We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Weekend!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just come back from a weekend in Bowood with my brother for our 21st birthday.

What a perfect hotel experience, after two rounds of golf on one of the best courses we've ever played on we got to enjoy the beautiful hotel and facilities Bowood has to offer.

The staff are brilliant and very helpful, dinner in the Sherbourne restaurant was outstanding.

My brother and I sat in the bar all night on Saturday night and it stayed open until we left.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    289
    123
    38
    29
See reviews for
250
517
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just had the pleasure of staying in a luxury suite at Bowood Hotel. As per our previous stay, everything is truly excellent.

Consideration had been given to the fact that we have two young children and we were thoughtfully placed in a ground floor room. The suite was spacious, spotlessly clean and immediately impressive. We had a dual aspect room with beautiful views of the golf course. All our requests for z-beds and cots were in place and dressed in pristine linen. The bathroom was enormous and complete with two sinks, an oversized bath and walk-in shower. The room cannot be faulted.

The staff at the hotel are very warm and friendly. The staff at reception are particularly efficient. Our stay was immeasurably enhanced by Gemma who pre-arranged (via email) for my sons allergy requirements to be met at all mealtimes. Her level of service set a standard which we will now hope to find in other hotels.

The main attraction for us, with two young children, was the adventure playground and the pool. The playground is truly beyond compare and our children had the time of their lives. The pool is open to families twice a day at times which suited us well and is large / not too hot. The changing rooms are very well maintained.

A quick mention must be made about the food. Our breakfast was lovely. The food in the Brasserie is average which is my only slight negative about this otherwise outstanding hotel.

We are always impressed with Bowood and we will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our second or third stay at Bowood and once again we enjoyed the wonderful setting, staff, hotel and grounds. On this occasion we managed to make it to the Adventure park and were amazed at the facilities. We will definitely be returning, next time to hopefully see Bowood House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyTulipNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at Bowood Spa. We were celebrating a special birthday and arrived in our room to find a bottle of Prosecco and a card from the manager Charles Morgan, to welcome us. We had a fantastic three course meal in the restaurant. The halibut was the best I have ever had. We enjoyed a very relaxing massage next morning. Rebecca my therapist was very professional and provided a very relaxing treatment for me. I would highly recommend Bowood Spa.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureenrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here recently for a wedding and it is a beautiful venue, set in great grounds. The rooms are luxurious and the staff are very helpful.
We would be happy to stay here again and make use of the on site spa facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very comfortable room with (small) balcony and great views across the golf course. Really well designed, great bathroom.

A sofa would be nice - one comy chair in a double room...

The food menu was a bit uninspiring, there are some excellent places to eat locally and while the food may be excellent (the breakfast was lovely) it didn't inspire us.

Very friendly staff - Gemma on reception was really welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: 223 was great (balcony room overlooking golf academy course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imeanreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We arrived at 9.30am for an informal breakfast meeting to find that there are only 2 soft and comfortable areas in the corners of the library where you can have a private conversation. This is not a problem in itself but,one corner was occupied and the other was set up for an afternoon tea at 3.30pm. 3 cups, saucers and plates were laid 6 hours before the reservation time! We were told we could sit there but if we were going to have coffee we would have to put it on the side tables. Not comfortable. Our tea arrived - no milk. We waited. We then decided to have a cooked breakfast. We were offered a restaurant table but again we had to wait for it to be set up. The restaurant was empty. We waited. During this time we ordered. We were called to our table where again we waited. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on a muffin was missing the muffin and laid out with little finesse. They offered to either take my pate away and put a muffin on it or to bring me the muffin to the table. I opted for the latter. We waited. The eggs benedict were laid on fridge cold ham with a lot of fat around it, cold muffins (again) and fridge cold hollandaise. We waited to return the food. When I asked who the chef was i was told the chef was not the regular breakfast chef. They apologised and took our food away. The chef was obviously not a chef at all and had no clue as to what was expected of the menu. I suspect the waitresses were plating up the food. Disappointed and certain that the same tjhing would happen again in desperation we ordered simpe toast. You cannt go wrong wih toast.We waited. It arrived - cold. No butter. We waited. The entire experience was quite frankly shocking for an establishemnt that is supposedly top class. The waiter seemed very nervous and did his best under the circumstances. We were not charged for our returned cooked breakfast and our toast was complimentary. All we wanted was a decent breakfast, coffee and somewhere private to sit. It is not too much to ask. We won't be returning as we felt it was very poor service and the breakfast was shocking. I have have been involved in many of the worlds most luxurious hotels and if my staff restaurant or management offered the service we experienced at Bowood they would be made accountable for their poor attention to detail. After all it is the client who pays their wages. Please train your staff properly and look after your customers, it is such a beautiful house it would be a shame for its reputation to falter because of shoddy service. The manager was nowhere to be found!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yollandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Yollandy,

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for any bad experiences that you may have encountered at Bowood, as this is definitely not how we like our guests to remember us.

The issues that you have raised have been addressed with the relevant Heads of Department. As always we take all comments, good or bad, very seriously for the smooth running of the business and most of all, so that we can provide the best customer experience possible.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Bowood in the future.

Kindest regards

Hansi Klein
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
698 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
956 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
9.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
428 reviews
11.5 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing