlds most luxurious hotels and if my staff restaurant or management offered the service we experienced at Bowood they would be made accountable for their poor attention to detail. After all it is the client who pays their wages. Please train your staff properly and look after your customers, it is such a beautiful house it would be a shame for its reputation to falter because of shoddy service. The manager was nowhere to be found!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Yollandy,

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for any bad experiences that you may have encountered at Bowood, as this is definitely not how we like our guests to remember us.

The issues that you have raised have been addressed with the relevant Heads of Department. As always we take all comments, good or bad, very seriously for the smooth running of the business and most of all, so that we can provide the best customer experience possible.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Bowood in the future.

Kindest regards

Hansi Klein
Food and Beverage Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We were only there for one night (sadly), on a deal which was really good value. The room had a wonderful view over the lake and grounds, the spa was fabulous and best of all was the evening meal. Probably the best steak I have had in a few years. Oh - and the staff were all so friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a valentines spa break. This included an overnight stay, 3 course meal, breakfast and an hour long spa treatment. The location is beautiful, the rooms are luxurious and the whole hotel has a 'relaxing' atmosphere. The spa facilities were brilliant and kept clean.

The room we stayed in was spotless, the maid even came to change our water bottles, replenish items and tidy early evening whilst we had dinner.

The treatment was lovely and relaxing, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
705 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
969 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
9.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
431 reviews
5.9 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing