We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable dining experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A delicious meal was enjoyed by the four of us. The starters were quite varied and unusual. My duck was delicious. For main courses we enjoyed sea bass and sea trout which was very nice too. To top it all the strawberry roulade was really yummy.
All through the meal the very attentive staff were very professional and knowledgable too. A really relaxed evening had by all.

Room Tip: A beautiful setting with golf and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Debbra M

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your dinner in the Shelburne Restaurant at Bowood Hotel.

We’re very happy to hear that we could provide great food and service along with that all important relaxed environment.

Please do come again when I’m sure our menu will have changed and there will be new dishes for you to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    288
    121
    38
    29
See reviews for
248
514
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Had a two day family golf and spa weekend. Hotel is fantastic. It is a little expensive but you get what you pay for. Food excellent and rooms perfect. Good spa facilities and a great golf course. Man in golf shop was a bit miserable but all in all very good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Properjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Properjob,

It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review every activity you experienced whilst you were here.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and can recommend taking a trip over to Bowood House & Gardens whilst you're here, which of course is included in your stay during the open season (between April and November).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would recommend for anyone wanting a really nice stay away - the team who we interacted with where very pleasant, accomodating; the room but in particular the bathroom very well appointed and spacious down to the toiletries; nice touches like fresh cookies in your room and water each day. The restaurant for dinner was exceptional but beware the menu does not change each night although the chef kindly accomodated an off the menu creation for me. Breakfast really lets them down as it is a free for all (a buffet for hot - yuk) and does no favours to what they do for the balance of the experience; the golf tour were loutish and allowed to be (very bad form) and made everyone very uncomfortable in the restaurant and there is simply not enough serving staff on the Friday for sure (which when you know you have a large golfing party this is not rocket science). The 18th birthday party in the Golf club had the potential to ruin the ambience but thankfully after an hour of loud music someone must have popped along and told them to shut the door - you dont get second chances guys to create an impression. As for cigarette butts on the patio from breakfast time still in evidence at cocktail hour...
The spa is very pleasant and I would recommend the half hour massage as a good pick me up.
Took bikes to enjoy the surrounding countryside and worked up a good appetite coming up the hill to pub by main entrance after 13 miles to enjoy lunch - it is lovely. Overall 8 out of 10 when they should be delivering a min 9 out of 10 for the money, even with the late escape deal but I would still recommend - working hard and very nice feel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nicer but the balcony is tiny, shame. Not sure splurging for one of 4 suites is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croft69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Croft69,

Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us.

We welcome all feedback good or bad and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though it may have been a little disrupted by slightly overenthusiastic guests. Great that you enjoyed the tranquillity of The Spa and your Sundari massage.

We do pride ourselves on first impressions usually being very good and we are a fun place to be.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and recommend a visit to Bowood House and Gardens to experience the peace of the outdoors and history of the estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent the day at the Spa: Staff very friendly and helpful, enjoyable day out, food was delicious we did the spa day so a light lunch, fruit, fizz and massage included, along with full use of facilities. The food was more than substantial, very filling! Small gym but lovely equipment and facilities, the massage was very good too and we left feeling more relaxed. We went in the week midday and found this to be a good time to go, as by 4:00pm children can access the facilities so gets a little busier and noisier, so time your visit accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Elle M,

Thanks for reviewing your day at The Spa.

We hope that you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful relaxing place and tranquil. Still loads to do for teenagers and under 7yrs alike. Our families all joined to together for a family Birthday. Wonderful. Pool lovely except kids are only allowed in 3.45-5pm and before 10 am so quite restricted which was a downer as we wanted to go before lunch time. Golf driving range fun as we all tried it out - the good, bad and downright rubbish! Food in Brasserie was good value and tasty. Good with allergies too. Bowood house and gardens well worth a visit too as free entry if you're in the hotel. Kids enjoyed adventure playground too - lovely area for a picnic too. Take a blanket in case all tables are full. came back relaxed and refreshed!

Room Tip: Choose first floor for family room overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Lonnky,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us.

We’re very glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable family break away and are grateful for your feedback. We hope that our junior swimming times didn't interfere with your stay too much and that you found plenty more to do instead.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

So many hotels these days get some things right and other things wrong but Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort are deserving of an 'excellent' review. The hotel staff were friendly, cheerful and have a 'can do and happy to help' attitude and it was a pleasure dealing with them all from the moment we checked in to the minute we left.

Despite being told the hotel was full on the night we stayed, it never felt busy or overcrowded and the layout of the hotel is well thought out. Bowood makes a difference with the 'extra touches' in the rooms and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional.

Well done Bowood, we had a wonderful Golf/Spa weekend stay and we will most definitely recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues.

A job VERY well done.

Room Tip: We had a luxury double room on the third floor - the rooms are a great size and the bathrooms are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannydaniels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Dannyg1rl,

Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay with us.

It really is a pleasure to hear such lovely feedback and to hear that we could provide you with such an enjoyable break.

We look forward to looking after you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

After much research on this site and a recommendation from friends, we stayed at this wonderful hotel for one night on the way home from a traumatic visit to relations!

We arrived late and checked in quickly to our standard double room which was far larger than almost any standard hotel room we have stayed in before. Immaculately clean and superbly comfortable with a wonderful bathroom.

We wandered down to the bar area where we were warmly welcomed and ordered a lovely bottle of wine at a very reasonable price. We mentioned to the South African manageress ( sorry we didn't catch your name) that we were in need of some sustenance although didn't fancy a full meal. She suggested bread, meats etc which sounded perfect but was not on the menu. She shortly returned with a superb platter which turned out to be complimentary!! We sat outside watching the deer, listening to owls - perfect and so restorative.

After a perfect night's sleep ( and believe me I am extremely fussy about my bed, pillow, room temperature etc) we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. We took advantage of the complimentary visit to the house and gardens, returned to the hotel for a lovely lunch and spent a quiet afternoon in the spa area. My husband then gave me my first ever golf lesson on the 3 hole 3 par (apparently!) course, again included in the price!

We were so reluctant to leave this wonderful hotel we stayed on for a light dinner in the bar. All the staff we came across were incredibly friendly, helpful and efficient. The meals and drinks were beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and priced very reasonably. All the facilities were immaculate, comfortable and a pleasure to use.

We usually holiday on cruise ships and are used to a very high standard - this hotel compared very favourably.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Karen W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

We’re so glad to hear what a lovely time you had whilst staying with us and that every experience
you tried whilst you were here, exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
697 reviews
13.5 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
953 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
840 reviews
9.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
11.5 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing